Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
just as described----Thank You
Published 3 months ago by Woody Cole

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LEARNING TO LOVE THE DESSERT
Rock singer Helen (Jessica Morris) and her daughter Lily (Oliviah Crawford) get stranded in the desert with homing snakes, criminals, and a bad script writer. In the subplot, the bad guys crash in a helicopter that burn with pink CG flames. One man gets shot in the back, but the wound first appears on his front shoulder. Later the wound moves to his upper arm. Likewise...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LEARNING TO LOVE THE DESSERT, June 28, 2013
This review is from: Venom (DVD)
Rock singer Helen (Jessica Morris) and her daughter Lily (Oliviah Crawford) get stranded in the desert with homing snakes, criminals, and a bad script writer. In the subplot, the bad guys crash in a helicopter that burn with pink CG flames. One man gets shot in the back, but the wound first appears on his front shoulder. Later the wound moves to his upper arm. Likewise Helen has a tourniquet on her elbow that disappears for a while. The explanation is that Helen has the smell of the dead snake she ran over on her which is why the snakes are after her, the snake she didn't touch but removed with a stick. Lily was the stereotypical girl wise beyond her years.

It is a great film to look for mistakes. It was far from interesting or entertaining. A desperation rental at Redbox.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even The Snakes Are Bored: An Exceeding Tedious "Thriller" That Isn't Even Smart Enough To Be Dumb Fun, June 7, 2013
This review is from: Venom (DVD)
The most surprising thing about the low budget survival story "Venom" is just how seriously it takes itself. It is both perplexing and a critical error. As a lover of bad movies, I almost always see the humor and fun in the biggest duds. I'm afraid, however, that "Venom" is so slow and amateurish that I can't believe it didn't strive for ANY camp value. No, it wants to be a thoughtful story about a mother and daughter surviving and bonding under treacherous conditions. But with the dialogue being truly clunky and cringe-worthy and the dangers being so preposterous and the characters being absolutely inane, there isn't much to grasp onto. It certainly isn't good and it is absolutely no fun.

For some reason, the mother (a charmless and monotone Jessica Morris) in the story is a famous singer who happens to have a drug problem. The first few minutes of the movie establish her issues in a debauched sequence of overindulging in a nightclub. Why? Who knows, it has little to do with anything. She whisks her estranged daughter (a whiny Oliviah Crawford) on a trip to a ranch where they can reconnect and get away from the pressures of the big concert tour. MY FAVORITE MOMENT: Morris asks Crawford if she wants to hear the song they worked on together and then plays a synthesized track that has no words but "oh baby." I'm sure that would pack audiences into sold out stadiums! For some reason, the ranch is in the middle of nowhere without even a paved road. They are literally driving through the middle of the desert. Morris hits a snake with the car and gets snake gut scent on her that will cause venomous snakes to travel hundreds of miles for revenge. Sound good? Only if you think watching a little snake slither across sand is enthralling.

Oh, did I mention the car has a faulty starter that wasn't fixed before this little trip? Did I mention that Morris gets frustrated when talking to her husband, so she throws her cell phone into the desert and drives off? It's stupidity layered onto stupidity while Morris looks around this desolate landscape repeating how everything looks familiar to her eagle eye (apparently she was raised in the desert when she was a child). The snakes are not scary or menacing and are badly handled. But they aren't the only danger. A drug cartel is also wandering around in the dust. But I won't spoil anything else. I'd say you have to see it for yourself, but that would be cruel of me. Again, I don't mind a dumb movie but "Venom" is also dreadfully dull. It took me three sittings to get all the way through, but I swore I'd do it! I was as persistent as a snake bent on vengeance! KGHarris, 6/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad it makes me want those minutes of my life back, November 16, 2013
By 
MGT of OC "oc film buff" (Orange County, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Venom (Amazon Instant Video)
Slow, tedious, uninteresting. No character worth caring for. Stupidity factor sets the women's movement back decades. I found myself routing for the snakes and they are not indigenous to the area, do not make bonded mates, and yet out acted the entire cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Venom wasteland., August 31, 2014
This review is from: Venom (Amazon Instant Video)
What a waste of a perfectly good blank dvd. Instead of putting this piece of sh** on it, they would have done better to just throw the blank into the trash. Completely stupid. Acting wasn't too bad but the storyline was real bad. Unbelievable. Unlikeable. The actors were atrocious playing the roles they got. Not their acting but their parts. Crap. Total unadulterated crap. Why will NF not allow us to give movies like this one a minus stars rating because this one deserves a minus 5 or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars total waste, June 30, 2014
This review is from: Venom (Amazon Instant Video)
In a universe of bad movies, this one would still stand out. The most ridiculous situations, dialogue with zero self-awareness and a story that is so beyond preposterous it is mind boggling. The story involves a snake out to kill a mom/daughter because they ran over it's mate and "it must have seen you do it" and now it's mad enough to not only follow you, but marshal an entire desert to come after you. With some Mexican drug smugglers and an old desert man thrown in for good measure. The mere fact that this piece of crap got made should offend the entire film-making industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where's the venom?, April 20, 2014
This review is from: Venom (Amazon Instant Video)
A mid career crisis mom and her daughter are pursued by mexican black kingsnakes (non venomous) after running over a mangrove snake (mildly venomous, and not indigenous to deserts). There is something about some gang, or drug runners, I think. The mom makes one brilliant decision after another. It is just bad. Even ophidiophiles should stay away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Venomous, January 28, 2014
This review is from: Venom [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
I was hoping for a silly sci-fi movie to watch with my family. Unfortunately, we didn't get past the first scene due to the fact that every other word out of the actors mouths was an f-bomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Free with Amazon Prime, December 10, 2013
This review is from: Venom [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
It was pretty good, a little slow and needed more plot. They were stranded a little to long in the desert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Better Title...wandering through the desert., November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venom (Amazon Instant Video)
This start is only because you had to put something. How anyone can screw up a snake movie is hard to believe, but they did it. Most of this movie is two people wandering through the desert with the hint of a snake following them. Boooorrrring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad movie, October 30, 2013
This review is from: Venom [HD] (Amazon Instant Video)
A total waste of time to watch- horrible. I stopped watching after 10 minutes. If I had it on DVD I would throw it in the trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Venom
Venom by Gary Breslin (DVD - 2013)
$24.95 $4.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.