Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even funnier than the first one!
I'd been trying to track down this hilarious sequel for a long time and randomly found it marked down to $5.50 at Target last week. A fan of the first one, but I have to say the sequel's even funnier. I'm not sure why. Maybe because of the scene with Alice and Roy (Tim Matheson) when Alice puts the mushrooms she finds in his bag in his dinner and he completely trips out...
Published on August 21, 2006 by SuperJenn

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh My God, I'm Tripping With The Bradys
Pretty funny film, I must admit. One of the best scenes is on the plane to Hawaii when Greg (Johnny Bravo)Brady picks up his guitar & breaks out into a song. In another five seconds, the passengers would have handed him a parachute & shown him to the emergency exit.

True, the critics trashed this film, but hey..this IS a Brady Bunch movie, not 'Citizen Kane.'...
Published on August 25, 2007 by J. E. Monaghan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh My God, I'm Tripping With The Bradys, August 25, 2007
Pretty funny film, I must admit. One of the best scenes is on the plane to Hawaii when Greg (Johnny Bravo)Brady picks up his guitar & breaks out into a song. In another five seconds, the passengers would have handed him a parachute & shown him to the emergency exit.

True, the critics trashed this film, but hey..this IS a Brady Bunch movie, not 'Citizen Kane.' It's not something you watch for social commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even funnier than the first one!, August 21, 2006
By 
SuperJenn (South Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Very Brady Sequel (DVD)
I'd been trying to track down this hilarious sequel for a long time and randomly found it marked down to $5.50 at Target last week. A fan of the first one, but I have to say the sequel's even funnier. I'm not sure why. Maybe because of the scene with Alice and Roy (Tim Matheson) when Alice puts the mushrooms she finds in his bag in his dinner and he completely trips out. Whatever the case, pure cheesy entertainment awaits you with A Very Brady Sequel. Just like in the first one, the world has changed all around the Brady's, but the Brady's are very much the same. In this movie however, Carol's supposedly deceased husband Roy comes back into their lives, explaining that he didn't die in his archaeological adventures a few years back and had been hanging on to the hope that his wife Carol and their daughters, Cindy, Jan & Marsha would be there waiting for him. But Roy isn't who he seems...he's really Roy's evil assistant using Roy's name after his death to get to this horse statue the real Roy sent to Carol for safekeeping before he died. "Roy" is just out to get this horse, worth millions of dollars. The Brady's initially welcome him in, as per grand Brady tradition. But soon they find out there's more to "Roy" than they thought. The whole movie is just plain silly, but great because of that. If you enjoyed making fun of the Brady's as you grew up and you're in need of mindless entertainment, this sequel is for you. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must see for Brady fans, October 3, 2007
This review is from: A Very Brady Sequel (DVD)
Another of the rare breed of sequels-better-than-the-original movies, A Very Brady Sequel continues with the idea of the 70's Brady's being stuck in the present (in this case, the mid-90's) from the first film. While the original movie was very funny (grunge music nonwithstanding), the total lack of a plot was a pretty obvious hole.

This time around we're actually treated to a decent storyline (as relative as can be to the entire Brady aura, that is) involving Mrs. Brady's first, long-lost husband, Roy. This adds a whole additional avenue for laughs as we now have an straight outsider thrust directly into the everyday realm of the Bradys. As he tries to enact his nefarious scheme, he's dragged kicking and screaming through their loopy antics, breakout songs and Mr. Brady's lectures.

The same Brady cast returns and they're as spot-on as ever. A bulk of the laughs continue to go to insecure Jan, as she tries to convince everyone she's a viable person. A new "incest" angle is introduced between Greg and Marcia ("Does this mean we're not really brother and sister?") that plays very well throughout. Tim Matheson is an excellent addition as Roy Brady, and he gets some scene stealing parts as well, particularly when he ends up "tripping with the Bradys".

While Sam seems to have disappeared in this one, we do see a couple of other Brady icons who seemed to have been missed in the first movie, though blink and you'll miss them. Surprisingly no real-life cameos in this one.

As with the first movie, the more familiar you are with the TV series the more you will enjoy this movie. If you've never watched the Bradys then you'll probably want to skip these movies as most of the laughs are derived from inside references to the episodes, but if you have, then this is highly recommended and one of my faves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than the first, May 2, 2002
By 
Kindle Customer "Pimmy" (LINDENHURST, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
I must say when I first heard about the Brady Bunch having a movie, I thought.....why ? But after seeing it, I was pleasantly surprised at how they poked fun at the innocence of the family. I found it clever how they put them in the 90's with the same woredrobes and attitudes they had in the tv show. The original throws in unexpected gags and inside jokes that, for instance, the next door neighbor is attracted to all the Brady boys and would obvious take advantage of one if she could, Marsha is full of herself and the guys don't only want her but some girls do too, lol. Oh plus Jan is just a Psycho, lol.
With all that said, now to the squel, it takes all those little things and improves on them. For instance there's a sick relationship between Marsha and Greg involving where they start finding themselves attracted to each other. Which in itself offers some pretty funny scenes. Tim Matheson (Animal House, 1941) is a good improvement to the sequel as Mr.s Bradie's so called missing husband. The best scene with him is when Alice mistakes his bag of swooms for just playing mushrooms and puts them in his spegetti. That's a funny scene but it probably would of been funnier if the Bradies ate some too, lol.
Well in all the Brady Bunch movies aren't exactly like the tv show .....obviously, which makes them more enjoyable, especially this sequel. Now if only they would get released on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, cheesy, funny movie!, January 14, 2011
By 
Owen Dyer "Owen" (York, Maine United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Brady Sequel (DVD)
This is just a great, cheesy, and very funny movie! The director has taken all of the "stand-out" moments in the original series and uses them in the movie with big tongue-in-cheek finesse! Bravo! Even better than the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superior sequel- still hilarious, November 7, 2002
From the amazing success of it's predecessor, it wasn't long before a sequel emerged. A VERY BRADY SEQUEL still proves to be hilarious if not better than the original. The sequel delves deeper into the Brady theme. Sexual tabboes are explored such as the idea that went through all our heads at one stage- is it possible for Greg and Marcia to have a relationship. The sexual tension between the two is hilarious and leaves us with a will they won't they idea which of course keeps the movie interesting. Unlike the first, the sequel introduces corny 70's expressions such as 'outta sight...neato..' which sound incredibly stupid yet funny at the same time.
Again,the plot proves to be fairly mundane yet it doesn't seem to matter. Carol's supposed ex husband returns to be re-united with her and her childred. However, what this conman really wants is a priceless horse sculpture worth a lot of money. Can the Brady's foil the imposter and stop him?
Hilarious must see film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars for This???? Yeah!, April 18, 2001
By A Customer
The critics are right, in that this film is superiour to the first Brady Bunch movie. You have to understand going into this the premise that in these films, our world is current, but the Brady household is still stuck in the 1970s, wearing the clothing, speaking the slang, singing the music, and thinking the same types of thoughts as the characters in the TV series. This movie, however, moves a step beyond the first one, which, while well-done, was essentially a one-joke film, namely the premise described above. Here, we start to explore things. Greg and Marcia aren't REALLY brother and sister, and didn't Barry Williams and Maureen McCormick act like there was something going on between them? Hmmm. The film explores that. This film is also superior to the first in that the world of the now surrounding the Bradys this time is even more repulsive than in the first, in terms of the scam artist played by Tim Matheson, posing as Carol's first husband. RuPaul as the high school guidance counselor? (A carryover from the first film.) There is a lot to spell out the differences between the Bradys and the world of the 1990s. As with the first film, don't look at this for some great statement (though in essence, it DOES have a very profound subtext), sit back and enjoy the show. Enjoy the musical numbers, too. This film gives the Brady kids more of an opportunity to belt out those same songs of Greg's. And if you're too well-versed in television, you'll even recognize elements from "The Brady Kids" cartoon series in one key comedy segment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far out, man! Groovy flick!, August 4, 2001
By A Customer
A Very Brady Sequel isn't exactly what I'd call Oscar material, but it's good for just a few (actually, many) laughs with your best buds. Shelley Long and Gary Cole are back as the always cheerful, let's-work-things-out-together kind of parents as Mr. and Mrs. Brady. The kids from the first movie are also back as their original characters, and so is Alice.
In this hilarious sequel, everything is just perfectly normal in the Brady household until a man comes to the house claiming to be Mrs. Brady's first husband. But secretly, he's really after a valuable horse statue in their home. Of course, the Brady gang believes him and invites him to stay for awhile. Then, when they are really starting to get to know each other, the man reveals who he really is, kidnaps Mrs. Brady, and takes her out to Hawaii where he is supposed to sell the horse statue! And of course, the rest of the Bradys go after her...
I think this is just as good as the first Brady movie. Both were pretty good. There is a smarter script to the Brady sequel, too. And Jan gets a boyfriend! Greg and Marcia also start feeling affection for each other, too. This is wicked funny and I recommend it for anybody who loved the TV series or the first movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Brady Bunch Review, November 28, 1999
By 
A Very Brady Sequel is a funny spoof of the shows premeired on television in the 70's. It features the bradys living in the 90's, but stuck in the 70's. Such as when a soliciter calls up offering the family cable service, Mr. Brady says: "So, you're saying I can connect a wire to my TV and in will come 50 channels? I don't think so, good bye." The main event of the movie is when Mrs. Brady's old husband comes back. Really, he is an imposter but the bradys do not notice. When he whisks Mrs. Brady off to Hawaii, Mr. Brady decides to teach him a lesson on kindness. This is a funny movie and good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gotta see sequel! The Bradys are back in business baby!!!!, June 6, 2003
A Kid's Review
I saw this movie at a last day of school party night. I saw the first movie earlier and this one was awesome as the first! More pure action and adventure. Excitement, huge comedy, What Do You Get????????????????? A VERY BRADY SEQUEL!!!!!!!!!! I demand this should be #1 on your I gotta see sequel list. Seeing how Alice looked ( Made me go off my feet) and the special scene with I Dream of Jeanie at the end was a kick in the movie meter! This movie so cool as the first I hope they make A Very Brady Sequel, Sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Very Brady Sequel
A Very Brady Sequel by Arlene Sanford (DVD - 2003)
$13.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.