Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush Design-Solid Content
Vera Wang on Weddings is as sumptuous and refined as the designer's dresses. From the sheer white vellum page overlays to the beautiful photographs of flower girls--including her own two adorable daughters--along with reception sites featuring shimmering pools filled with floating candles and flowers, majestic cathedrals, and of course dress after amazing dress, this a...
Published on November 13, 2001 by style court

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Quite frankly, I expected more from this book, particularly from the photos that were used. As a wedding florist, I have seen many of the photos in other publications and was disappointed at what seemed to be laziness in obtaining and creating original ideas and examples. The information is wonderful and very helpful. Vera Wang certainly knows the wedding fashion...
Published on November 13, 2001 by Kathleen Crighton Dudley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush Design-Solid Content, November 13, 2001
By 
style court (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
Vera Wang on Weddings is as sumptuous and refined as the designer's dresses. From the sheer white vellum page overlays to the beautiful photographs of flower girls--including her own two adorable daughters--along with reception sites featuring shimmering pools filled with floating candles and flowers, majestic cathedrals, and of course dress after amazing dress, this a design lover's book.
Wang shares her lifelong love of fashion and her personal experience as a bride, but she is not self-indulgent. The focus is on the splendor of brides and weddings in general. Apart from the lush pictures of her clients' weddings, there is an illustrated glossary of dress terms, and Wang offers straightforward opinions on which silhouettes flatter which figure.
Although the book addresses everything from grooms' cakes to the cocktail hour to the morning after brunch, in terms of wedding planning it is mainly an inspiration book that provides a general overview with timeless advice. While it is an excellent fashion resource, some brides may find Martha Stewart's Best of Weddings highlights a wider range of reception ideas--especially for less formal weddings--with more detailed planning tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lavish, Elegant, Stylish, Wonderful, November 19, 2001
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
This is a gorgeous book for anyone who is getting married. Naturally I was most interested to read what Vera Wang had to say on the subject of wedding gowns - and I wasn't disappointed. Every element of the gown is broken down and discussed, plus the section at the very back of the book is an invaluable resource. The photographs are exquisite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Luxurious and Elegant as Her Designs, March 7, 2002
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
This book breathes Vera Wang. The team that assembled this clearly understood her design philosophy: deceptively simple, clean lines, creative craftsmanship and of course, finest quality. The book has a large format, about 10" x 14", that showcases the glorious photos wonderfully well. It has the feel of a chic, glossy, fashion catalogue with much more of an artistic edge. For example, throughout the book, there are a few translucent vellum sheets with images of jewels, crystal goblets, or lace veils printed upon them that are beautifully superimposed over images on the following page. Very nice effect that is done occasionally on wedding invitations or programs.
Vera Wang covers not only fashion, but all aspects of wedding planning in nicely formatted, concise text that does not compete with the collages and full-page spreads that are an elegant visual testimony to her own wedding celebration as well as those of celebrities, royals and socialites. There are several familiar photographs of her gowns which were used in ads, but the layout of the book makes them feel larger than life. You can almost feel the buttery satin of an ivory gown and almost see the changing glitter of a crystal beaded bodice in the light. Her appendix includes thumbnail sketches of necklines, sleeves, skirt shapes and veils. She also includes a very practical page on tipping!
In my own planning process, this was my favorite "inspiration" book. Even if you're not getting married, looking at this book is a pleasurable experience from the great cathedral aisles to the lusciously decorated cakes. Actually, this is probably the least expensive way to immerse yourself in Vera Wang style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful coffee-table style book with some helpful info., February 13, 2003
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
As other reviewers have said, this is a gorgeous book. It's very oversized--larger even than most coffee-table style books--and has lovely pictures throughout which cover every aspect of wedding celebrations. Included, of course, are many samples of Wang's own work as a bridal gown designer as well as photos from her own wedding. As a wedding planner, however, this book is less useful. Although Wang does include her own commentary, some of which is interesting and helpful, there really isn't enough information for the book to be used as comprehensive planner. Furthermore, the organization of the book is somewhat confusing, as it does not follow a typical wedding planning chronology. Despite these issues, brides-to-be and others are likelyto enjoy this book, if only to "look at the pictures."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes Itself Helpful By Presenting Each Aspect Of A Successful Wedding In Minimalistic Sections, September 24, 2005
By 
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
This book became the Bible of a certain bride I knew when she was getting married in a VERY big service and I was one of her friends involved early on in much of the planning. We had about three other mass market wedding books as well as a hired advisor/planner but those were quickly cast aside in favor of this one. Soon more faith was placed in this book than in tomorrow's sunrise. "What's Vera say about..." became the catch-phrase of the season.

Vera Wang and her staff not only create beautiful wedding dresses, but they know the occasion of wedding from A to Z. Fair warning, this book does pre-suppose that some serious money is going to be invested in the service and reception, but for those who are planning a once in a lifetime event they want special in every way, I know of no other source I'd put more faith in than this. Everything is compartmentalized and arranged so that the important aspects merit more attention than those that can simply wait till later. I also liked the "take it easy, things will be all right" message that kept popping up almost subliminally in the little reassurances that were scattered about. Those were really appreciated by those of us who were dealing with a perpetually freaked out bride, and in a few cases, made a real difference.

I'm in favor of something more minimalist when it comes to weddings, but for those who want an elaborate service and don't mind spending a lot of money to get it, then this is a book that prove worthwhile more times than you'll be able to count.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who expect the best, January 4, 2002
By 
"vmayfiel" (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for those who enjoy weddings and the celebration that surrounds them. Ms. Wang not only provides a detailed description of the perfect wedding but also shares her insight on receptions, invitations, guest lists, flowers and bridal jewelry. The second half of the book is devoted to the construction of wedding finery and gives the reader a glimpse into the House of Vera Wang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, November 13, 2001
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
Quite frankly, I expected more from this book, particularly from the photos that were used. As a wedding florist, I have seen many of the photos in other publications and was disappointed at what seemed to be laziness in obtaining and creating original ideas and examples. The information is wonderful and very helpful. Vera Wang certainly knows the wedding fashion industry quite well. But, if you are looking for fresh, new ideas and have a large selection of wedding guides in your collection, you will see lots of overlap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vera Wang has outdone herself again and again..., October 29, 2001
By 
Thomas Bui (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
As an event designer, Ms. Wang's book is the most thorough, simple and elegant book I have ever read pertaining to the topic of weddings. She has covered all the important topics that every bride is curious to know. I enjoyed reading every page and admired every picture. The book was so good that I'd finished it in one sitting. Since then, I'm still admiring the book and have re-read all the topics 5 times. She is an amazing designer to say the least. Ms. Wang is no doubt the leader in the wedding gown design industry. A must have for every bride-to-be to read and enjoy before her wedding day. Everything about the book is elegant and chic, just like the clothes she designs. Ms. Wang, you are uncomparable!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M Paul, November 13, 2001
By 
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
What a fitting tribute to a classic American designer. Vera Wang has forever changed the way we see our brides with her elegant and graceful designs. It's wonderful to see that someone still believes in the glamour and whimsey that accompanies, what for many people, is the most beautiful expression of love. The photography is a marvel and the cover is surely bound to turn heads. It begs the question of who is the woman under the veil and leads to this next: Who took the cover photo? I was saddened to not find the credit for this extraordinary photo and feel that someone should get credit for this wonderful piece of art. All in all this will grace many coffee tables of the would be, soon to be and already betrothed of this land. A beautiful addition to anyone's collection, that triumphantly speaks to the magic of a wedding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant Fabulousness, September 14, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vera Wang On Weddings (Hardcover)
Beautifully presented... a wonderful showcase of blissfully simple yet incredibly elegant gowns... also features glimpses into fabulous famous brides & their weddings.... very inspirational & truly lovely ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vera Wang On Weddings
Vera Wang On Weddings by Vera Wang (Hardcover - November 1, 2001)
$65.00 $46.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.