Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2002
My kids absolutely LOVE Veggie Tales, and this one is our favorite! I (the Mommy) adore Rack, Shack, and Benny, and didn't really know the bible story of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego until I saw this! Big Idea has a unique talent in that the videos are full of humor that kids won't get, but adults will. Lots of times a video or movie that is supposedly "kid friendly" is full of innuendos and jokes that kids may not get but that are incredibly inappropriate. Veggie Tales are a staple in my family: I know they're quality videos with meaning and morals that even my 3 1/2 year old can grasp. Each video's bible verse is not only relevant to the cartoon, but also to every day life. It's application to my 3 year old's behavior is incredible - many times he pretends to be Larry Boy (super hero in another Veggie video) and ends up doing the right thing because he's mimicking and thinking like Larry Boy. Can you ask more from children's television? Way to go, Big Idea!!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2003
Actually, my husband and I started watching (and buying) Veggietales videos BEFORE we ever had children! We love the humor and the creativity of the writers and animators. I must say the quality of the graphics has improved over time!
I honestly thought that the Veggies would be "too old" for my two-year old, but gave it a try anyway. I was very wrong!! Currently, we watch nothing but Veggietales and Blue's Clues! I am happy to see my young daughter watching videos that help to provide her with great moral values based on Biblical Principles!
We actually own each of these videos separately. I plan to replace my current videos with the newer DVD format... so that I may have even MORE room for these great buys! My only complaint is that they do not have all 3 videos in their entirety! (Fifteen minutes of the video "Are you my neighbor?" is missing.)
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2004
This DVD is the second in the "Heroes of the Bible" series of Veggie Tales compilations. This volume contains "The Story of Flibber-O-Loo" (The parable of the Good Samaritan) and the classic episodes "Rack, Shack, & Benny" (The story of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego) and "Josh and the Big Wall" (The story of Joshua at Jericho). Each of these stories can be played individually or as an entire themed program via the "Play All" selection from the main menu.

These videos are just as much fun for parents as they are for kids. What I found to be extra fun with this package is the candid interview footage with some children as they talk about what it means to be a hero and give their unique takes on the Bible stories on which the Veggie Tales shows are based.

A side note: People familiar with the previous stand-alone "Rack, Shack, & Benny" adventure may be interested to know that the episode as presented on this DVD contains a different version of "The Bunny Song." Lyrics about not loving one's parents and refusing to go to church and school have been replaced with protestations about healthy eating. While the motives for the lyric change are commendable (I really don't want my son going around singing "I don't love my mom or my dad, just the bunny!"), the dramatic effect is lost. But what are you gonna do?

This DVD is a great introduction to the world of Veggie Tales. If you've got kids, these programs feature top notch animation, colorful and crazy characters, silly songs, and positive life lessons. Highly recommended.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
Excellent way to engage children, and other generations, in messages about helping your neighbor, standing firm against peer pressure, and walking in obedience to God's instructions to obtain His promises.....while subtly fixing our attention on vegetables......which is always a plus for parents!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2003
This is was first look at Veggie Tales. My almost 2-year-old son only wants to watch this DVD. It moves quickly and there is a lot of singing and dancing. We loved it so much we rented "Esther" and were so disappointed. Esther moved so slow and was not at all upbeat. We aren't sure what our second purchase will be because we loved "Hero's" but hated the next one. If you've had a bad experience or are looking for your first helping of the Veggies GET THIS ONE!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2002
One of the best kids videos I have seen. It's fun, funny, and full of entertainment at a real good price.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 29, 2005
"VeggieTales-Heroes of the Bible-Stand Up, Stand Tall, Stand Strong!" is a wonderful DVD packed with three great stories from our favorite vegetable friends. Though I was always familiar with VeggieTales, I never saw any point in watching their shows since I was an adult. However, since introducing my daughter to the little guys, I've grown to love them myself.

In this particular DVD, we are taught the lessons of the Good Samaritan in "The Story of Flibber-O-Loo." In it, we learn to love our neighbor no matter who they are or what they do. In "Rack, Shack, and Benny," we are shown the brave tale of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. Conveniently called Rack, Shack, and Benny to make the story a little easier for children to swallow, we are shown how to stand strong for our beliefs no matter what the consequences may be. In "Josh and the Big Wall," we learn of Joshua and the people of Israel's solid faith in God even though what God tells them to do seems a little bit out of the ordinary. It lets kids know that even though they may be laughed at for their faith, God will be there to help them out of any situation.

Three cute stories divided by interviews with children who give their description of each story and a few tongue-twisting names (such as Nebuchadnezzar) are what you get on this DVD. It teaches great life lessons with a Christian foundation. Get it for your children today.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2009
THE BEST! Old school veggietales the way they used to be. Seriously on point!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
3 episodes on one tape for the price of one episode! How cool is that?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2003
I purchased this DVD without even looking closely at the description of the stories. I am that big a fan of the DVD's that have been put out by Big Idea for the Veggie Tales series. My kid loves 'em, and I've always been impressed with their quality and especially their sound quality. I was disappointed and a bit shocked to realize after purchasing this DVD that we already owned 2 of the 3 stories on this compilation: "Rack, Shack, and Benny", as well as "Josh And The Big Wall". These were both individually released not too long ago (the box says 2002 for both) by Big Idea on DVD. For whatever reasons, they are repackaging them here, along with a 15 minute short we didn't have on DVD "The Story of Flibber-O-Loo". I don't know why a company with as much integrity and pro-family ethics would do such a thing. Unless you take the time to read "the fine print" on the back, you would never know those stories included on this DVD were already released. The front case of the DVD doesn't identify them by their previous known titles, it's only on the back (and not prominently noted).
So, if you already own either or both of those two previous DVD releases, I would definitely not recommend purchasing this. If, however, you do not own the other two, then this may represent an outstanding value to your family.
Another word of caution: the 3 stories here are presented in 2.0 Stereo ONLY, not the wonderful and impressive 5.1 as on their previously indivdual releases. I plan on selling my copy of this and keeping my individual releases of "Rack, Shack, & Benny", and "Josh and The Big Wall" because the difference in the sound quality is substantial. I also don't think the video resolution in this "best-of" compilation is as clear and sharp as in the individual releases.
All in all, I am left feeling kind of burned by Big Idea from this experience. I used to be their ideal customer, the kind of person who would gladly buy their new products for my child without a moments hesitation. Well, after this, I plan on examining the content of future releases VERY CAREFULLY before I put down my hard-earned cash.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse