Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 18, 2012
I'll tell you what...HBO has done it again! With only an eight episode first season, Veep has got my vote! The show is funny, witty, well acted, and at the end of each short 30-minute episode I'm left wishing the show was an hour. The good news: Veep has been picked up for a second season according to a 4/30/2012 Hollywood Reporter article.

Like The Office, the show is shot in that improv, hand-held camera, 'you are there' style of filming, which for me can get a little annoying (especially since filming in that style has been an epidemic of late), but that is the show's only negative in my opinion.

The show follows VP Selina Meyer and her bumbling staff as they try to navigate through the brutal behind the scenes world of Washington DC politics. And for the most part poor Selina and her staff find themselves in wayyyy over their heads in almost every situation. The result is the hilariousness that ensues as we watch Selina get herself into one embarrassing and humiliating situation after another, then try to get out of those situations without self destructing.

And don't get me wrong about the "bumbling staff" comment...I mean no disrespect to the supporting cast. The chemistry between Julia Louis-Dreyfus and the cast of 6 primary supporting actors (Anna Chlumsky, Tony Hale, Reid Scott, Timothy Simons, Matt Walsh & Sufe Bradshaw) is the key ingredient to Veep's excellence.

4 ½ stars for Veep. Vote this great, hysterical show into your cart!
11 comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2015
This show is amazing and extremely funny. Most of the complaints on here are that there is too much "cussing" and she's not acting like Elaine. Umm... two things. It's an HBO show. Has anyone who has given this show a bad review because of its language ever watched HBO before?? They can say whatever they want to say. The show isn't on Lifetime, okay? Cursing comes with the territory. And, the second complaint people have, "she's not acting like Elaine" Well, no she isn't because this isn't Seinfeld. This is a whole new and different show. Actors do these things where they play other characters and act in different roles sometimes, it's very common. Please watch the show for yourself and don't judge it by these ridiculous reviews. Veep moves very fast, and it doesn't hold your hand and tell you when to laugh. It doesn't deserve to have so many negative reviews just because some people can't understand or appreciate the humor behind it, and are offended by the language. I'm sure you're all adults, you can handle curse words. There are far more offensive things in life than, "the F word."
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Veep" creator Armando Iannucci brings his unorthodox brand of workplace comedy and political satire to American government with HBO's ribald showcase for Julia Louis-Dreyfus. If you are familiar with Iannucci's impeccable British series "The Thick of It," (which was also the basis for the feature film "In The Loop" which netted Iannucci a Screenplay Oscar nomination) in many ways--this is just a twist on that successful formula. Both sitcoms (at times) play as fairly conventional workplace comedies driven by awkward moments and uncomfortable blunders. The casts struggle valiantly to keep their heads above water, maintain a dignity in the most unprofessional situations, and deal with the incompetency of those around them. Here's the thing that separates the shows, though. These workplaces just happens to be in the top offices of the Government. In England, "The Thick of It" is set in the fictional Department of Social Affairs and Citizenship with direct ties to the Prime Minister's office while, in America, "Veep" is set in the offices of the actual Vice President. And almost the entire basis for both shows is how the staff can spin any occurrence, no matter how tragic or absurd, with the media, the public, and the country's real power brokers.

Louis-Dreyfus plays Vice President Selina Meyer to perfection. As she tries to carve out a niche for herself within the administration, her continuous exclusion (the president is never in direct contact with her) causes her to seek attention in other ways. She is both insulated by her faithful staff and compromised by their antics. The politics of "Veep" is not about getting things accomplished but rather by remaining as unobjectionable as possible. Every decision, no matter how slight, tends to lead to catastrophe and the crew scramble to create the most positive spin on any given disaster. Sounds too familiar! "Veep" can be smart, incisive and utterly convincing at highlighting the fact that ANYTHING can turn into a media circus. And Louis-Dreyfus, both physically and emotionally, throws herself into this complex portrayal. She can be thoroughly unlikable, but still has the power to elicit your sympathy. Plus, she's wildly funny and gives one of the year's most committed performances.

This isn't just a Louis-Dreyfus vehicle, though. The show boasts an ensemble cast with a number of terrific supporting roles. Anna Chlumsky (grown up from "My Girl" days) tries to be the voice of reason, Arrested Development's Tony Hale can literally do no wrong, Reid Scott is convincingly cut-throat, and Matt Walsh plays everyone's fall guy to perfection. What strikes me as odd is that no one is particularly likable individually and yet you do like them as a group! Season One consists of eight half hour episodes that, I believe, get progressively funnier. As you get to know the team and as the blunders intensify, the humor gets increasingly brutal and uncomfortable. It's a solid beginning with much room for growth. I look forward to catching up with things in Season Two. KGHarris, 7/12.
11 comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
...insecure and shallow, but I suspect that many of them are. Just look at what drives the scandals they are often involved in. I also suspect that the language is a bit more Hollywood than DC. Use of the f-word (and cursing in general) by articulate people is for shock-value or intimidation (as opposed to lazy speech) and DC is ALL about power and influence. And keep in mind one of the all-time great political comments came from former Texas Senator Phil Graham. He said, "Politics is show-business for ugly people."
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2015
I was happy to see the show on Amazon and binge watched Season One. Julie is great, is there ever any doubt, but I do have to agree with some of the other reviewers on the profanity especially from the Whitehouse character Jonah Ryan. Some of the things this character spewed out really were a bit much. That being said, I really enjoyed the series and hopefully Amazon will get the other seasons soon.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
Hilariously! Julia LD is in fine form (comedic and otherwise, as one episode puts it, definitely a "VPILF"). This is a more grown up but still deliciously self-centered Elaine from the Seinfeld years. Her face as she gets the news the POTUS may be having a heart attack is a terrific study in glee, unsuccessfully hidden by faux concern. The supporting cast is terrific. I had no idea Anna Chlumsky (former child star) had such great comedy chops. Her facial expressions are priceless. Everyone else is great too, from Mike (recognize him from UCB?) to Jonas the slimeball who misses no opportunity to remind everyone he works in The White House. The Veep' secretary Gail is also a great character and her lines are always worth noting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
There are a lot of reviews on here trashing this show for profanity. The f-word shows up, like in life, but I wouldn't call it "profane". I rarely curse and I wasn't offended. Others think the show isn't funny and thought it lacked witty banter, but they just didn't get it. The show is filled with witty banter, you just have to be clever enough to catch some of it. I didn't laugh out loud, but I was very entertained by the dialogue. It's also funny because this is supposed to be satire, yet at the same time, you think that it's probably very realistic. Washington probably IS just like this. Some reviewers found that depressing. What did they think Washington is like? The characters have chemistry and Julia's comedic timing is, as usual, outstanding. She's just funny, always has been.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
A skewed, cynical and amusing look at political maneuvering in the White House, VEEP plays to our fears that our nation's leaders are just as bumbling, conflicted and insecure as the rest of us -- only more so. Julia Louis-Dreyfuss manages to walk the fine line between being likable and despicable. She's an anti-heroine with a foul mouth and a bucketload of anxieties who, as with many actual vice presidents, got her position after a failed run for the Oval Office. In Season One, she's fighting to make her mark and craft her legacy while being sidelined from any real power. The recurring line -- "Did the President call?" "No." -- is the season's motif. No one really cares about her except her oddball staff, whose hopes are pinned to the vice president's star. VEEP made me laugh occasionally, smile frequently, and often wonder how far the parody strayed from reality.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
Although this is a comedy, it feels real...like everything you are watching, no matter how absurd, is something that could actually happen. It is that believability that makes it so funny. I think we are all frustrated with the political process, and how little gets done in Washington. VEEP makes it seem like we are getting a secret, behind-the-scenes look into why it is so dysfunctional. The cast is perfection. Julia Louis-Dreyfus is a natural. Her timing and delivery seem effortless and the rest of the cast just follow her lead. They seem to be having a great time. I know I did while I was watching.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2016
This is a very funny series, but at times the foul language detracts from the comedy. Some of the routines are funny because of the language; but, at times it goes too far, reverting to crude bathroom humor that really has little intellectual appeal and becomes repetitious, adding little to the plot or characterization.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse