Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open the VAULT...
Def Leppard was one of the most successful bands out of the '80s and one of my very favorite from the decade. They scored 15 top 40 singles from 1983-1993 and had quite a few radio and MTV favorites that missed the top 40; most of them are represented here. There has been some complaints about certain songs not being hits, but I've found the chart stats and will show...
Published on July 28, 2002 by S. J. West

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save Your $$ For The New "Super Vault" Coming In October 04
Overall this compilation could have been better with a second disc of more material. I just received word today that a new greatest hits package is due in october 2004 and called "Super Vault". Some markets ie. countries will have different track listings while the u.s. might get an extra disc of tracks.
Published on September 7, 2004 by R. E. Garcia


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open the VAULT..., July 28, 2002
By 
S. J. West (Eads, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Def Leppard was one of the most successful bands out of the '80s and one of my very favorite from the decade. They scored 15 top 40 singles from 1983-1993 and had quite a few radio and MTV favorites that missed the top 40; most of them are represented here. There has been some complaints about certain songs not being hits, but I've found the chart stats and will show how high they charted.

"Pour Some Sugar on Me" (video edit)--the most popular Lep song leads off this collection. A great singalong, heart-pounding rocker This is also an alternate version to the one on HYSTERIA: it is the video edit which is longer and, IMHO, superior. (peaked at #2)

"Photograph"--one of their breakthrough PYROMANIA hits: another great rocker with an unforgettable riff written "all about Marilyn Monroe" as Joe would say. (peaked at #12)

"Love Bites"--the collection's first ballad is a great one from HYSTERIA. (the band's only #1 single)

"Let's Get Rocked"--first of two ADRENALIZE tracks is a fun little rocker inspired by THE SIMPSONS (or so Joe says). (peaked at #15)

"Two Steps Behind"--a standout ballad from THE LAST ACTION HERO soundtrack is an acoustic based track that originally appeared on a B-side! (peaked at #12)

"Animal"--mid-tempo HYSTERIA rocker that is a rock radio staple even today. (peaked at #19)

"Foolin'"--second PYROMANIA track is a mysterious ballad/rocker with lots of atmosphere and a great guitar solo (peaked at #28)

"Rocket" (video edit)--tounge-in-cheek rocker from HYSTERIA which basically lists off titles of great classic rock songs. Unfortunately it is presented in a shorter edit than the album version. (peaked at #12)

"When Love and Hate Collide"--new song for the album is a pretty good ballad that could've used an electric solo, but it's fine as it is. (sadly, peaked only at #58)

"Armageddon It"--rip-roaring rocker from HYSTERIA and a good one at that. (peaked at #3)

"Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad"--the other ADRENALIZE track, this one an average ballad. (peaked at #12)

"Rock of Ages"--last PYROMANIA track is a memorable bombastic rocker which actually steals it's chorus from the Bible! (peaked at #16)

"Hysteria"--last song from the album of the same name. A sort-of ballad performed well. (peaked at #10)

"Miss You In a Heartbeat"--an okay ballad from RETROACTIVE was a bigger hit in Canada (#4) than America (#39) and that is why it is included.

"Bringing on the Heartbreak"--only track from HIGH 'N' DRY surprising only peaked at #61, but became a classic rock radio staple due to heavy exposure on early MTV. There is no "Switch 625" because it's not played on the radio with it. Great song anyway.

Well that's it, all the hits. There are problems: HYSTERIA is over-emphasized (though all were chart hits and it still misses one of those!), nothing from ON THROUGH THE NIGHT (though no songs were chart hits), and misses the other two top 40 tracks from ADRENALIZE ("Make Love Like a Man," #36; "Stand Up," #34). But overall, this is a great collection for newcomers and casual fans (and the only place to get the PSSOM video edit on CD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Def Leppard fans, November 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Because I was young and did not listen to music when Def Leppard was popular, I did not know how good they were. When I bought this CD, I had no idea how many great songs were on there. I now consider this CD my favorite, and am always in the mood to listen to all 70+ minutes of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful overview of a great band, May 15, 2000
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Def Leppard, without a doubt, was one of the biggest bands in the eighties. With their albums "Hysteria" and "Pyromania" topping the charts, they were virtually unstoppable. And they still aren't. I think this band has survived almost any tragedy that has come their way. But not only has the band survived (with the exception of Steve Clark), their music has too. All their old hits get a good amount of airplay and this CD contains all of those. From "Brining on the Heartbreak", to "Photograph", to their all time high, "Pour Some Sugar on Me" this CD has all the essential songs from Def Leppard's catalogue. It really serves as a wonderful CD for anyone who grew up when these songs were popular. With the release of "Euphoria", this band sounds like they have no intention of calling it quits anytime soon which is a good thing because this band has a lot more in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete, April 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Vault is a greatest hits album that contains material mostly taken from the Pyromania and Hysteria albums. That's not a bad thing, since those are where most of their hits came from, but this album still feels incomplete.
On this album are the single versions of "Pour Some Sugar On Me" and "Rocket". The Hysteria version of the former would have been preferable, but the single version of the latter is a welcome change. Also, of course, are "Animal", "Photograph", "Love Bites," "Hysteria", "Let's Get Rocked", and "Foolin'". This is all good. With the exceptions of "Armageddon It" and "Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad?", the problem isn't what's here.
The problem is that some great Leppard hits aren't.
High and Dry is seriously underrepresented. "Bringin' On The Hearbreak" is good, but hardly does the album justice. I would gladly take "Let It Go" and "High and Dry (Saturday Night)" to "When Love and Hate Collide" and "Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad?".
There's absolutely nothing here from On Through the Night (which isn't a huge loss, but still!), and even great songs from Pyromania ("Too Late") and Hysteria ("Gods of War") are missing here.
Vault is a good listen, but don't forget that the reason you buy a greatest hits album is to get the best of the band on one CD. This doesn't give you all of the best. It doesn't give you all of the hits. It doesn't eliminate the need for any of the original albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save Your $$ For The New "Super Vault" Coming In October 04, September 7, 2004
By 
R. E. Garcia "umbrella tech" (el paso, Texas united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Overall this compilation could have been better with a second disc of more material. I just received word today that a new greatest hits package is due in october 2004 and called "Super Vault". Some markets ie. countries will have different track listings while the u.s. might get an extra disc of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best, November 2, 2002
By 
Randy Given (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Wow, this album rocks. I had some of the Def Leppard albums in college, but they wore out. I got this album as a replacement and it is great. All my favorite Def Leppard hits on one album. The recording quality is great. I might have arranged the songs in a different order, but there is not one that I disagree with being on this album. Cranked loud, it shows the greatness of the band (my favorite band is still Pink Floyd, but this band knows how to rock).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for the New Millennium, December 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was in my mid-twenties when Hysteria hit the charts. The music was thrillingly lush and bombastic. It was, to my mind, the most thoroughly captivating and listenable rock music I had heard since Cheap Trick's earliest efforts. The legacy of Def Leppard's talent and energy continues with The Vault. Unlike many flash-in-the-pan rock bands of the 80's, Def Leppard truly has survived the machinations of time. While purists may argue over which songs should or should not have made the final cut, I suggest that both die-hard Def Leppard fans and those curious enough to listen for the first time buy The Vault, which provides a satisfying mixture of the band's very best efforts over the last fifteen years. From the dizzyingly erotic heights of "Photograph," "Animal," and "Pour Some Sugar On Me" to the heartachy, angst-ridden depths of "Love Bites," "When Love and Hate Collide" and "Miss You In A Heartbeat," Def Leppard's greatest hits delivers an amazing, captivating ride. It is truly a collection for the new millennium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, what COULD have been a GREAT collection of hits..., October 4, 2004
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I am NOT alone in my recognition of many notable 'omissions' this particular 'Greatest Hits' package left out. Is this a great CD to own, especially if you love Def Leppard? Absolutely. Does it truly cover their entire career? NO WAY. Let me explain:

Absolutely NO songs from their 1st album. WHY?? Just because they had no charted single from 'On Through The Night' does NOT mean it had nothing worth including. 'Wasted' and 'Hello America' are the two obvious choices that were left out. A true waste.

'High 'N' Dry' is arguably Leppard's best album, and my personal favorite. It was this cassette I borrowed from a friend which got me hooked long before 'Pyromania' ever hit the record stores. Despite all this, only ONE song was included?? And an edited version at that? For ALL true Leppard fans, when you hear 'Bringin' On The Heartache' you EXPECT to hear 'Switch 625', just like we ALWAYS expect to hear 'We Are The Champions' immediately following 'We Will Rock You' by Queen. This particular axe was simply a MAJOR screw-up on the part of whoever produced this collection (most likely the record label, and NOT Def Leppard). Other songs from this album that were left out: 'Let It Go', 'Mirror, Mirror' and of course the title track -- but easily they could have added 5 or 6 tracks and made this CD 100% better...but NOOOO.

'Pyromania' and 'Hysteria' were Leppard's most successful records released during the 80's, a Decade where ONLY Michael Jackson sold more records (check it out, it's true). Consequently, these albums receive the most attention on this collection, but SIX songs from 'Hysteria'? Even though it was a phenomenally GREAT album, they could have left off a couple of these songs to make room for more from the 1st & 2nd records. I am absolutely stumped why so MANY of the best songs were simply ignored? I have worked almost my entire adult life in radio and I am at a loss to explain this incredibly obvious mistake.

One thing we Leppard fans CAN look forward to, and I feel I can say this with a certain degree of confidence, is that eventually the band will get together and spear-head a TRUE Def Leppard Collection, similar to the vast number of Anthology CD's that have been dumped on the market over the past decade or so. It will most certainly be at least a two CD set, possibly three, and will include the songs us major fans have been wanting. It just may take a little longer than we want, but it WILL come, mark my words. Until then, my advice is to simply BUY the full albums and make do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Epitome of Eighties Hard Rock, February 3, 2004
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Def Leppard set itself apart from the rest of the Eighties hard rock bands by having a unique, loud sound and power ballads that weren't quite as gushy as the other guys. When you hear a Def Leppard song, you know it. You won't confuse this group with anybody else. That's what makes Def Leppard so outstanding. They had a distinctive sound that connected all of their songs, yet none of their songs sounded alike. This perfect formula led to a slew of hits, most coming from "Hysteria."

Yes, I know "Hysteria" is probably over-represented on this particular disc, but that's the album that catapulted them into the big leagues. You cannot say that any of the "Hysteria" songs contained herein don't belong. The rest of the cuts here deserve top honors as well. Personal favorites include "Armageddon It," "Pour Some Sugar On Me," and "Foolin."

If you're just beginning to listen to hard rock/hair/metal bands of the Eighties and early Nineties, this album is a must have. If you're like me, a man still caught in his childhood, this disc will bring back great memories.

If you could make a list of the best greatest hits albums of all time, this one would definitely be included in the top ten. It represents a group that perfected its sound and set itself apart from the pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album basically started my Leppard craze, December 7, 2003
By 
Jose Cabrera (San Juan, Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a greatest hits album, not a "best of" album. For its worth, it is an excellent introduction to the band. Of course, if one is merely a casual fan, then this would be suitable. I would encourage those casual fans to dwelve more into their two major classics so they could get an idea of what Leppard was in their prime. From that point onwards they can go their respective ways in reaching out to On Through the Night and X.
Regardless, it is strictly a greatest hits compilation. Some Adrenalize singles (Tonight, Heaven Is, Stand Up, Make Love like a Man) are in fact missing, but that does not add up to much. The singles represented here are better than those mentioned tracks. In any case, they can be listened to by buying the whole Adrenalize album.
It is a fine package, although if they want to release a true best of, then I'd expect them to release a minimum of two cds for a compilation. That would go along the lines of what the Scorpions did with their Mercury release. And believe me, Def Leppard have enough solid album tracks and singles to even put up a three cd compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits
Vault: Def Leppard Greatest Hits by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.