Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 31, 2012
For an author who claims to understand and promote manners, "Very Classy" is shockingly devoid of them. It is a good clue to the supposed classiness of this book that the premise is based on designating grown women "girls" and "tramps" -- it is even on the title page. It begins with a tiring monologue of blatant self-promotion, peppered with insults, and the rest of the book unfortunately follows suit. The author's apparent association with famous people of poise does nothing to improve his credibility; money and fame have little to do with grace. He mocks women (both "victorian" and "slutty", in his words) with nasty remarks, and includes photos of himself hanging all over ladies of the red carpet that do little to charm or entertain.

Mr. Blasberg repeatedly insists that a woman's way to "classiness," by which he means mannerliness, is through the material and the superficial. The very first sentence of the first chapter emphasizes the importance of the way a woman looks to other people and the importance of fashion rather than character. Any advice actually pertaining to manners are so obvious the reader could pick it up in almost any other etiquette-related text. Preferably one that does not insult under the guise of humor. Classy indeed.

This book is style over substance, the very opposite of mannerly behavior, and a good dose of gentlemanliness on the part of the author would go a long way to save it. Perhaps we should start with concerning ourselves over whether a woman is gracious, rather than teasing out whether or not she is wearing underwear.
22 comments|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2013
I did not enjoy this book, in fact I found it so uninteresting that i have put it down and do not intend to finish it. Without wanting to be too negative in my review I will just say this - there are so many wonderful books out there to read, this unfortunately is not one of them.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
I purchased this book along with Classy and was extremely disappointed by both. If you are thinking of purchasing both don't. Either buy one, the other, or neither. If you MUST buy one, get whichever is cheaper. Very Classy is literally Classy with five extra pages. As for the content I was also disappointed. My recommendation would be to not buy this book unless you are trying to go from "everything that's wrong with our youth today" to simply a decent, common sense person.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
The contents of this book, while presented in a fun way is mostly common sense. Unfortunately, and in Blasberg's favor, most young girls these seem to be without this sense. It's ideal for the 13-18 year old, someone 'cool' to tell them no you should not wear those awful pajamas to school, and please do something other than pile your hair in a rat's nest on top of your head.

I liked reading it without taking it too seriously... it's obviously meant to be humorous. What prevents it from being a really good book, that is, a bit less obnoxious, is that the author uses it as a platform to shamelessly show off the number of celebs and models that he knows, and the parties he goes to. However if you are as well-mannered and elegant as he is, and coaches you to be, than maybe, just maybe, you'll be invited in with this crowd too.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
I found this book while I read a magazine ( In stlye USA), There are many recommedation about this " great book of style all the time"( let them say)

Unfortunatly this book is not for the those who look fotr the styling guide( this" classy: mean here is lifestyle not fashion style) more like but certainly give some ideas about how to manage a life without look messy.
But still the style suggest by this book is too posh in my taste which generally very high standard(let say how many time we are invited black tie party with ball gown? or how many of us having a dress call "almost bare, not totally naked?")

If you looking for the classic life style guide book this book is for you but if you lookig for a book about classic style, please try others
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
If you read Classy by Derek Blasberg and you were super excited to get Very Classy, don't be. It's pretty much the exact same book with just a little bit more material.. on top of that the new material is kind of annoying because he's basically just name dropping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
The exact same as the first one; if you read it already do not waste your money or your time.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
Light hearted and funny, a bit superficial but entertaining and helpful at the same time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2011
The Miss Manners for the modern girl...or her trampy friend. Where "Miss Manners Guide to Excruciatingly Correct Behavior" will teach you how to properly dissect a fish under social conditions, "Very Classy" is geared more towards the more humors side of social conundrums. Written as more of a homage to his classy friends, Derek is positive, sharp and tactful when broaching the subject of: always wearing undergarments in photographs and giving your trampy friend a thesaurus for her birthday.
By the end of this book you will surely feel that Derek is your new GBF.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
one of the best books i have read. it is unbelievable how many mistakes women do on their everyday behaviour. if a woman wants to improve her appearance and behaviour, it is a very good read. if you believe you are perfect and do not want to change anything with yourself, do not buy it as you will not follow any of the advice anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse