Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Vanguard Steady Aim Gun Rest
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars38
Price:$84.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 6, 2010
Well made and work like it is suppose to, that is to sight in a rifle. I am 71 yrs old had have been handling guns since I was 12 and have done way more shooting than the average guy. This is a lot better than all the plastic units and a way lot less in cost. You can spend a lot more but you won't get better product.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2010
From a hunter /shooter for over 60yrs now 74yrs young I can vouch that this a quality built item!Excelent construction ex welds,very stable very easy to adjust over a wide range of movement.Why spend so much money on the likes of the lead slead etc when this will get the job done?You can put weight,be it sand bags lead etc. and greatly reduce the recoil if you are shooting many rounds, but for sighting in you don't need them unless your firing the higher calibers.It arrived in a very short time and I am very happy with the preformance and quality construction !Purchase it and save yourself a lot of money you can use elsewhere.maxhoss
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2012
For the price, this rest is da'bomb. I first used it to sight in a 300 Win Mag shooting 180gr pills. This rifle kicked like a mule and with this rest I was able to bring my shots from a 1 1/2" group down to .3" group. (That's right...holes inside of holes) I can't say anything bad about this rest. It did exactly what I wanted it to do...take a beating and allow me to zero my magnum rifles in. Now I know when I mess up a group or a shot, it's me and not the rifle.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2012
Nice product for the money, light in weight & still sturdy. the only problem i had was the height that it puts some of my rifles at was to high to use, which now has me carrying another item to range that i have to change out to old rest when shooting certain rifles. this i believe is also caused by the shooting benches at different ranges being different heights.Had to remove stock stop(pad) so stock will fit through the back rest, my rifles are heavy barreled target & wanted to tip forward causing them & stand to tip over! This also allows me to shoulder rifle better.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2010
All the adjustments I think you need are available and it is very well made. Steady and strong yet light weight and very portable. One very important adjustment position that this rest handles just fine is when the target is down hill on the shooting range. That is, when your rifle must be tilted downward. Comes almost completely assembled. Price is reasonable too at around $40....Dan
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
spectacular ! received it before due time, well packaged, works perfectly, I have used it extensively sighting in and shooting targets with pellet rifles,
I did however lay some Lead Roof flashing in a sock over the rear area to help hold it down, probably didn't need it though, it did help! and I set it on a special fold up table i built for a camping stove and the Vanguard Steady Rest, I recommend it, it adjusts perfectly, JR
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2011
Adjustment knobs are to small, makes it hard to fine tune elevation. A larger adjustment wheel would make this a pretty nice rest.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2014
The rest is pretty good overall.
The steel material is well made, and the design is decent.

The main issues are:
1: The plastic material they used on the knobs is cheap and brittle. I do not expect the knobs to last very long.
2: The front adjustment screw should be longer. Some rifles do not sit well on the rest. If the front would rise higher, AR15s would sit better.

If they fix the two issues that I pointed out, then I would give it 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2012
I just received my rifle rest from Amazon. Just a little
assembly and I was ready to try it out. Reasonably light
and mobile. I tried it out on my M1 garand. Worked just
fine. It is just what I was looking for in a light mobile
rest. Thanks for a good product.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2013
This is my first gun rest so I can't compare it to anything else. I like it because it's light, super adjustable, and easily transportable. It does what it's supposed to do, it holds your rifle steady so you can zero very quickly. If you want something to absorb the recoil a little better I suggest you lay a couple of sandbags on the front.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.