Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Venni, Vetti, Vecci
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 2, 2002
Ja Rule, the name of the man that is on virtually every song that comes out nowadays, released this classic debut album in 1999. While his two subsequent releases aren't nearly as good as this one, the reason for that is that he was hungrier on this album. Fighting off comparisons to the gruff voiced DMX ( they sound nothing alike) and the legend Tupac Shakur ( sounds nothing like him either ), Ja Rule carved his own little niche and gaine some cult followers with this cd.
While first appearing on Jay-Z's Can I Get A... and garnering much attention for his brilliant and fresh verse, his real breakout was the single Holla Holla. This song tore up the radio and TV during the summer of 99 and was a huge hit. Face it folk the song was classic. That song alone pushed this cd to platinum status and established Ja Rule as a household name. But people looking for an album chock full of Holla Holla type songs are in for a huge surprise. Ja Rule's grimy voice and potent lyrics are very entertaining on this debut. Packed with hard street beats and an unparalleled flow and voice, Ja Rule hits the mark dead on and is at his best. Songs like Kill Em All and World's Most Dangerous are, in one word, hardcore. Let's Ride lets the bass ride out and sounds sorta like a west coast beat. Very nice. Suicide freestyle feat. Case is a masterpiece even though it is too short. Story To Tell is another street anthem as well as the collaboration with Jay-Z and DMX (then dubbed as The Murderers, but that fell apart for some reason) It's Murda was just a glimpse of what these three could do if they joined forces. E-Dub & Ja has to be the best song on the album, with Erick Sermon providing, in my opinion, one of his best beats, and he and Ja Rule ripping the track to shreds. The chorus is also a great one.
ON this album, I believe Ja Rule got pounded for the subject matter and his frequent use of the term murderer, but I believe those critics just didn't listen to the album at all. Just peep songs such as Daddy's Little Baby feat. The great Ron Isley, a song about his daughter, or Only Begotten Son, and Race Against Time. If you would listen to the lyrics, you can hear that the man has a lot to say and provides deeper lyrics than most rappers. I think this criticism is the sole reason he switched up his style but that's beside the point.
Ja Rule's debut album Venni Vetti Vecci is a classic in my book. There are no skip songs and every song is good. The only problem I have is the stupid skits which make no freaking sense. Why not just delete them altogether? Anyways, if you even slightly like Ja Rule, then you will definitely like this album. Tight beats, choruses, and lyrics. I recommend it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2000
He came,he saw,he conquered.Thats what venni vetti vecci means,and thats what ja rule has done this year.He brought to the rap world this beautifully orchestrated album for his debut realese.This cd is full of songs that will be played by dj's for years.Holla'holla is just one reason to buy this great cd.This is a 5 star title.Ja has been called a dmx wanna be.Hey anyone who is compared to the likes of dmx has to be a somebody.Ja rule has just been introduced to the world,and he has so far made a big impression.The beats and lyrics are unquestionable on this cd.Race against time is the main reason i love this cd so much.Ja rule is about family,money,drugs,and loyalship.If you have any brains ya'll go and buy this solid title right now
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2005
everybody says that ja rule is mostly pop now and thats true but this cd is hands down ja rules best work. If you like hip hop then you will not be dissipointed if you buy this album this is straight hip hop no pop music.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2000
This cd is possibly the most hard hittin album out there. Ja's voice alone is the best in rap and the way he projects it is amazing. Lyrically he's tight, the beats will cause your subwoofers to crack and i'm pretty sure every song will have u rappin' along. Enjoy... get ready for Murder Inc. (Ja Rule, DMX, Jay-Z)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2003
I cantt belive he nearly put down a classic and now hes releasing Shi* like always on time. its a shame i used to like him.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2006
Yeah, there was a time I actually liked Ja Rule and this album was that time. We Hear Now was an okay track to start off the album with. World's Most Dangerous(feat Nemesis) is good. Let's Ride has Ja rapping like Twista on the track and it wasnt a bad album. Nigguz Theme(which borrows from NWA's Efil4zaggin) is cool. The Suicide freestyle with Case is great because it shows what Ja is capable of. Holla Holla was a good first single and Murda 4 Life(feat Memphis Bleek) is a dope follow up. E-Dub And Ja(feat Erick Sermon) is dope collabo by itself. Erick Sermon and Ja did pretty good on that track. Daddy's Little Baby(feat Ron Isley) is Ja's touching tribute to his daughter and Ron Isley complimented the track well. Its Murda was a great match up which feautured DMX and Jay-z(before Ja fell out with DMX). Kill Em All also features Jay-z-- the only thing he's on the hook. Only Begotten Son is Ja ripping his father a new one for not being is his life as a kid. As for flaws I cant recall any. Bottom Line: Venni Vetti Vecci is Ja's best work to date. This is not out of spite, its out of love. Ja showed his true potetial more on this album then he ever did on his later releases. Im not mad at him for going pop, Im mad that he abandoned his fanbase out the window just to make a quick buck and put out slopy work. I could care less about him going pop. This album is reccomended to anybody who remebered him for what he was and not what he turned out to be. Standout Tracks: WORLD'S MOST DANGEROUS, LET'S RIDE, NIGGUZ THEME, SUICIDE FREESTYLE, STORY TO TELL, ITS MURDA, E-DUB AND JA, DADDY'S LITTLE BABY, RACE AGAINST TIME and ONLY BEGOTTEN SON.

PS: If you never like Ja, that's cool. If you liked him at one point than despised him for what he has become that's cool to but dont bash him just because 50 Cent made it trendy then turn around and bash 50 Cent years later. This punkdafied groupie behavior you kids chronically exhibit has got to stop!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
This is by far Ja Rule's best album and I would even say it's better than 50 Cent's debut. Some good tracks would have to be story to tell, race against time, and daddy's little baby. Should definitely pick this up if you are a fan of 90's hip hop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2003
Ja Rule , the mainstream rapper that many associate with the soft, mtv played, ... he's put out. Well believe it or not , this is an extremely good cd. If your tired of hearing the half-sung , soft rap you hear on the radio, you may think Ja Rule is the last person you'd look to buy a cd from. Venni Vetti Vecci,is Ja rules best (and not to mention ) only good contribution to the rap industry. Though Ja Rules material has gone down hill, I in no way want to discredit the original cd he was able to make.
If your looking for a good rap cd to buy , this is probably one of the best you'll find. Disregarding skits, you can play the tracks all the way through and almost everyone is worth your time. This is the style I believe Ja Rule is true to , and i'd like to see him bring it back . The album full of hot beats, and well written material , reveals the true Ja.
In conclusion if your a true rap fan , looking for something good to add to your collection , dont't miss this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2004
Ja Rule, whether you like him or not, will be one of the most unforgettable rappers of Hip-Hop history. "Venni Vetti Vecci" proves that Ja has talent. Sure it's repetitive as hell at some times, but if you listen closely, there's a sign of inspiration. "Only Begotten Son", "Race Against Time", "Daddy's Little Baby", and "Suicide Freestyle" are all examples of inspiration while the other songs will appeal to the fans of hardcore rap and club bangers. "Only Begotten Son" is my favorite song from the album. The beat is simple, yet appealing, and Ja pours his soul out, discussing how his manhood was wounded by growing up without a father. "E Dub & Ja" is a B-Boy song featuring one of the most underrated rappers in the game, Erick Sermon. The beat is smooth and both MC's show their skills on the mic. "It's Murda" features Jay-Z & DMX, who surprisingly don't outrhyme Ja at all. Black Child is another highlight of the album. He shows up on two choruses; once on "We Here Now and again on "N*ggaz Theme". He also shows up on "The Murderers" a posse cut with his fellow label rappers.

Basically, if you don't like Ja's more mainstream material these days, then check out this album because Ja has skills and this album shows it
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2006
After appearing on Jay-Z's 1998 smash hit, "Can I Get a...." off his album, "Volume 2: Hard Knock Life," Ja Rule's debut became highly anticipated. His rugged voice and flow made him stick out amongst most rappers in the New York rap scene. Signed to Irv and Chris Gotti's Murder Inc Records, Ja's debut album, "Venni Vetti Vecci" was released in Summer of 1999 spawing the hit single, "Holla Holla."

1. The March (Intro) - No Rating

2. We Here Now (Featuring Black Child) - 4.5/5

3. World's Most Dangerous (Featuring Nemesis) - 4.5/5

4. Let's Ride - 4.5/5

5. Holla Holla - 3.5/5

6. Kill 'Em All (Featuring Jay-Z) - 4/5

7. I Hate N***** (Skit) - No Rating

8. N***** Theme - 4/5

9. Suicide Freestyle (Featuring Case) - 4/5

10. Story to Tell - 4.5/5

11. Chris Black (Skit) - No Rating

12. Count on Your N**** - 4.5/5

13. It's Murda (Featuring DMX & Jay-Z) - 4.5/5

14. E-Dub & Ja (Featuring Erick Sermon) - 4.5/5

15. 187 Murda Baptiss Church (Skit) - No Rating

16. Murda 4 Life (Featuring Memphis Bleek) - 4/5

17. Daddy's Little Baby (Featuring Ronald Isley) - 4.5/5

18. Race Against Time - 4/5

19. Only Begotten Son - 5/5

20. The Murderers (Featuring Black Child & Caddillac Tah) - 4.5/5

Overall:

69/80

4.5 Stars

This a very impressive debut album from Ja Rule. He mixes up his tracks with street records along with some commercial appeal which goes nicely together. Check it out if your a fan of Ja Rule, DMX, Murder Inc or New York hip hop.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.