Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read~ Even If You Aren't A Tramp
The Miss Manners for the modern girl...or her trampy friend. Where "Miss Manners Guide to Excruciatingly Correct Behavior" will teach you how to properly dissect a fish under social conditions, "Very Classy" is geared more towards the more humors side of social conundrums. Written as more of a homage to his classy friends, Derek is positive, sharp and tactful when...
Published on November 13, 2011 by Harrisarol

versus
49 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Very Classy" is Anything But
For an author who claims to understand and promote manners, "Very Classy" is shockingly devoid of them. It is a good clue to the supposed classiness of this book that the premise is based on designating grown women "girls" and "tramps" -- it is even on the title page. It begins with a tiring monologue of blatant self-promotion, peppered with insults, and the rest of the...
Published on January 31, 2012 by j


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Very Classy" is Anything But, January 31, 2012
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
For an author who claims to understand and promote manners, "Very Classy" is shockingly devoid of them. It is a good clue to the supposed classiness of this book that the premise is based on designating grown women "girls" and "tramps" -- it is even on the title page. It begins with a tiring monologue of blatant self-promotion, peppered with insults, and the rest of the book unfortunately follows suit. The author's apparent association with famous people of poise does nothing to improve his credibility; money and fame have little to do with grace. He mocks women (both "victorian" and "slutty", in his words) with nasty remarks, and includes photos of himself hanging all over ladies of the red carpet that do little to charm or entertain.

Mr. Blasberg repeatedly insists that a woman's way to "classiness," by which he means mannerliness, is through the material and the superficial. The very first sentence of the first chapter emphasizes the importance of the way a woman looks to other people and the importance of fashion rather than character. Any advice actually pertaining to manners are so obvious the reader could pick it up in almost any other etiquette-related text. Preferably one that does not insult under the guise of humor. Classy indeed.

This book is style over substance, the very opposite of mannerly behavior, and a good dose of gentlemanliness on the part of the author would go a long way to save it. Perhaps we should start with concerning ourselves over whether a woman is gracious, rather than teasing out whether or not she is wearing underwear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, April 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I did not enjoy this book, in fact I found it so uninteresting that i have put it down and do not intend to finish it. Without wanting to be too negative in my review I will just say this - there are so many wonderful books out there to read, this unfortunately is not one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense..., April 5, 2012
By 
Rose Gaylen (Urbana, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
The contents of this book, while presented in a fun way is mostly common sense. Unfortunately, and in Blasberg's favor, most young girls these seem to be without this sense. It's ideal for the 13-18 year old, someone 'cool' to tell them no you should not wear those awful pajamas to school, and please do something other than pile your hair in a rat's nest on top of your head.

I liked reading it without taking it too seriously... it's obviously meant to be humorous. What prevents it from being a really good book, that is, a bit less obnoxious, is that the author uses it as a platform to shamelessly show off the number of celebs and models that he knows, and the parties he goes to. However if you are as well-mannered and elegant as he is, and coaches you to be, than maybe, just maybe, you'll be invited in with this crowd too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read~ Even If You Aren't A Tramp, November 13, 2011
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
The Miss Manners for the modern girl...or her trampy friend. Where "Miss Manners Guide to Excruciatingly Correct Behavior" will teach you how to properly dissect a fish under social conditions, "Very Classy" is geared more towards the more humors side of social conundrums. Written as more of a homage to his classy friends, Derek is positive, sharp and tactful when broaching the subject of: always wearing undergarments in photographs and giving your trampy friend a thesaurus for her birthday.
By the end of this book you will surely feel that Derek is your new GBF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How-to-Guide, January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
Derek Blasberg's "Very Classy" gets my vote!
If don't know your water glasses from your wine, or you believe menstrual cycles are appropriate cocktail conversation then read on. I'll admit, I always wondered why wasn't there a how-to book given at birth to girls and boys with their jabs. Socializing is an art, dressing the part, behaving with dignity, communicating with grace, being well groomed, allowing to project your own style and behaving well are taken for granted. Derek Blasberg has taken his Hollywood, fashion and culture knowledge and cramed it in neat little package called ''Classy''. This is a now-to guide when your girlfriends aren't availible and mothers rules of etiquette wouldn't be well received in modern day world. (nobody kisses girl's hands anymore, and nobody objects to you wearing dark eyeshadow at 20).

Now, of course, Derek being De-rek ( and I followed his career for a long time now) would include countless list of his celeb friends as supporting pillars of society and to model those who aren't. This works well to project his views to the best qualified, dignified and personified ways possible. I don't object to good marketing standards or open ambition. I don't sing empty praises, either. This little black book should be a compulsory read starting at 15 (and hidden among other books for later on in life, as a little reminder). Not much to be learned there some may say, but then again, was common sense ever guaranteed later in life?

The best part of the book is the blunt, easy-to-use and well structured how-to approach to life. Think of it as small, tiny reminder of manners and good sense. This shows how to serve life with a panache and win socially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Info, July 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
This book is great, so funny and informational. Derek's wit keeps you wanting more and wondering what will be covered next. Every question you want to ask but are afraid to ask is addressed. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same as the first, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The exact same as the first one; if you read it already do not waste your money or your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy it is!, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
Derek Blasberg speaks the truth, and I'm speaking from the generation of girls and young women who think that being bent over in the club gets you a committed man (HA!). He's sarcastic and funny, and I love how he gives you examples of what to do and/or what to wear for every occasion. There are so many girls out there that think by following the latest skanky trend makes them classy, when it really doesn't. The comparison pictures of classy vs. skanky are hilarious! And even though I may not be a completely classy woman, I suggest this good read to every woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERY GIRL MUST READ!!, November 15, 2011
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book! The wit and charm in Derek's writing is extremely amusing. I had a hard time putting this book down! All modern women should read this how to guide!! I know a few ladies I will be gifting this wonderful book to for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady (Paperback)
great advice for any lady of any age. Explains a lot about how people perceive you by the way your dress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady
Very Classy: Even More Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady by Derek Blasberg (Paperback - October 13, 2011)
$17.99 $12.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.