Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps my favorite Veggie Tales video yet!
These videos are so clever. They include humor that only an older child or an adult would understand while still having great kid-appeal. This series is truly whole-family viewing material!
In this particular episode, King George (aka Larry the Cucumber) is playing in the bath with his rubber duckie. He has a whole collection of duckies, but he spies a little...
Published on June 26, 2000 by Soozie4Him

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute and creative but....
My four year old loves this video. The story is very creative and because he is also a bit obsessed with rubber ducks.. he gets it!
I do have one caution for parents of very young children.. I you do not want your little ones using phrases like "Do you want a piece of me?!?" skip the beginning of the video. Yes, the story about the Englishman who went up...
Published on October 10, 2001 by steph3589


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps my favorite Veggie Tales video yet!, June 26, 2000
By 
Soozie4Him (Chicago suburbs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
These videos are so clever. They include humor that only an older child or an adult would understand while still having great kid-appeal. This series is truly whole-family viewing material!
In this particular episode, King George (aka Larry the Cucumber) is playing in the bath with his rubber duckie. He has a whole collection of duckies, but he spies a little guy taking a bath with *his* duckie from his window. (Think of David and Bathsheba here) Even though he has plenty of duckies, he wants the little guy's (Junior Asparagus') duckie!
Before the story begins, Jimmy and Jerry gourd try to take Bob and Larry's place introducing the show - with hilarious results!
I guarantee you'll love this video - it's for children of ALL ages!
God bless you all and check out my other reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cream of the Veggie Crop, August 24, 2000
By A Customer
This has to be one of my favorite Veggie videos! Jimmy and Jerry Gourd attempt to host the show (something they've wanted to do since Dave and the Giant Pickle) disguised as Bob and Larry. They show a story entitled "The Englishman who went up the hill and came down with all the bananas." You have to see it! A classic! Fortunaly, the real tomato and cucumber come and show King George and the Ducky. At first I found it hard to believe that Big Idea made a children's video on the story of David and Bathsheba, but the only thing King George (aka Larry) desires is Thomas's (aka Jr. Asparaus) rubber ducky. This video has wonderful music (I Love My Duck will be running through your head for hours!) and the Silly Song is truly wonderful. This video is fun, and the lesson is a wonderful lesson for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of selfishness..., July 24, 2000
By A Customer
This is another great installment in the Veggie Tales series. It is a very cleverly disguised retelling of the story of David and Bathsheba. The video opens with a brief stint by Jimmy and Jerry Gourd, who are not so cleverly disgiused as Bob and Larry, as hosts. After their parable about not being selfish, titled The Englishman who went up a hill and came down with all the bananas ( you have to see it, it's priceless), the real story unfolds. King George, played by Larry, is in love with his rubber ducky. His kingdom is engaged in the Great Pie War but he has no interest in it. He would rather be in the tub with his duck. All is well until he spies Thomas down in the village, in a tub, with a duck (that is identical to his own). He decides his duck, or any of the other ones in his closet, is not good enough and he must have Thomas'. So, he sends Thomas off to the war and takes his duck. I don't want to give away the end but he learns his lesson. Like the other videos in this series, this is a great example of Christian entertainment for all ages. Small children will enjoy the music and excellent animation. Adults will enjoy the great music and subtle jokes and gags that no small child would catch. Great entertainment. This video also includes a Silly Songs with Larry called Endangered Love. Larry is watching a soap opera titled Endangered Love and is a little carried away with Barbara Manatee. Very funny. (There is also a preview of 3-2-1 Penguins. The next series from Big Idea. Sure to be another winner!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Idea Does it Again!, November 26, 2000
By 
"King George and the Ducky" is an extremely clever re-telling of the story of King David and Bathsheba that is perfect for children [I wouldn't have thought it could be done!]. This is an amazingly funny video - for parents and kids alike. The music in this one is excellent, catchy, and totally singable. ["Barbara Manatee, you are the one for me..."] :) "King George" is VeggieTales at its best and you'll never be sorry for buying this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud and a moral, too, February 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: VeggieTales - King George and the Ducky (DVD)
I just adore the Veggie Tales tapes. These guys have the same simple-minded humor I enjoyed and engaged in as a teenager. It's like never leaving college. This episode with the ducky is one of the best, and a very interesting way to introduce the story of David and Bathsheba to kids (definitely without the sex part). This time King George (aka David) covets his neighbor's Ducky (not his wife). Catchy songs, funny plot, all in all, a great time. I also laughed out loud with the "low-budget" skit done by the Squash at the beginning. Oh, my 27-month-old likes Veggie Tales, too...especially the Ducky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly FUN video!, June 25, 2000
Bob & Larry are back to share a story about being selfish. The video utilizes the beloved Veggie Tales imagination when telling a "modified" version of the story of King David & Bathsheeba. The music is wonderfully contageous, reminiscent of a Rodgers and Hammerstein musical.
Silly Songs with Larry is back! This silly song, though, has a point to it, subtle as it is. Bob walks in as Larry is watching a soap opera (and singing affectionately about/to one of the characters) and suggests that he read a book instead. It may be too subtle for children, though.
The annimation is definitely more advanced than previous vedeos and maintains the same excellent Big Idea quality. And, we even get to see Phil Vischer announcing Big Idea's new video project called 3-2-1 Penguins.
It's another great video from Big Idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Share my rubber duckie?, December 30, 2000
By 
The BigIdeas people have another excellent childrens video in King George and the Rubber Duckie, a lesson on selfishness. This video is aimed at the age 5 to 11 set, though adults will find it interesting enough to view it repeatedly (as I did on a recent 17 hour cross-country drive!). Larry the Cucumber is back with Bob the Tomato and Junior Asparagus in this take-off on the Biblical story of King David and Bathsheba. Not to worry, the object of our King's affection in this video is a rubber duckie. Not content with a closet full of duckies, the King covets one held by a young boy and conspires to take it. Along the way he learns a lesson from Melvin, the "slightly odd" wise man, and realizes that sharing is more important than being selfish.
The video opens with the Gourd brothers, Jimmmy and Jerry, who try to host the show. They do a lesson on selfishness entitled, "The Englishman who Went Up the Hill and Came Down with All of the Bananas." Done in a campy crayon style and piano music that sounds like it came from a 1910 1-reel film, it is giggle-inducing in adults as well as children. Larry is back with another silly song, "Barbara Manatee." This one really IS silly!
The music in this video is what we expect from BigIdeas: bouncy, clever, and combined with silly slapstick artistry makes this video move right along. Sight gags abound. And who thought of a "flannelgram"? The animation again is excellent and holds our interest. But best of all is that the BigIdeas team here, as in Madame Blueberry, make an important lesson in life -- don't be selfish -- entertaining. Too many childrens videos are either pointless or pedantic in their moralizing. Veggie Tales seems to have hit on a smart combination: dress up Bible stories with slapstick, unusual characters, eye-catching animation and bouncy music, so as to impart a lesson. It's a lesson that the entertainment industry, not to mention a few Sunday preachers, could learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lunatic ride!, September 4, 2000
Dang, I love Veggietales! My favorite line in this one is, oddly enough, "I am Melvin, the slightly odd wiseman."
King George is the monarch of an unspecified country, which is currently enmeshed in the Pie Wars. But King George cares only about baths with his rubber duck, and has decided that the most important person in the world is himself. When he becomes obsessed with a little boy's duckie, King George must learn a lesson about selfishness.
The story is a cleaned-up version of David and Bathsheba, more acceptable for kids. It starts off with Jimmy and Jerry Gourd trying their story, "The Englishman Who Went Up The Hill And Came Down With All The Bananas" which is so pathetically, funnilly awful that you'll roar. And the "Silly Song" is the tale of Larry's adoration for "Barbara Manateeeeeeee.... you are the one for meeeeeeee!"
A new addition to the hilarious series. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another delightful story from Big Idea, June 19, 2000
Once again, those zany creators of verbose veggies deliver a winner! A well-disguised retelling of the story of David and Bathsheba, Larry the Cucumber and Bob the Tomato remind kids not to be greedy and selfish, and to be satisfied with what they have. Sandwiched in the middle of the story is the trademark Silly Songs with Larry, entitled "Endangered Love," about a cucumber's adoration for his stuffed manatee (it sounds weird, but trust me, it works). Veggie Tales never fails to disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VeggieTales is for All Ages!, February 20, 2002
By 
While Bob the Tomato and Larry the Cucumber are on their break, Jimmy and Jerry the Gourds 'disguise' themselves as the hosts of the show, something they've been wanting to do ever since "Dave and the Giant Pickle". After presenting Jerry's show, "The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill (and Came Down With All the Bananas)", Bob and Larry take over to 'really get the show going'. From here we get the story of "King George and the Ducky", a very cleverly disguised version of the story of David and Bathsheba.
King George (aka Larry the Cucumber) just LOVES his Ducky and can't find anything more enjoyable than taking a bath with it. Even when his advisor Lewis (aka Tom the Tomato) tries to get the King's attention to important matters like the Great Pie War, he is only shunned. But when King George catches sight of Thomas (aka Junior Asparagus) taking a bath with Thomas' own Ducky, George demands he MUST have that Ducky! Well, I can't tell you much more of the story but I can tell you that it is just fantastically funny! Can't help but love Melvin (aka Pa Grape), the 'slightly odd wiseman who shows up every now and then to teach you things'. Also the songs are so fun and catchy!
~I love my duck (He loves his duck)~
~My affection for these duckies aren't getting any stronger!~
Also during the middle of the story we have a short break and get to see one of VeggieTales famous "Larry's Silly Songs", "Endangered Love". In this silly song, Larry watches the daytime drama "Endangered Love" and gets carried away dancing with his 'Barbara Manatee' (by the way, this is my most favorite Silly Song!). ~Barbara Manateeeeee, you are the one for me! Sent from up above, you are the one I loooooove!~
People cannot say that VeggieTales are only for very young kids because I think VeggieTales are just wonderful for the whole family! All ages young and old will enjoy them immensely. Younger kids because of the fun and interesting stories and songs; Adults because of the humor and some pretty witty lines. And of course there are plenty of Christians morals, even non-Christians can agree about morals like, "Do not be selfish (main theme of "King George and the Ducky")...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

VeggieTales - King George and the Ducky
VeggieTales - King George and the Ducky by Mike Nawrocki (DVD - 2003)
$12.99 $10.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.