Customer Reviews


457 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (41)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and somewhat graphic documentary.
This film's goal is to educate you as to the health benefits of a vegan, or at least vegetarian lifestyle, but even more, it is dedicated to educating people as to the horrible atrocities committed to fill the shelves in the meat section of your local grocer. It basically takes three people from different lifestyles and challenges them to embrace a vegan lifestyle for six...
Published on March 11, 2012 by Peter Faden

versus
351 of 391 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well intentioned but heavy handed
First up, I've been a vegan for nearly a year and I can attest to the transformational effects it has on your health, fitness, attitude and lifestyle. I've been a single-person marketing campaign for films such as Forks Over Knives and Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, both of which illustrate effectively the positive effects of a plant-based diet (beer is plant based, woo-hoo)...
Published on April 7, 2012 by James Beswick


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

351 of 391 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well intentioned but heavy handed, April 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
First up, I've been a vegan for nearly a year and I can attest to the transformational effects it has on your health, fitness, attitude and lifestyle. I've been a single-person marketing campaign for films such as Forks Over Knives and Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, both of which illustrate effectively the positive effects of a plant-based diet (beer is plant based, woo-hoo). Personally, I think the biggest negative of veganism is the stereotyped baggage that follows which I try to fight all the time - vegetable eaters aren't all smoking weed in their drum circles trying to fight the man.

While I support any effort to show people how the Western diet is bad for your health, this film comes across as more of a PETA commercial than an attempt to follow 3 people willfully changing their lifestyle. I'm completely against the way that mass farm treats animals but spreading the vegan word must surely come from illustrating the gains that individuals make rather than having a political agenda about animal treatment. That said, what is shown in the film in the animal processing facilities is disturbing and the public should be aware - but let's make that a focus of a different film.

For me, this film lacked the journey promised in the subtitle about following 3 New Yorkers becoming vegan which could have been funny, personal, touching and dramatic. As a contrast, I think Forks Over Knives is a substantially more approachable film for non-vegans and doesn't press the animal cruelty buttons to guilt people into quitting hamburgers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and somewhat graphic documentary., March 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
This film's goal is to educate you as to the health benefits of a vegan, or at least vegetarian lifestyle, but even more, it is dedicated to educating people as to the horrible atrocities committed to fill the shelves in the meat section of your local grocer. It basically takes three people from different lifestyles and challenges them to embrace a vegan lifestyle for six weeks. During those six weeks, as they are learning how they can eat properly without meat or dairy products, they are also exposed to the dark underbelly of animal butchery and production. The film is very graphic in this respect, showing the inside of chicken, beef, and pork production plants and farms. One scene shows the castration of a cow. Very disturbing. The film also teaches about how, just because a label says free range, organic, and cruelty free, it doesnt really actually meet those standards. For example, when we see 'free range', i think we all have a picture of an animal traipsing about a meadow until it's slaughter time (which is gruesome enough). In reality, they are still kept in small pens and squalid conditions, but are simply not confined 12 chickens to a single tiny cage. They show how chicken beaks are melted off to keep them from fighting in the cages. They show a lot. In fact, if you were to watch this film, i think you might view the consumption of meat and dairy quite differently, from both an appeal standpoint, and also from an ethical one.
There is some sloppy editing in this film, including at least one glaringly obvious misspelling, but the overall messages this documentary puts forth are valid, important, and quite compelling.
A definite must watch in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 56 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Go watch Forks Over Knives instead, April 24, 2012
This review is from: Vegucated (DVD)
Let me start this review by saying that I am a vegan, animal rights activist. I disliked this documentary so much! It was annoying, came across as poorly made and really was heavy handed with the slaughter house footage. This video would turn most non-vegans off instead of opening their eyes. I'd recommend people watch Forks Over Knives, Fat Sick and Nearly Dead, and Food Inc, as well as read Skinny Bitch or Eating Animals as these all do what Veducated wished to do. I was so disappointed with this film! There was a lot of hype over this film and I expected so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not So Much About Healthy Choices as Humane Choices, June 30, 2012
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
Not what I hoped it would be. Really focused on the aspect of Veganism because of cruelty to animals. Having been a "junk food" vegan for many years I finally got to the point of understanding it is NOT enough to just be vegan. Eating whole foods, plant based is a key to getting the nutrients. The reason vegetarians and vegans get a bad rap is because many look sickly, which many are. The movie would have been nice if it had addressed eating a whole foods diet and not some crappy pasta with marinara sauce as being healthy. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Joel Fuhrman appear but their guidance to eating healthy is sort of brushed over. It would have been nice to plug more of a nutrient dense diet than eating a bunch of processed foods, even if they are vegan. Graham crackers are not any healthier than nilla wafers even if they are vegan.

Ok, that being said, if you want to reinforce the reason you don't eat meat, than this movie will help with that line of thinking. I just wouldn't use it as a reference for how to eat healthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was great., December 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
From the trailer I wasn't positive that I would like all the characters but they were so great really relatable. It totally packed in all the things you go through as a new vegan including the issues that you become aware of. There was so much packed in to this fairly short film and overall it was enjoyable. The scenes of violence towards animals are woven in in ways that help you emotionally recover (and not leave the room crying or turn off the movie) while still being made more aware. It's not going to win any awards for awesome graphics but it is really well made. I would recommend this to anyone without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good documentary, August 10, 2012
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
I have to admit that I'm a little surprised by the people saying that this was graphic. To me it seems that the director intentionally kept the super graphic stuff out. Go watch Earthlings and then nothing about this documentary will seem graphic. As far as showing that not all vegans are crazy or super intense, I think this did a good job at doing that. It also showed the struggle that going vegan can cause some people to go through (as with Tesla in the film). My favorite line in this film, and something that I will remember for as long as I live, is "Veganism is about reducing suffering. It's not about being perfect." I showed this film to my hardcore meat-eating friend and it really helped him start his journey of becoming vegetarian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for everyone., January 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
If you eat meat you need to watch this film. It was extremely interesting and informative and even entertaining at times. There were times though that I just couldn't watch with some of the footage of animals being treated so cruelly that I could never have imagined it could be so bad. I don't know how anyone can support eating animal products after seeing how horrendously the animals are treated. Makes some serial killers look like good guys. I became vegan a few months back just because it is a healthier diet, now I will never eat meat or animal products again in the hopes that I have spared some animals from this awful fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Started out good, ended as a propaganda tool!, May 19, 2012
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
The first 35 minutes or so was rather informative and insightful. The author did a good job of laying the ground work for why one might want to become a vegan. It dived into the reasons for some of the health issues facing mainstream America today. It explained the importance of greens, nuts, and grains to the American diet and provided a wonderful societal foundation for a healthier lifestyle. It even explained the true meaning of Organic and why "organic" only pertains to certain practices; thus negating items such as transportation, housing, and care. This documentary then delved into the horrors of factory farms. I've seen similar footage on other Amazon Prime videos and agree that the treatment of animals for the sole purpose of food is an atrocity; but this is where is it started getting political.

Unlike a lot of the other documentaries on Prime, the producer does not site any of the footage that is seen in the documentary. It leads the viewer to assume that all farms are like the ones portrayed. It even showed footage of a "family farm" where the only difference was the size of the farm but not the atrocity toward animals. This is completely unrealistic as it leaves out the farmer who genuinely cares for the livestock and commands a healthy profit as the meat is more highly valued. It completely leaves out the fact that while US law doesn't go far enough, the growing number farmers who believe in organic, free-range chicken, pork, and cattle is on the rise as the society at large is demanding change. As was seen in Food Inc., one of the farmers mentioned:"Farmers are resourceful individuals, if the public wants a healthier product, the farmer will produce." This mindset is completely left out of the equation because it doesn't fit the mantra the author is trying to convey. The incompetence reached its climax as GLOBAL WARMING was a by product of the livestock. This is due largely in part to the breathing and FARTING of the livestock. The producer then switches to a video of an activist claiming that America has more contaminated water than ever before. This is preposterous and a shining example of incompetence on parade.

Another point of fallacy is seen in the beginning of the documentary. The producer takes the subjects to a supermarket and shows the alternatives to common foods such as Tofukey, yosoy icecream, boca burgers, ect. Here's the problem that was conveniently left out: This stuff costs 2-4 times more than the mainstream alternatives. Unlike other documentaries that addressed the fact that McDonald's is often the meal of choice due to the attractive cost, this film portrays these alternatives as a simple 1 for 1 alternatives and all Americans have to do is switch - like one switches from Coke to Pepsi. This is simply not true and is not financially sustainable for struggling families who live in realville. As was mentioned in Food Inc., where $10 feeds a family of 5 at the drive thru of the Golden Arches, the same $10 barley can by 2 heads of broccoli and fresh green beans. Again, blatant misrepresentation portrayed as convenient, simplistic, and environmentally responsible.

What turned out to be a rather enjoyable and informative documentary turned into a political statement with no citations and abundantly unstantiated conjectures. It could have been a wonderful documentary teaching people the hazards of our American diet and the success of those wanting to change; instead it was riddled with inaccuracies and blatant misinformation tailored to make it seem as the viewer is the problem to our current condition and all they have to do is be veducated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instead of converted, turned off., April 29, 2012
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
I sat down expecting more recognition of the difficulties of switching to being vegan and the expense of switching to a vegan diet- which was not well addressed in this film. In addition, I agree with some other reviews that the depictions of animal slaughter were unexpected and super violent-to the extent that I ended up fast forwarding though them. I enjoyed the characters that were chosen and their personal experiences; however the heavy amount of material clearly pushing veganism and the unexpectedly graphic material made me distrust the film. I have seen other films that left me wanting to eat better and be more conscious in my choices, such as those suggested by other reviewers of this film. They were far more uplifting and made me want to change my diet far more that this film. I would also add, many of the suggested vegan foods concentrated on overly packaged meat and sweet substitutes instead of healthy vegetables, beans, and grains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated information about the beef industry, October 17, 2013
This review is from: Vegucated (Amazon Instant Video)
As a beef producer, I was appalled by this video's outdated information regarding cattle handling systems and practices--particularly the scene when the people tour the old slaughterhouse. One of the participants tried to say that even though the slaughterhouse was closed in 1979, the setup and processing of animals is still the same today. This is like trying to say that the setup and processors of Apple computers are the same today as they were in 1979. This type of biased, poorly researched information about the beef industry is unfair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vegucated
Vegucated by Marisa Miller Wolfson
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.