Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clues to Friendship
With 27 videos released over the last 13 years, VeggieTales has become something of an institution. These computer animated vegetables have not only won over their target age group of kids but also teens and adults of every age. The blend of silliness with seriousness works well to impart Biblical lessons to all.

The latest in the series takes on the issue of...
Published on March 22, 2006 by Mark Baker

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over thier head!
While I am usually a huge fan of Bid Idea and VeggieTales, this one went way over my kids' heads. Don Quiote? Come on! And while Sheerluck was funny in a slap-stick sort of way, there was too much going on visually to get the whole plot. Okay for kids 8 and up, but not for the little guys. Try instead the older VT movies like Dave and the Giant Pickle or The Toy the...
Published on August 10, 2007 by H. Foxworthy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clues to Friendship, March 22, 2006
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
With 27 videos released over the last 13 years, VeggieTales has become something of an institution. These computer animated vegetables have not only won over their target age group of kids but also teens and adults of every age. The blend of silliness with seriousness works well to impart Biblical lessons to all.

The latest in the series takes on the issue of friendship. What exactly does it take to be a good friend? Naturally, Bob the Tomato is ready with two stories that help answer the question.

First up, we get "The Asparagus of La Mancha." Don Quixote (Archibald Asparagus) runs a popular restaurant. When he starts having a series of bad dreams, he tries to figure out what they mean. Could the grand opening of the latest Food Factory restaurant right across the street be what the dreams were foretelling?

Naturally, Don's business drops off immediately, and he becomes concerned about loosing his business and best friends/waiter Poncho (Mr. Lunt). Is there anything he can do to get the Food Factory to go away or is it as useless as tilting at windmills?

Up next is the silly song, one of the weaker ones. In it, Larry tries to get his ball back from behind the wall of a "Gated Community" while the residences sing about how great life there is. It's been a while, but I think I now have a new least favorite silly song. This one had an interesting premise, but it didn't really go anywhere.

Finally comes the main feature. Larry the Cucumber takes on the role of Sheerluck Holmes, the best detective in London. That is, if you believe the press. Holmes is actually not nearly as brilliant as everyone thinks he is. The true detective is Dr. Watson (Bob the Tomato). The two are summoned to Buckingham Palace where they must find the missing keys to the vault that contains the secret of England's greatness, The Golden Ruler. But Watson is getting tired of Holmes hogging all the credit. Will the riff in their relationship mean the loss of this valuable asset?

I didn't feel this entry in the series was quite up to par. The stories were good and animation fine, but it lacked the humor of the previous entries. Normally, these videos can be counted on to make you laugh and smile no matter your age, but this one contained few good jokes. Instead, the stories seemed to be heavier handed then normal in getting the moral across. On top of this, the two songs weren't especially memorable.

This isn't to say I didn't like the video. The lessons on sticking by your friends and treating them well are important and the stories are fun. Kids, the true audience, should love it. This one just won't be as popular with the adult fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheerluck is sheergreat!, July 15, 2006
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
This would have to be one of the greatest veggietales movies of all times. Of course all of them are good (I should know - we have every single one). Sheerluck learns about treating others as you would want to be treated. The CG work is seamless and the story is complete. I highly recommend this for all ages.

AD

Nashville, Tennessee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kids movie, February 5, 2010
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
Very cute dvd. I ordered it for my niece and nephew for Christmas. They really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Veggie Tales Teach!, September 12, 2009
By 
L. Angelacos (Winthrop Harbor, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
All Veggie Tale's are superb. They teach morals and you never have to be "afraid" of the content.

The imagination shown by the creators is excellent, and entertaining to all ages. Some of the humor is so subtle, it makes you smile that you weren't expecting it.

They are great. And children love them as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over thier head!, August 10, 2007
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
While I am usually a huge fan of Bid Idea and VeggieTales, this one went way over my kids' heads. Don Quiote? Come on! And while Sheerluck was funny in a slap-stick sort of way, there was too much going on visually to get the whole plot. Okay for kids 8 and up, but not for the little guys. Try instead the older VT movies like Dave and the Giant Pickle or The Toy the Saved Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Veggie Tales Always a Hit, June 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
Veggie Tales branded DVD products are very well done and appropriate for children and adults of all ages. Not for use as substitute baby sitter. Great for emphasizing lessons on life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service!!, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
As I stated before on other Veggie Tales, me and my grand daughter watches these and none of them appear to be what they seem to portray in the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler, March 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
It wasn't as clear of a point of the "golden rule" as I had hoped. We bought it for our granddaughters 5 and 6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful illustration of friendship for children using vegetables as the main and supporting characters, December 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
Classic Veggie Tales - Wonderful way of illustrating moral lessons for young children from a Christian perspective with vegetables (cucumbers, tomatoes, peas, etc.) in starring roles. The tales are spun to be entertaining to children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for all ages, November 4, 2013
By 
Jenn (Across the Pond) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler (DVD)
It's Veggie Tales, what's not to love?!? The kids really love the story line and follow along with the story well. They range in age from 3 - 11 and all of them will actually sit and watch Veggie Tale movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Veggie Tales: Sheerluck Holmes and the Golden Ruler
$9.99 $5.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.