Start reading Vaults of Power on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

Vaults of Power [Kindle Edition]

Diane Echer
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)

Print List Price: $12.99
Kindle Price: $3.99
You Save: $9.00 (69%)
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 600,000 titles. Learn More

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $3.99  
Paperback $11.69  
Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 600,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for $9.99 a month, including this one. Learn more

Book Description

For fans of Dan Brown, Steve Berry, James Rollins, Clive Cussler.

One independent woman
. Robyn Gabriel, a young historian turned treasure hunter with a taste for one-night stands and a strained relationship with her twin.

Two duty-driven men. A senior executive of the Federal Reserve, and a Chinese triad member.

Six days for an impossible ransom.

When her twin is kidnapped in Southern France, Robyn Gabriel has six days to steal the precious Voynich manuscript from a bunker-like library at Yale University and break its code--a feat no cryptologist, linguist, scientist or software engineer has ever been able to accomplish.

The Federal Reserve can't allow that. Now, they want her dead.

Caught between kidnappers and killers, from Florida to Austria, from France to New York, Robyn, shattered by the revelation of the origin of her own family, lifts each layer of a hundred-year-old conspiracy involving the Jesuits, the Federal Reserve, China and the sinking of the Titanic, and discovers the terrible pact that ensured the United States' financial supremacy.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Fans of summer thriller blockbusters should find plenty to like here."-Kirkus Reviews

"Diane Echer is a cool and deadly observer of complex human relations. Vaults of Power is hypnotic and in its own quiet way, deeply shocking." Jonathan Galassi, President and Editor, Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

"Putting down the book to do other other things was very difficult...This book is a combination of Dan Brown and Clive Cussler with the special flair of Diane Echer...If you enjoy any of these authors, this is a book that you do not want to miss reading..." Allen Cook, blogger at ReallyRandomSite/The Book Review.


"Echer's first novel is a winner." Barbara Rogan

Product Details

  • File Size: 771 KB
  • Print Length: 280 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0984817107
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Chicoine Editions (November 17, 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006CXFPI6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #489,852 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
(9)
4.4 out of 5 stars
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read July 12, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This one is a page turner well worth your time. I love female heroes, and mysteries.
Author's first hand knowledge of Europe is obvious and fun.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vaults of Power - A Must Read! February 13, 2012
By Michael
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
After searching for a thriller to read with intrigue and mystery, I discovered "Vaults of Power" by Diane Echer and wasn't disappointed by my choice. In fact, I was quite pleased with the interesting twists, turns, and tie-ins to history I discovered.

I found myself Googling aspects of the plot line I was reading, and pleased to see that much was factually accurate with interesting fictional twists that the author connected together in a great story. It actually was fun to read and I enjoyed following as Ms. Echer related historical facts together.

I also loved the characters. The heroine, Robyn Gabriel, was likable, sexy, and adventurous. Her band of associates were well portrayed and I wanted them to succeed in their endeavors. Because of the direction the story took, several of the characters weren't fully developed, but I hope there will be sequels in the future and I'll have an opportunity to follow those characters more closely in the next book.

The story line would make an ideal motion picture. "Vaults of Power" has action, adventure, sex, villainous characters, murder, mystery, exciting international set locations, and a lead character that the audience would be rooting for.

The plot highlighted historical events for me that I've now become more interested in because of the significance of these events in today's world. For example, recent political commentary about the role of the Federal Reserve Bank in US monetary policy is something I never thought about until now. Politicians are now talking about the Fed in debates and opinion pieces in the newspapers. "Vaults of Power" is timely, and has opened up some doors to my education on the Fed, and other topics so now I'm delving deeper into non-fiction sources, and learning more.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vaults of Power April 26, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
Vaults of Power by Diane Echer is a turning twisting thriller that keeps the reader wanting more with each page. Robyn Gabriel's twin sister has turned up missing while on a trip to France to investigate a letter left to the girls by their deceased father.
Robyn is on a dangerous mission to find her sister, which takes her to France, Austria, Florida and New York. She is on a near impossible journey to uncover the missing pages to the Voynich Manuscript that will give her clues to aid her in the decoding of the manuscript and to the origins of her own family and how to save her sister. The manuscript itself is located in the Yale University's Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. This journey puts her in the hands of some very deadly people who will do anything they can to keep Robyn from her goal of decoding the Manuscript. Conspiracies abound from The Federal Reserve, to a triad in China, the sinking of the Titanic and a dangerous cult all keep Robyn on the run to save her life and the life of her sister. A very interesting and intriguing novel from beginning to end with a very strong plot and believable characters. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who will play Robyn in the movie? January 20, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
I had an extremely difficult time with this book. It started off very slowly and but did get much better after the first 100 pages or so. I think, perhaps, my problem with the book is not the fault of the author. I did not like the main character. Robyn Gabriel is a headstrong individual. She possesses many characteristics I admire, however, I could not relate to, or feel any sense of kinship with her.

The book is full of complicated twists and turns that may thrill lovers of action adventure stories.

I would like to stress, this is not the kind of book I would usually chose to read. The main idea behind the story, a major conspiracy involving everyone from the priesthood, to the Feds and the sinking of the Titanic (yes the Titanic) are what first engaged my interest. I am glad I read this book. I think Echer has the ability to be a first rate author. Her sense of detail is amazing.

I give this book 4 stars because the writing is fantastic, the reader can visualize the events occurring while you are reading. I think this book would make an amazing movie if the right individual was cast as Robyn
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Labyrinth of a thriller! April 29, 2012
Format:Paperback
The story itself is awesome, not at all predictable (which I loved), and it is very obvious that Diane Echer did her homework. I love it when I can tell that the author did extensive research and put it to good use. Vaults of Power is a labyrinth, the reader has no choice but to find his/her way through to the very last sentence.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Diane Echer is a French-American writer who spent a good part of her life practicing business law in Europe. She now lives in the United States and writes about the real or (sometimes) imagined conspiracies she witnessed.


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category