Start reading Vanishing Acts (Madison Kincaid Mystery) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Vanishing Acts (Madison Kincaid Mystery) [Kindle Edition]

Phillip Margolin , Ami Margolin Rome
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $8.99
Kindle Price: $7.69
You Save: $1.30 (14%)
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Book Description

From tracking down her best friend, who’s nowhere to be found, to secretly helping her attorney father solve a missing-person case, Madison Kincaid is a busy seventh-grade sleuth. Teaming up with new classmate Jake, she hits the sidewalks of Portland, Oregon, determined to find out what’s behind two mysterious vanishing acts.

In his first book for young readers, New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin and his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome, deliver a fast-paced, compelling mystery that’s perfect for reluctant readers and sure to appeal to fans of Masterpiece, The Calder Game, and Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer.



Editorial Reviews

Review

“Best-selling adult author Margolin teams up with his daughter in this youth debut that pulls a few Nancy Drew parallels into a wholly contemporary story. A budding romance and vivid court scenes give readers more reasons to hope for future installments of Madison’s adventures.” (ALA Booklist)

About the Author

Phillip Margolin has written seventeen New York Times bestsellers, including his latest, Sleight of Hand, and the Washington Trilogy. Each displays a unique, compelling insider’s view of criminal behavior, which comes from his long background as a criminal defense attorney who has handled thirty murder cases. Winner of the Distinguished Northwest Writer Award, he lives in Portland, Oregon.



Phillip Margolin has written more than a dozen New York Times bestselling mysteries for adults, including Gone, But Not Forgotten; Executive Privilege; and Wild Justice. With Vanishing Acts, he is achieving two new firsts—his first book for young readers and his first book with his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome.

Ami Margolin Rome works in education philanthropy and is a former Peace Corps volunteer. Like Madison, Ami grew up in Portland, Oregon, with a criminal defense attorney for a father. She still lives in Portland today, near her father.


Product Details

  • File Size: 384 KB
  • Print Length: 181 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0061885568
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; Reprint edition (October 11, 2011)
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004X2IXCI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #413,308 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Mystery for Elementary School Readers July 7, 2014
By kss
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Fun story about an amateur girl sleuth in Portland, Oregon. I hope three will be more in the series!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars A little silly. April 28, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition
It reads more like a Nancy Drew mystery for teenagers. But, don't be discouraged, I've read
Some of margolin s other books and they are excellent. A great writer!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard to under stand March 25, 2014
By abby
Format:Kindle Edition
I didn't like it to much but when they solved the murder it was the good part but over all it was ehhh this is my opinion yours could be different
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story January 29, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Simple and sweet story about solving a mystery, friendship and young love. Recommend for quick reading on a nice day
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars My son love this book! April 26, 2013
By kendra
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
The book is very interesting. I bought it for my son but I started to read it and didn't wanna put it down...lol' For kids 8 and up entertainment!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Good reading for younger readers February 8, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Purchased this book with knowledge that the book was written for the younger set. I admire and read all of Philip Margolin books but although I finished this one I felt something lacking in the theme. In the next one this series his daughter's name should be prominently featured.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read February 4, 2013
By Morver
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
All of Phillip Margolin's books are well written and are very enjoyable and good books to recommend to friends anytime
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Clasic Mystery
I really enjoyed the book Vanishing Act's by Phillip Margolin and Ami Margolin Rome. Madison,the main character, best friend Ann, went to Europe for the summer. Read more
Published on October 18, 2012 by BIG J
1.0 out of 5 stars vanishing acts
did not know this was a children's book,so I did not read it.Am not interested in those kind of books.
Published on September 27, 2012 by Thomas Martelle
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mystery for teens
Good pacing and characters, and being from Portland I loved the setting. Parallel theme of the importance of not jumping to conclusions. Read more
Published on May 2, 2012 by Karen K. Johnson
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Best selling authors writing children's books seem to be the new in thing. We have Grisham, Harlen Coben and probably some others I don't know about doing this. Read more
Published on January 6, 2012 by John B. Goode
5.0 out of 5 stars My kids couldn't put it down!
Wow! Love this Author and his adult mystery books so was so excited when he came out with a mystery for 8-13 year olds- just what my kids love! The book is fantastic! Read more
Published on November 9, 2011 by Art V.
4.0 out of 5 stars VANISHING ACTS is a fun, charming and inspiring mystery, and readers...
Twelve-year-old Madison Kincaid is quite self-sufficient and independent. She has needed to be ever since her mom died when she was in first grade, causing her dad to bury himself... Read more
Published on November 9, 2011 by KidsReads
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

I grew up in New York City and Levittown, New York. In 1965, I graduated from the American University in Washington, D.C., with a bachelor's degree in government. I spent 1965 to 1967 in Liberia, West Africa, as a Peace Corps volunteer, graduated from New York University School of Law in 1970 as a night student. I went nights and worked as a junior high teacher in the South Bronx to support myself. My first job following law school was a clerkship with Herbert M. Schwab, the chief judge of the Oregon Court of Appeals, and from 1972 until 1996, I was in private practice, specializing in criminal defense at the trial and appellate levels. As an appellate attorney I have appeared before the United States Supreme Court, the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, the Oregon Supreme Court, and the Oregon Court of Appeals. As a trial attorney, I handled all sorts of criminal cases in state and federal court, and have represented approximately thirty people charged with homicide, several of whom faced the death penalty. I was the first Oregon attorney to use battered women's syndrome to defend a woman accused of murdering her spouse.

Since 1996, I have been writing full-time. All of my novels have been bestsellers. Heartstone, my first novel, was nominated by the Mystery Writers of America for an Edgar for best original paperback mystery of 1978. My second novel, The Last Innocent Man, was made into an HBO movie. Gone, But Not Forgotten has been sold to more than twenty-five foreign publishers and was made into a miniseries starring Brooke Shields. It was also the Main Selection of the Literary Guild. After Dark was a Book of the Month Club selection. The Burning Man, my fifth novel, published in August 1996, was the Main Selection of the Literary Guild and a Reader's Digest condensed book. My sixth novel, The Undertaker's Widow, was published in 1998 and was a Book of the Month Club selection. Wild Justice (HarperCollins, September 2000) was a Main Selection of the Literary Guild, a selection of the Book of the Month Club, and was nominated for an Oregon Book Award. The Associate was published by HarperCollins in August 2001, and Ties that Bind was published by HarperCollins in March 2003. My tenth novel, Sleeping Beauty, was published by HarperCollins on March 23, 2004. Lost Lake was published by HarperCollins in March 2005 and was nominated for an Oregon Book Award. Proof Positive was published by HarperCollins in July 2006. Executive Privilege was published by HarperCollins in May 2008 and in 2009 was given the Spotted Owl Award for the Best Northwest Mystery. Fugitive was published by HarperCollins on June 2, 2009. Willamette Writers gave me the 2009 Distinguished Northwest Writers Award. My latest novel, Supreme Justice, was published by HarperCollins in May 2010. My next novel, Capitol Murder, will come out in April 2012.

On October 11, 2011, HarperCollins will publish Vanishing Acts, my first Young Adult novel, which I wrote with my daughter, Ami Margolin Rome. Also in October, the short story "The Case of the Purloined Paget," which I wrote with my brother, Jerry, will be published by Random House in the anthology A Study in Sherlock.

In addition to my novels, I have published short stories and nonfiction articles in magazines and law journals. My short story "The Jailhouse Lawyer" was selected for the anthology The Best American Mystery Stories 1999. The House on Pine Terrace was selected for the anthology The Best American Mystery Stories 2010.

From 1996 to 2009 I was the president and chairman of the Board of Chess for Success. I am still heavily involved in the program, and returned to the board after a one-year absence in 2010. Chess for Success is a nonprofit charity that uses chess to teach study skills to elementary- and middle-school children in Title I schools . From 2007 to the present, I have been on the Board of Literary Arts, which sponsors the Oregon Book Awards, the Writers in the Schools program, and Portland Arts and Lectures.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category