Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (49)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing good movie
This is a good creepy movie. If you like a movie with a happy ending, and answers all the questions do not view this movie. It moves along at good pace but not like an action thriller, there is also no gore. This movie to me was asking us as viewers to pay attention, like the male lead at the beginning is oblivious until he gets out into the street and finally realizes...
Published 22 months ago by S. Hoben

versus
58 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Many characters vanish, followed shortly by the plot.........
This movie starts with an interesting premise which is immediately engaging. Unfortunately, very little happens over the next hour to draw you in. The plot and character development stall quite quickly, and the film drags. I kept watching nonetheless, expecting a big pay-off at the end, which, sadly, never came. The movie ends abruptly with a range of Christian imagery...
Published on February 26, 2011 by B. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Many characters vanish, followed shortly by the plot........., February 26, 2011
By 
B. Wilson (Santa Fe, NM, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vanishing on 7th Street (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
This movie starts with an interesting premise which is immediately engaging. Unfortunately, very little happens over the next hour to draw you in. The plot and character development stall quite quickly, and the film drags. I kept watching nonetheless, expecting a big pay-off at the end, which, sadly, never came. The movie ends abruptly with a range of Christian imagery and all major questions unanswered. Frustrating all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Often Leaves Us in the Dark, June 18, 2011
This review is from: Vanishing on 7th Street (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
This film starts with an eerie and inventive premise. It leaves a more haunting, memorable trail than most movies in the genre. But in between its first and its lasting impressions, it somewhat loses its way in the dark.

Too much goes unexplained. For example, we see John Leguizamo stranded in his darkened movie theater one minute - then we next see him lying battered and bruised in an illuminated bus stop shelter. What happened to get him there? In his commentary, Director Anderson says that there was some scripting that would have explained Leguizamo's trajectory, but a variety of constraints prevented this explanation from becoming part of the film. Actually, Anderson thought this was all to the good though - that some things were best left to the imagination. I'm not so sure about that. It seems Leguizamo's navigation of the engulfing, vanquishing night would have been one of the processes most interesting to watch. Without showing such process, the film too often ends up being just abrupt, choppy, and undeveloped.

It also has too many lapses of logic. The creeping darkness doesn't play fair. It shifts its rules of engagement, overwhelming one person, while allowing another similarly situated person to survive, at least for a while. Well, that could be an additional aspect of the evil of the darkness. It toys randomly with its victims, like a cat may or may not toy with a mouse, sheerly on a whim.

Then I had one of my common technical complaints about this film. The DVD often projected as an indecipherable smudge on my TV screen. So it ran as murky rather than sinisterly dark. There is something about the final lighting/filtering process that many modern filmmakers use that causes their movies to be a chore to watch on home TV's. I wish filmmakers would get back to whatever technology was used from the 1920's through the 1960's that allows their films to play as appropriately shaded rather than just obscure when run on a TV screen.

The Director's commentary doesn't add a lot to a viewer's appreciation of the film. Brad Anderson starts out sounding too much like Ben Stein, making a dreary, nasal drone of his narrative. So unless you have a lot of spare time, you can probably skip the commentary and most of the other extras, except for the interviews.

However the Director's commentary does highlight at least one telling aspect of this film and its making. Anderson talks about how apt it was to settle on Detroit as a location for the action. The City itself is perhaps the most fascinating character in the entire movie. It becomes an icon of our crumbling economy, our crumbling culture. Some of the scenes in the movie call for shots of major urban intersections shown desolate, abandoned, post-apocalyptic. Anderson said that he hardly had to clear Detroit's streets and highways of cars and people for these scenes. They are already so often eerily null. So many buildings are already hollow, echoing shells of once vital industries. These shots in and of themselves served as chilling prognostications of what can in reality befall all our cheery, oblivious bustle.

So this movie is overall worth watching - for its darkling premise, and for its stunning views of Detroit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall disappointing film & BD production, May 13, 2011
Putting aside that this was another film with unlikeable characters doing dumb things in an unexplained end-of-humanity non-plot, I was still hoping the Blu would have some stellar extras and picture quality (with all of the darks and shadows). Unfortunately, the special features are some of the worst inclusions I have seen on a film like this, and the only thing giving this some higher marks was the 7.1 DTS.

The story follows four people wallowing through their idiocies in trying to survive some unknown catastrophe that leaves a city (played by Detroit - which was a better character than everyone here) devoid of people. Some bad CGI shadows follow them around trying to gobble them up sans their clothing. I would have to say some typecasting has to occur here when you have Hayden Christiansen walking around with a hood barely showing his face for several sequences, followed by someone holding a long green glow stick baring resemblance to a certain weapon Hayden might be carrying in some other franchise. But anyway, the supplements are all in lodef and I listed all of the bad ones first:

* Alternate endings, 3 or 4 at 8:20 minutes. Please take my advice and skip these. They are no different except for one alternate camera angle and a different sunset - nothing changes from the film.
* Revealing 7th Street (making of), 7:04 minutes. Talking heads & really bad insight by the cast on the film and story.
* Creating the Mood of 7th, 7:04 minutes. They essentially took the cuts from the first one and made this longer one, but with reasons for why they chose Detroit. Which I have to say I am not sure if all of the reasoning made Detroit seem worse ("gothic", "Dead" etc.), or they just didn't realize they were saying it.
* Behind the scenes montage, 2:11 minutes. Several identical cuts from the other two quips, with no dialogue. Would be best as a workbook for the staff of the film, otherwise a complete skipper.
* HDNet Promo, 4:19 minutes (In HD). The standard trailer length plug.
* Fangoria Interviews, 2 @ 31 minutes. This was actually an insightful and thorough interview process and was better than the commentary. Thankfully, Brad takes up 22 minutes of the set and will be worth the watch for his fans. Jacob's lasts only a few minutes and the rest is clips of the film.
* Dig Copy, not disc dependent.
* Commentary, see Fangoria interview instead.

I was not impressed with the film, the bad effects that shined through on BD, or the ending being given away on the cover art (so no surprise for me, that ending sucked anyway) but I was impressed with the 7.1 - maybe only getting used by the creature sounds at various times, but a nice immersion. English and Spanish subs, region A coded. Not worthy of a purchase but maybe a renter for the Hayden fans. 1.5 stars for the film, and 1.5 for the sound and Fangoria set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing good movie, November 9, 2012
By 
S. Hoben (Chickasha, OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good creepy movie. If you like a movie with a happy ending, and answers all the questions do not view this movie. It moves along at good pace but not like an action thriller, there is also no gore. This movie to me was asking us as viewers to pay attention, like the male lead at the beginning is oblivious until he gets out into the street and finally realizes that something is wrong. We have in the movie four people,three adults one boy all wind up at a bar with the lights still on having worked out that the light keeps the things in the dark away. The characters realize that they have to get out of the city but have they left it too late. There appear to be several themes operating in this movie such as; pay attention, inaction is worse that no action, something that appears too good to be true is, know thyself, do not get caught in the past you won't move forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Effective Horror Film, January 10, 2011
Vampires. Werewolves. Psycho killers. Clowns. It's all been done. I consider myself a connoisseur of fine horror and this, ladies and gentlemen, is fine horror. If you're expecting to jump out of your seat over cheap scares--this isn't a movie for you. Vanishing on 7th Street is something entirely different, yet moves at a fast pace and doesn't leave you wishing it would get to the point. All the actors are superb and it's refreshing to see something set in Detroit. I was thrilled as can be with this little gem and will be buying it the second it hits dvd. Until then, the rent might seem high, but if you've got the cash and a couple hours alone late at night...you should really indulge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best horror films of the year, June 4, 2011
This review is from: Vanishing on 7th Street (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
"The Vanishing on 7th Street" is another successful addition to director Brad Anderson's sparse but powerful output since he revived the horror genre with the 2001 masterpiece Session 9. Since then, he has produced this film and the largely unrecognized yet brilliant film with Christian Bale The Machinist. Though Anderson does a lot work with HBO on some pretty successful material (The Wire, Boardwalk Empire) it is pretty obvious that his talent lies in the horror genre. If he committed himself to continue making films like this insidiously creepy little masterpiece with John Leguizamo, Hayden Christensen, and Thanide Newson he would end up being seeing his name up there with Tobe Hooper, George Romero, F.W. Murnau, and the other legends of the macabre.

The film is shot, appropriately, in a rundown area of Detroit. The reasons for the inexplicable darkness which engulfs the entire city, driving Paul, Luke, Rosemary and young James into a panicked frenzy of what if's, why's and what's is not spoonfed to you. A lot of reviewers, and most of the critics, are erroneously dismissing this as nothing but a mere mood piece. Those do exist and tend to fall all too often in the horror/psychological terror category, but this is not one. It has a point and meaning. (People can take I Know What You Did Last Summer seriously, call it a scary movie, and not take this seriously? Really?) The darkness and what it symbolizes--death and the eradication of identity once and for all?--is put to a test against the fears, the regrets, and the determination of the characters to either let this force overtake them or not.

Brilliant and a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SHADOW PUPPETS, May 31, 2011
By 
This review is from: Vanishing on 7th Street (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
VANISHING ON 7TH STREET is a dark, dreary look at what transpires after an enigmatic catastophic event that has unexplicably resulted in the vanishing of all forms of life--and not just on 7th street.
As expected, there are five survivors: a young TV anchorman, a distraught mother, a teenage boy whose vanished mom runs the cafe where most of the action occurs, a lonely movie projectionist and a mysterious little girl. And lots of menacing shadows and whispering voices. Early on, we're given hints of the lost colony of Roanoke; "dark matter" and the approach of a strange storm. Are any of these responsible for the vanishing? We don't really find out--that lack of resolution annoys me--I'd like SOME kind of resolution.
Director Brad Anderson (THE MACHINIST, SESSION 9) evinces some minor atmospheric chills but not much true terror. The cast is adequate: Hayden Christensen is a stalwart hero; Thandie Newton is strong as the mother; Jacob Latimore is a fresh change from the usual badass streetwise teen, but John Leguizamo's surprisingly good in his low-level performance. Similar territory is covered in the lamentable THE HAPPENING, but at least they offered "SOMETHING" as a reason for the occurrences, albeit pretty lame.
Ultimately, the movie never catches fire and seems longer than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites, May 26, 2013
By 
Laura (EVERETT, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this movie. I didn't expect much, based on all the poor reviews, but was greatly surprised. It is a great spooky mystery film. The acting was spot on, the atmosphere was perfect, eerie and suspenseful. Cinematography was amazing. I'm surprised, actually, to see all the bad reviews on this movie. No, it doesn't explain EVERYTHING, but with a little thought and insight, this movie can be greatly rewarding. If you only like movies that lead you by the hand to all the answers, or all the main characters (good guys anyway) live or at least save the day in the end, or have a billion dollars in special effects, then this movie probably isn't for you. I, for one, have watched it over and over, and I'm here now looking to buy a copy to download to my kindle fire so I can take it with me on a plane. I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vanishing, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vanishing on 7th Street (+ Digital Copy) (DVD)
Great purchase enjoyed the movie more second time around, received item sooner than expected I was delighted with my experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I THINK THEREFORE I AM, July 2, 2012
The film opens with a movie projectionist reading about the lost colony of Roanoke. Then the power goes off. When he investigates he finds empty clothes where people should be. There are eerie shadows and he too disappears. Hayden Christensen wakes up and finds the city in a similar state, with clothes, but missing bodies. 3 days later he was unable to walk out of the city and now Christensen is walking around the city in the dark scrounging batteries for flashlights (HEY! TRY THE STORES.) He discovers the city has been hit by a discriminating EMF that effects car batteries but not dry cells. He is not yet ready to embrace the dark side of the force.

In the midst of it all, he finds a bar with the lights still on (own generator) and decides he needs a bracer. People start to congregate at the bar one at a time. Outside, when your light goes out, computer generated blackness quickly swarms around you to eerie music. Sunlight becomes a thing of the past as Detroit becomes "Dark City". Apparently these are not the people who know how to set the city on fire every Halloween.

The characters discuss tons of reasons why this is happening and the best one was that God/the universe hit the "reset" button and they are the stragglers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vanishing on 7th Street (+ Digital Copy)
Vanishing on 7th Street (+ Digital Copy) by Brad Anderson (DVD - 2011)
$14.98 $9.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.