Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best the "The Best Of"
This title is one of the best the "The Best Of" compilations I've ever heard. I own other "best of" CDs but they usually deliver the commercial songs of the band or artist. I don't really know if it's due to the fact that Budgie was not a commercial blast, but this CD shows the essence of the band and is certainly a very good acquisition for anyone who...
Published on January 21, 2003 by Marcelo Martins M. Costa

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Memory is merciful
Had a few Budgie records in my collection when I grew up. No when I listen to them 25 years (or so) later it's not that good anymore. "Parents" is worth to move to your iPod though.
Published on November 5, 2006 by Per G. Olsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best the "The Best Of", January 21, 2003
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
This title is one of the best the "The Best Of" compilations I've ever heard. I own other "best of" CDs but they usually deliver the commercial songs of the band or artist. I don't really know if it's due to the fact that Budgie was not a commercial blast, but this CD shows the essence of the band and is certainly a very good acquisition for anyone who likes true hard rock / heavy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent intro to Budgie's output, August 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
They may not have been Zeppelin, but they could rock! This album is a good overview of the three albums it covers, but to really appreciate Budgie at their raw, rockin' best, you should get the first, eponymous album - it's basic and brilliant! That said, you should BUY THIS NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at the rockpile, January 8, 2002
By 
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
Ive been working in the entertainment business for year's(live sound)and had the extreme pleasure of working with budgie back in the 70's.the best of budgie disc is a great representation of songs they wre playing then.THIS BAND is straight ahead no frill's kick [butt] rock at it's finest,and this disc showcases there talent nicely.
...n fan forever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Budgie still rocks, October 27, 2007
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
I haven't listen to any Budgie since the late 70's, not long ago my 13yr. old daughter was listening to Metallica's remake of Breadfan, I'd forgotten how Budgie rips so I pulled out the old LP's put on the Best of and enjoyed the great selection of songs! If your a Budgie fan this is a good representation on of early Budgie tunes. My daughter thinks it rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crash Course in Budgie, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
Speaking of Crash Courses, where the hell is Crash Course in Brain Surgery?

Despite that obvious omission (prob due to copyright issues), this disc does include Breadfan, with its intricately picked rhythm guitar in all its original glory. Metallica's 1988 cover version is probably better, but the 1973 (1973!) original is still a classic of proto-speed metal. And if you listen closely to the intro of Breadfan, especially at the first drum beat, it's obvious "Welcome to the Jungle" (and GNRs entire brief career) owes a HUGE debt of gratitude to this song.

Also recommended: Typefitter's Hand; I Can't See My Feelings; I Ain't No Mountain; & Napoleon.

Check these guys out. This Best Of collection is an underrated gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Just Wow!, January 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
Well I feel almost ashamed as a Metal fan for not having listened to this group MUCH sooner! Their music (atleast the early stuff) is phenomonal. I know it's been mentioned before that they were an influence on Metallica, and listingeing to a few songs here it's blairingly apparent why! Breadfan reminds me much of the setup for "Master Of Puppets" (though Metallica also covered this song on "Garage Inc.").
The lead singer is a bit nazally and highstrung, but considering some of the other early acts of the time (Ozzy in Sabbath) this wasn't that odd. But the guy here really can deliver lyrics in a special way. They are always exciting and clear, and often border between bizzaar and just plain creepy ("baby lying in a womb, are you free or in a tomb?).
If their other albums weren't all upwards of $20, you bet I'd be snatching them up too. Though I understand they fell to the deadly foe of metal that was 80s commercialism, all the stuff on this CD is solid. And for the life of me, I don't know why I "Aint No Mountain" wasn't a Billboard chart topper. It's the poppiest and most easily accessable of the bunch. Breadfan is just a speed demon of a song, a slug fest of lyrics and guitar. Parents is, as mentioned before, epic. "Breaking All The House Rules" and "Hammer and Tongs" had a surprising blues feel to them, for a metal band, but were pretty awesome too! I highly advise any fan of metal and hard rock to pick this up! It's a true classic and a treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately not an Onion Budgie (Bhajie), December 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
This is a trip down memory lane for me. Saw this band in Birmingham England when Bandolier came out in 1975. Never thought I would hear Napoleon B 1 and 2 on DVD. Well the're all available now and this taster presents a good cross section of their work. They were a very underated band. Good solid classic rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS SHOULD RUFFLE A FEW FEATHERS, December 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
Very few compilations deliver as well as this one but it's hardly a career-spanning epic, that said the ten songs featured, representing three albums from the mid seventies, clock up an amazing seventy minutes of raw, hard rock from a band sadly overlooked, under-rated and often ignored.

It must be stated that Budgie existed before Led Zep and around the same time as Cream but like many UK regional bands suffered the ignominy of London record companies. Budgie, Taste and Stud all had similar experiences of low profile marketing and low budget recording deals. The comparisons often levelled pale in light of this.

This album kick starts with "Breadfan" and maintains the momentum with "In The Grip of a Tyre-fitter's Hand". It's enough to reel the listener in and apart from an attempt at a single, Andy Fairweather-Low's 'I Ain't No Mountain', the album offers some truly great moments in arguably Budgie's best period. All ten minutes of 'Parents' and the epic 'Zoom Club' too, not to mention Napoleon Bona Parts I & II. Shelly's vocals may be an aquired taste but they work in this framework along with some amazing guitar from Tony Bourge. Drum duties are split between Ray Phillips and Pete Boot but I defy anyone to spot the difference.

Highly recommended especially to casual listeners, real fans would have all this material already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Budgie great band, June 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
budgie was a great British rock band, his music is brilliant, recommended for lovers of classic rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superlative hard rock collection, October 22, 2007
This review is from: Very Best of (Audio CD)
i like hard rock selectively - i generally buy compilations unless - there are superlative individual albums - like paranoid or machine head or led zep 2.

i bought this collection over getting bandolier individually and was pleasantly surprised.

superlative!!!

breadfan, in the grip ... (what a dramatic riff at the end), napolean bonaparte, parents are all standout tracks!

i think the band would have been more successful if they had been lucky to find a great guitarist - like page or blackmore or iommi or rhoads.

when i bought this this was pretty much the only disk i listened to for 2 months! and predictably i tired of it (as you will with any album). but for that two months it was great.

i enjoyed it so much that i bought an extra two for a couple of friends - it seemed the natural thing to do given that the cd was so cheap.

i now occasinally listen to this and enjoy it.

get it man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Very Best of
Very Best of by Budgie (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.