Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a Vanguard SBH-100 or SBH-250 Ball Head? This is the correct quick shoe...
The Vanguard SBH-100 Small Magnesium Alloy Ball Head comes with a Vanguard QS-39 ¼" Camera Screw Quick Shoe, as does the Vanguard SBH-250, and obviously extras are available here. If you're using a DSLR or compact digital camera, along with almost any 35mm SLR film camera, this is the correct shoe for the Vanguard SBH-250, SBH-100, SBH-50 and SBH-30 Ball Heads...
Published on August 9, 2012 by John Williamson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the right model for Tracker 3 as listed.
Vanguard lists this Quick Shoe as the correct spare for the Tracker 3 tripod, but in strict order, it's a couple of millimeters smaller than the original, so it gets loose on the tripod. Original part also had an easier screw method.

According to the text on my tripod's head, the correct spares are really QS-38 and 42, but when I did my research, I found out...
Published on April 15, 2010 by Ivan Fuentes Hagar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a Vanguard SBH-100 or SBH-250 Ball Head? This is the correct quick shoe..., August 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
The Vanguard SBH-100 Small Magnesium Alloy Ball Head comes with a Vanguard QS-39 ¼" Camera Screw Quick Shoe, as does the Vanguard SBH-250, and obviously extras are available here. If you're using a DSLR or compact digital camera, along with almost any 35mm SLR film camera, this is the correct shoe for the Vanguard SBH-250, SBH-100, SBH-50 and SBH-30 Ball Heads.

But the product specs are completely wrong for the Vanguard SBH-100, as it lists the QS-41 and QS-43 quick shoes, and these are wrong. See the images that I posted on the product page for further details.

The Vanguard QS-40 3/8" Camera Screw Quick Shoe is the same product, but with a 3/8" camera mounting screw for many medium format and most large format cameras. Both the QS-39 and QS-40 quick shoes are what we refer to as 'coin tighteners'... they do not have a knurled knob or an attached finger tightener loop that you can lift to install or remove the camera from the quick shoe.

As far as which Vanguard tripod the QS-39 and the QS-40 quick release plates will fit depends on the tripod head, and as a user and owner, I had to do some online research to figure this out. Either of these will fit the following:

> Vanguard SBH-30 Ball Head
> Vanguard SBH-50 Ball Head
> Vanguard SBH-100 Ball Head
> Vanguard SBH-250 Ball Head

As far as tripod kits go, the VANGUARD Alta 263AB 100 kit does use this Vanguard QS-39 ¼" Camera Screw Quick Shoe, as I own it, and it was for this tripod with its SBH-100 Ball Head that I ordered it. Just remember, the QS-39 is a quick shoe with 1/4" camera screw, and the QS-40 is a quick shoe with 3/8" camera screw.

The Vanguard QS-39 ¼" Camera Screw Quick Shoe works perfectly with my SBH-100 Ball Head, and I can recommend it for any owner of the heads listed above without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish it had a finger tighten option, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
Works very good. It is the first quick shoe that I have owned that doesn't come loose after using a heavy camera on it for an hour or two. Just wish it had a mechanism to tighten without using a separate tool. Many have a little flip up half washer that you can use to tighten these things without a tool. Of course using a screwdriver or something like that will tighten one of these better than not using a tool, but you may not always have one in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid mounting that fits well, May 10, 2013
By 
brian3i (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
Works great with my Nikon D80 and the Vanguard ball and socket head. Easily able to hold the camera steady even with a long zoom lens mounted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shoe, September 28, 2009
By 
Peter Goyer (Rogue River, OR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
The review for a small part for a tripod should be short, it works, as I cannot buy the one I wanted, the original one with the pin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, February 12, 2011
By 
Brad (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
I bought a Tracker 4 tripod and wanted an extra quick shoe. Contrary to another review that says this is too small and gets loose, it fits quite tightly for me. The heads it fits in have a "secondary safety lock for security" (quoting from the side of my tripod's box) which WILL keep it from falling out, but doesn't hold it tightly at all. There is a knob on the side of the head to lock it in tightly, and it works fine with that tightened.

The only difference between this one and the one that came with the tripod is that the main screw has a slot it slides in for adjustment of where the camera sits, and there is no locator pin. I also wish the main screw had the flip up piece for added torque instead of the coin slot, but it isn't a huge deal. I'll probably leave the quick shoe attached to the camera all the time anyway. That is the whole point of getting an extra one isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
I like it - works exactly as it should.... it's an exact replacement for the original quick release shoe. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and strong., August 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
Exactly as I was expecting. Added it to my 70-200 collar so I wasn't having to change it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the right model for Tracker 3 as listed., April 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
Vanguard lists this Quick Shoe as the correct spare for the Tracker 3 tripod, but in strict order, it's a couple of millimeters smaller than the original, so it gets loose on the tripod. Original part also had an easier screw method.

According to the text on my tripod's head, the correct spares are really QS-38 and 42, but when I did my research, I found out they were discontinued. Way to go, Vanguard.

I might have to take my tripod to Samy's and start checking quick plates to find the best fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
Worked fine for the Vanguard Elite 1, a discontinued tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars wrong size, description led me to believe would fit, but, itt didn't, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanguard QS-39 1/4-Inch Camera Screw Quick Shoe Compatible with Tracker Series, Some Alta Series, and Some MG Series Tripods (Camera)
wrong size for my tripod, close, but, no fit.description led me to believe would fit, but, it didn't, guess the heads aren't standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.