Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars it's actually very useful.
I haghly reccommend this book to supplement the major text. It contains the answers to odd problems with a fairly detailed explanation as to how the came to that conculsion. I consider invaluable to the eduation of a calculus student. Every little bit helps. This isn't some BS book, it's actually very useful.
Published 3 months ago by Kevin C

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not updated?
This book doesn't always match the text it is supposed to match. Specifically Section 5.6 after problem #20. It's like they may have renamed their first edition solution manual and didn't check it against the actual problems in the second edition book. I'm a little annoyed.

The problems are not always worked out to the extent you would want for them to be...
Published on December 11, 2011 by Tom Fuller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not updated?, December 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
This book doesn't always match the text it is supposed to match. Specifically Section 5.6 after problem #20. It's like they may have renamed their first edition solution manual and didn't check it against the actual problems in the second edition book. I'm a little annoyed.

The problems are not always worked out to the extent you would want for them to be helpful.

Annoyed. I would suggest Cramster, but you have to use the first edition on their site as well. I would love to have this book exchanged for one that was right - but finals are Wednesday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
If you are looking for a student solutions manual then keep looking. This is NOT a solutions manual, this is merely an answer key! My professor doesn't grade Odd questions from the textbook, so I thought if I ordered this then it would help explain things but found that it doesn't explain anything. You might as well look in the back of your textbook for the answers. There are almost no explanations and if you are looking for step-wise solutions then don't expect to find it in this book. Otherwise the book is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Also semi-incomplete, April 22, 2012
By 
T. Adams (Bozeman, Montana USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
Like other reviewers, I found better methods after struggling through this. Only the odd problems are covered, and I often found the "steps" were incomplete, with work being done that was not explained or just skipped, assuming you knew what happened from step to step.

There are websites like Cramster that actually go through every problem and in a much more in depth, step by step manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to explain a little more, January 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
I bought this book in order for it to help me with my homework and how to do certain problems.

Cons:
This only gives you the odd # answers.... I wish it had even ones as well that way I know that I'm truly understanding the concept
It skips steps. It does one step and goes to another and they don't explain how they went from Step A to Step C; it's as if they skipped Stepped B.

Other than that, it has helped me understand the odd numbers and the even ones that are very similar to the odd ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, February 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
It arrived in perfect condition and everything nothing is wrong with the seller, but the manual itself is a huge waste of money! It has only the odd problems (which are already in the back of your textbook) and doesn't go into any detail to try and explain how to solve the problem. Like literally just use the back of the book its the exact same thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it's actually very useful., November 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
I haghly reccommend this book to supplement the major text. It contains the answers to odd problems with a fairly detailed explanation as to how the came to that conculsion. I consider invaluable to the eduation of a calculus student. Every little bit helps. This isn't some BS book, it's actually very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This only covers the first 9 chapters!!, March 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
This book was fine, except that it only covers the first 9 chapters! Doesn't Help at all if you are in Calc 3 and are only doing chapters 12-17. Feel sorta scammed that it never tell you this on the description!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book., October 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
I ordered this book as a study aid for my son who is taking calculus. Although it doesn't have all the solutions from the textbook, it has been useful in helping him figure out most problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great solutions manual, June 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
I'm teaching from this text this semester, and purchased the student guide (used) to have it on hand (I put it on reserve in our library for the students to have access to it for free). This is one of the best manuals I have ever worked with. The solutions are clear and well-written, with enough detail to make them easy to follow. The negatives: The manual is used for two different versions of the text, one of which has a 1 chapter shift (chapter 4 in one text is chapter 5 in the other), but I have compared the manual to both texts, and the problems are consistent - you just have to make sure you are referencing the correct topics, rather than the chapter number; it only contains solutions for the odd-numbered problems (most of the manuals I have worked with in my career have contained the solutions for all of the problems, even and odd); and some of the solutions use a different approach than the one used in the examples in the text (a bit confusing for some students, but helpful for others). All in all, I would highly recommend this manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor solutions., May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual (Paperback)
The solutions are only to the odd problems and are not very detailed. Compared to other solutions manuals I have had, this is a poor excuse for any kind of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Single Variable Calculus, Early Transcendentals Student's Solutions Manual
$43.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.