Buy Used
$0.49
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Has wear. Buy with confidence. Excellent service!
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Vanity Fair: Bringing Thackeray's Timeless Novel to the Screen (Newmarket Pictorial Moviebook) Paperback – August 18, 2004

ISBN-13: 978-1557046376 ISBN-10: 1557046379

Used
Price: $0.49
14 New from $0.99 19 Used from $0.49 3 Collectible from $9.50
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$0.99 $0.49
Best%20Books%20of%202014

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Visualize Your Script: Hey screenwriters, check out Amazon Storyteller, a new (and free) tool from Amazon Studios that turns scripts into storyboards. Learn more.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Series: Newmarket Pictorial Moviebook
  • Paperback: 176 pages
  • Publisher: Newmarket Press (August 18, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1557046379
  • ISBN-13: 978-1557046376
  • Product Dimensions: 0.5 x 8.5 x 9.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,459,642 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Combining pretty pictures, fascinating background information and an overall lovely story as its subject, this companion to the Mira Nair film based on Thackeray’s classic novel offers more than the usual "behind the scenes" film book. Vanity Fair was published in monthly installments beginning in 1847, and it merrily exposed every bit of English society’s two-facedness, money-oriented desires and social fronts. Director Nair (Monsoon Wedding) spent months doing "homework like a schoolgirl" in order to prepare for the film version, and she shares her lengthy e-mail correspondence with screenwriter Julian Fellowes (Gosford Park) about adapting Thackeray. These messages make up the book’s most captivating portion, as director and screenwriter bat around ideas such as adding more emotion to certain scenes, staying true to Thackeray’s concepts and disguising an actor’s pregnancy. Fans of Nair and Fellowes will delight at reading the notes; the two share a strong friendship and frequently profess their admiration for one another. The rest of the book consists of bits of the screenplay, Nair’s journals and photos of cast members in costume.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Mira Nair is the internationally acclaimed director of Monsoon Wedding, Salaam Bombay!, Vanity Fair, Mississippi Masala, The Perez Family, Kama Sutra: A Tale of Love, and Hysterical Blindness.

Jhumpa Lahiri, the author of Interpreter of Maladies and The Namesake, has been the recipient of the Pulitzer Prize, the PEN/Hemingway Award, and a Guggenheim fellowship.

Photographers represented include Frederick Elmes, Nemai Ghosh, Milan Moudgill, and Dayanita Singh.


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Charles K. Pickerill on September 9, 2004
Format: Paperback
Vanity Fair: Bringing Thackeray's Timeless Novel to the Screen is an excellent book for anyone who has seen the film and wants to delve in to what went in to making it. The film itself, an adaptation of Thackeray's classic novel, is a sumptous feast of vibrant colors, deliciously wicked dialouge, great acting, and skillfull direction by Mira Nair. Reese Witherspoon sparkles as classic herione/anti-herione Becky Sharp, the social climber in 1800's England. The rest of the film is well cast and the supporting cast turns in some terrific performances. That being said, this book is packed with details that will enhance your viewing of the film. I particulary found the correspondance section between director Mira Nair and writer Julian Fellows to be quite entertaining. It gave me an idea of some of the process that goes in to the writing of the screenplay. Development of characters, set locations, and the casting of the actors are some of the topics that Fellows and Nair discuss. Nair also talks about some of the problems that arose during the pre-production phase like having to move the shooting to Ireland instead of where the novel is set in England. She also had to scrap some of her original plans to shoot scenes in certain areas of India due to budget concerns. The rest of this book deals with other areas that went into making of the film. These areas include costumes, art direction, music, cinematography. Also, included is the complete final screenplay along with hundreds of color pictures from the film. Going back to the screenplay, it is probably a little too early to start talking about adapted screenplay oscar nominations, but I really thing Julian Fellows' screenplay is an early contender. I really encourage everyone to see the film "Vanity Fair".Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Midwest Book Review on March 10, 2005
Format: Paperback
No, this isn't Thackery's original classic, but a screenplay of his novel, packed with 140 color photos, original costume designs, and examples from other movies and photos which served as inspiration for the film. As much for film production students as for Thackery scholars, Vanity Fair covers the mechanics of translating a classic novel to the screen.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Dr. Andrea Grunert on August 19, 2005
Format: Paperback
This excellent companion to Mira Nair's cinematic adaptation of VANITY FAIR provides very interesting and insightful behind-the-scenes combinations of probing comments, production notes and interviews and beautiful photographs and drawings. The book is a very fine and carefully made presentation of texts - including the screenplay - and stills.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again