Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Erotic, Funny, Dark, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
This was a powerful and sharply-crafted play, perhaps the best that I've read or seen in years. From the beginning, two characters (Vanda and Thomas) are struggling for control over themselves, each other and their situation. It moves fast, it's funny at points and has a dark undercurrent throughtout. At the end, it boils to the surface and left me breathless.

This is the perfect play for those looking for M/F scenes for acting classes, excellent for aspiring playwrights to see how to master the craft of a two person drama and wonderful for directors both novice and veteran.

I cannot recommend this play more highly. Hail, Aphrodite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous and Frightening, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
A lovely self-aware play that imagines an inverse, of sorts, on the early BDSM story Venus in Furs, David Ives captures brilliant tension and human interactions in this sexy but tasteful re-examination of sexism and power-play in culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
Explores human sexuality within the situation of role playing, in a play. It is thought provoking and stimulating. I also read the novel it is based on but that was not as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Ives, July 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
David Ives was (and probably still is) a solid name for high school performance material. Clever, witty, funny stuff. So I was surprised to learn that he wrote adult material like Venus in Fur, as well. Loved it. Want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Play, December 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
David Ives is a great writer. Reading this complete the experience after seeing the play on Broadway.
Wity text, smart setting. Read it time after time and still couldn't put it out of my hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Play., May 11, 2013
By 
S. Parry (Palo Alto, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
One of the best plays on Broadway. Saw it 3 times. Provocative, yet understanding of the male-female battle. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best show in town!, February 20, 2013
By 
Christopher D. Estes (Silver Spring, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
Nina Arianda and Hugh Dancy are wonderful! You can enjoy this if you're vanilla or chocolate. Funny, scary, brilliant turns between a character's mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating study of dominance and submission, January 11, 2013
By 
Elissa (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
Intriguing play! Vanda comes to the audition late and acts like a total airhead. Yet she somehow subtly convinces the director to allow her to read the part anyway, the first sign that she's really in charge. As they read through the play, moving back and forth from the play to their real life encounter, Vanda begins to become the dominatrix when she isn't reading. When she tells the director to call his fiancee and let her know that he isn't coming home, he obeys without protest. She mysteriously knows about his fiancee; did she really talk to her in the gym? Is she really spying on him to see if he's faithful? We never know. And is the director really enamored of the play because of its emotional intensity (as he claims) or because, in spite of being a control freak, he's a secret submissive?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A play of subtle surprises, December 9, 2011
By 
Bert Anderson (Ashland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
"Venus in Fur" a new play(2011)by David Ives, is playing on Broadway at this writing, and was given a glowing review by Charles Isherwood in the N.Y. Times -- the reason for my purchase of the script. The play is "erotic comedy," but nothing like the chord these words might strike in the imagination. The script calls for two actors, Thomas, a playwright, and Vanda, an actress, though Ives leave out the character descriptions in his cast list, or the fact that this play is an audition -- or is it? Venus is played on an inauspicious set -- "a few old metal chairs," table, clip-on lamp, a "ratty prop divan," etc., allowing the audience focus on the actors, as if you could take your eyes off them. The play itself is full of subtle surprises, the characters providing the electricity. In my mind this play is not for amatuer theater, demanding skilled directing and acting. A good read in one sitting. I hope to see "Venus in Fur" as a professional production one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the David Ives I knew before..., July 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Venus in Fur: A Play (Paperback)
I had only known Ive's "All in the Timing" comedies before reading Venus in Fur, which I read upon Nina Arianda winning the Tony. Some of the reviews on the back listed the play as a comedy, but I didn't find the play funny at all. It was clever, I liked the journey the characters went on. I thought Vanda would be a fun role to play. As someone running a community theater, I could NEVER bring this in to read even in a casual setting. I'm a 20-something theatre professional, I was completely turned off by how much the "f" bomb was used. I'm not against all vulgarity, but I felt Ives's goal was to create so much intensity and shock, but really the audience or listener becomes disinterested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Venus in Fur: A Play
Venus in Fur: A Play by David Ives (Paperback - November 30, 2011)
$15.00 $11.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.