Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Vatican Recordings
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Vatican Recordings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, April 11, 1997
"Please retry"
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Editorial Reviews

On paper, the prospects of a four-disc live Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli edition authorized by the late, reclusive pianist will whet any pianophile's appetite. To be sure, the airless acoustics and close-up mike in the solo selections allow one to scrutinize the inner workings of Michelangeli's pianistic genius. Frankly, however, better recorded and better played Michelangeli versions of the Debussy Images, Preludes, Book One, Ravel's Gaspard de la Nuit, and the Beethoven Op. 2, No. 3 Sonata exist. By contrast, the pianist is at his unruffled, calculated best in Liszt's Totentanz, the Schumann concertos, and Beethoven's Emperor concertos. Incidentally, Michelangeli omits the transitional measures that separate Chopin's Andante Spianato from the Grande Polonaise. A fascinating, albeit uneven compilation. --Dan Davis

Disc: 1
1. Images I: I. Reflets dans l'Eau: Andantino molto
2. Images I: II. Hommage a Rameau: Lent et grave
3. Images I: III. Mov: Anime
4. Images II: I. Cloches a travers lef Feuilles: Lent
5. Images II: II. Et la lune Descend sur le Temple qui Fut: Lent
See all 9 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Grande Polonaise brillante
2. Prlds: I. Livre-Book 1 ...Danseuses de Delphes: Lent et grave
3. Prlds: I. Livre-Book 1 ...Voiles: Modere
4. Prlds: I. Livre-Book 1 ...Le Vent dans la plaine: Anime
5. Prlds: I. Livre-Book 1 ...Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir: Modere
See all 13 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. Pno Con No.5 in E flat, op.73 'Emperor': Allegro
2. Pno Con No.5 in E flat, op.73 'Emperor': Adagio un poco mosso-attaqca: Rondo. Allegro
3. Pno Son in C, op.2 No.3: Allegro con brio
4. Pno Son in C, op.2 No.3: Adagio
5. Pno Son in C, op.2 No.3: Scherzo. Allegro
See all 6 tracks on this disc
Disc: 4
1. Pno Con a, op.54: Allegro
2. Pno Con a, op.54: Adagio un poco mosso-attaca; Allegro
3. 'Totentanz' for Pno & Orch

Product Details

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in