Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her May The Best Garden Be Yours Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now DOTD

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
on October 24, 2010
I am a fan of Ms. Shulman's recipes from the NY Times. My wife and I have always been impressed with the simplicity and healthiness of the ingredients. While we are not vegetarians, the recipes in this book are meatless, but some use fish. For want of a better description, they tend to be Mediterranean in style. I recommend especially the red beet with Greek yogurt recipe. We have found the yogurt sauce, which is heavily flavored with fresh garlic and dill, to be useful on many other veggies and even as a spread of its own. It can be kept safely in the refrigerator for several days. I recommend this book to anyone interested in healthy and easy to prepare dishes.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
on October 12, 2010
I have enjoyed a number of Ms. Shulman's recipes in the New York Times, and that prompted the book purchase. After a quick read-through, there seem to be a number of typo's. In the first recipe I tried for carrot salad, the ingredient list calls for 2 TBS olive or canola oil followed by 2 TBS olive oil... And In the couscous section, the pointer to more couscous recipes is labeled "artichoke" recipes. Aside from poor editing, I plan to try many of the recipes.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on May 2, 2012
The Very Best of Recipes for Health:
250 Recipes and More from the Popular Feature on
By Martha Rose Shulman
Photography by Andrew Scrivani

A review by Marty Martindale, Editor,

This is a beautiful cookbook written by a proven food veteran, and her healthy offerings are very appealing!

Here's a summary of several we like:

Shulman adds parsley, red bell pepper, tomatoes, red onion kalamata olives and feta cheese.

This calls for wine vinegar, Dijon mustard, garlic, black pepper, olive oil. Yukon Gold potatoes, black pepper, red onion, parsley, goat cheese and sage leaves.

Olive oil, onion, garlic, barley, stock, cornstarch, yogurt, cilantro and lemon juice

Cauliflower, olive oil, thyme, garlic, goat cheese, milk and bread crumbs

Corn, garlic, chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, mayonnaise and Greek-style yogurt

Russet potatoes, kale, milk, green onions and olive oil

Baked sweet potatoes, apples, yogurt, butter and honey

Water-packed tuna, olive oil, garlic, parsley, tomato sauce, red0pepper flakes, black olives, farfalle pasta and Parmesan cheese

Butter, olive oil, leeks, sage leave s, kale, buckwheat pasta, Parmesan and Fontina cheese

Asparagus, eggs, milk, parsley, herbs, Parmesan cheese and olive oil

Tortillas, tomatoes, chile peppers, garlic, onion, canola oil, eggs, cilantro and queso fresco

Chickpeas, bay leaf, olive oil, onion, bell pepper, garlic, tomatoes, thyme and red pepper flakes

Black beans, canola oil, cumin seeds, chili powder, tomato sauce, grated sharp Cheddar, tortillas, chopped walnuts (optional), cilantro, salsa fresca

Olive oil, celery and its leaves, garlic, tomato sauce, parsley and lemon juice.

Shrimp, olive oil, paprika, garlic, bay leaf, dried red chile pepper and parsley

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on August 31, 2011
I have been trying out recipes by Martha Rose Shulman from her NY Times column and was so pleased with them that I decided to buy the book. It does not disappoint. What I like about the book is the "whole food" recipes are healthy without being committed to any one diet. There is a little something for everyone and they have been clearly labeled vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, etc. It is not, however, for meat eaters. There is one chapter in the book that has fish and poultry recipes, which is perfect for me, but may not satisfy red meat lovers.

In the book she explains different foods, their health benefits, and tells you which healthy staples to keep on hand in your pantry, refrigerator and freezer. The recipes are clearly written, tips and techniques are included (e.g., tips on stir frying), and the pictures make the food look so appealing I almost don't know where to start. As someone who is just getting into healthy, whole foods, this book has been a terrific introduction to healthy eating!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on November 29, 2011
I've bought a lot of cookbooks in my day, but this is a favorite. Overall, I find Shulman's recipes to be the perfect mix of healthy and delicious. This isn't tasteless diet food--it's food that's about enjoying fresh ingredients and flavors without covering them up with excessive salt or fat. Unlike Cooking Light and some other healthy recipe sources, she's usually realistic about how much salt, cheese, etc. a recipe needs and what size serving a normal adult person might eat, so you know what you're getting into in terms of servings/calories/sodium when you look at the nutritional information.

I've only had this book for a month, and I already have about a half-dozen recipes that are on my "repeat list." Many are fast and simple enough for weeknight dinners (unless you're allergic to chopping and using a few different pots). Things like making simmered beans are reserved for the weekends, but Shulman usually provides helpful notes about what can be prepped ahead of time, how to store, and how long leftovers last in the refrigerator/freezer. All her notes on storage, substitutions, etc. are helpful and realistic--if she tells you to do something the long way, there's probably a good reason for it.

The book has a great index and is well-organized into sections including breakfast, salads, soups, simple vegetables, pastas and grains, veggie entrees, and a final chapter on fish/poultry. As others have mentioned, this is not a book for someone who believes every meal has to include meat. But for the vegetarian and the veggie-friendly, this is a keeper.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on October 21, 2010
I have always enjoyed looking for Martha Rose Shulman's recipes in the NY times and now many of them are all in one place. Her recipes are clear, concise and delicious. I really enjoy this book and the information it contains.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 25, 2013
The recipes are well thought out and carefully explained, but this is not your typical cookbook. It is more about getting back to a more healthy lifestyle, starting with healthy, whole foods. The receips are very tasty and the author is skilled in the art of teaching without preaching. The world would be a better place if more people would cook this way.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2010
This is a very well written and illustrated book which is a compendium of the fine pieces from the NY Times with a lot of extra worthwile information on the food value and the nutritional value of the recipes .
It bears the mark of a knowledgeable , skilled and practical intelligence .
I have not only used it with profit, I have used it as a gift that has been much appreciated
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 23, 2012
So far, the recipes I have tried have been very good. She is right--after you make the salmon her way, you won't go back to any other.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2013
I do a lot of cooking, but I rarely add a new cookbook to my collection, because I have so many of them already. However this book is well worth it, there are so many great recipes and ideas in here. It is mainly, but not completely vegetarian. Most of the recipes use common and inexpensive ingredients that are also good for you. Martha Rose Shulman also has a cooking column in the New York Times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Fast Vegetarian Feasts
Fast Vegetarian Feasts by Martha Rose Shulman (Paperback - November 1, 1986)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.