Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Dirty Christmas Classic!!!
This movie was a lot better than I was expecting. It's dirty, raunchy, hilarious and will put you right in the Christmas mood. You don't need to re-watch the first two movies to understand this new one. They spoof the claymation genre as a tribute to the classic Christmas specials we grew up with. They give a dirty twist to that infamous scene from 'A Christmas...
Published on December 24, 2011 by Pumpkin Man

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars funny in the way all harold & kumar movies are funny
While this movie is trying to show a grown up version of the Harold & Kumar, not much has changed for the two guys. It's the same jokes, the same issues, the same solutions. If you like the previous Harold & Kumar movies, you'll enjoy this one. But it may not be as funny as the past films.
Published 21 months ago by E. Hu


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Dirty Christmas Classic!!!, December 24, 2011
This movie was a lot better than I was expecting. It's dirty, raunchy, hilarious and will put you right in the Christmas mood. You don't need to re-watch the first two movies to understand this new one. They spoof the claymation genre as a tribute to the classic Christmas specials we grew up with. They give a dirty twist to that infamous scene from 'A Christmas Story'

Harold and Kumar aren't hanging out anymore and have new best friends with new lives. When Kumar receives a package meant for Harold, he takes it to him, and that's when the chaos begins. Throughout Christmas Eve night, they must find the perfect Christmas tree, deal with the Russian Mafia, befriend a robotic waffle-maker, and ride with Santa Claus in his sleigh. If you love dirty raunchy movies and Christmas movies, this is the perfect blend for you. I highly recommend A VERY HAROLD & KUMAR CHRISTMAS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'M DREAMING OF A WHITE CHRISTMAS, December 30, 2011
This is a movie designed for 3D as things fly into the camera. The story line picks up 2 years later. Kumar (Kal Penn), the med student, isn't a doctor because he can't pass the drug test. Harold (John Cho) is rich and successful. He has a beautiful Latino wife (Paula Garcés) who has a lot of baggage, mainly Danny Trejo is her dad. Trejo's mom was killed by Asians. Harold and Kumar both have a new sidekick. We have a competition of sidekicks. Through a mishap involving a huge joint, Danny Trejo's 12 foot home grown Christmas tree gets burned down and now the foursome are on a quest for a new 12 foot tree in the heart of the city on Christmas eve. They carry with them an infant who seems to like illegal drugs.

On their quest they encounter Adrian (Amir Blumenfeld) the daughter of a crime boss desperate to lose her virginity; an evil clay-mation Frosty the Snowman; the Russian Mafia (who play Mafia Wars on-line); a Waffle-bot; the real Santa; and of course the resurrected Neil Patrick Harris.

The humor, while low-brow and crude works in this film because it adds some originality to it.

F-bomb, sex, heavy drug use, nudity [Cassie Keller,Chernise Yvette, Paula Garcés (butt)] 5 star low brow comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's more Harold & Kumar, and I believe this one is on par...if not better than the original., October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
If you are into the Harold & Kumar style of humor you can't go wrong with this title. Plus, the 3D effects are well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Film with Great Pop-Out 3D, August 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I bought this because I was hungry for another 3D movie and it looked funny. It didn't disappoint! I haven't seen the first 2 Harold & Kumar movies, but that didn't stop me from enjoying this one. I laughed my butt off, and the 3D effects were plentiful. I'm always bummed when a 3D movie only offers added depth but no pop-out effects. This flick has both. If you're looking to add another 3D movie to your collection, I think you'll be happy with this one (unless you don't like like raunchy, politically incorrect humor and nudity in your movies).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made for 3D movie, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Not only is it an insanely funny movie, but one of the best movies at taking advantage of the 3d. If you liked the first two, you'll like this one just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's hear it for the 3D Jokes, September 12, 2013
By 
Art Collier (Big Sandy, TN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Of course H&K are funny. But they don't leave it there when they "throw" all the chicle 3D gags at you that they can dig up from the 1950s. But it works b/c it is woven into the comedic narrative of the story. Then it has the aspect of being a Christmas classic, (small "c"), that will be pulled out each year during the season. Not for G rated family consumption though so you've been warned. The best thing going for it is this story has heart.

I saw this in 2D before I purchased the 3D version and you will still get the 3D gags in 2D because they are so obvious but seeing them in 3D is icing on the cake. One of the better 3D effect movies out there that uses the technology to the hilt. I especially liked the finesse used in the 3D snow effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the series!, January 28, 2013
By 
D. J. Ryan (Sioux Falls, SD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was great to see Harold and Kumar together again. They were a little far out in the special effects as it got to be a little like "Naked Gun" type of outrageous humor, but if that doesn't bother you it is fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3d effects are super great, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
The people who produced this film made a great 3d presentation. Some items such as smoke, broken glass, ping-pond balls, throwing eggs and many other items made this picture fun to watch,during the show some items appeared about 10 feet out of the screen. I only hope that the people who made this film can make others with such great effects.

All I can say is WOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars merry christmas everybody!, August 25, 2012
By 
This review is from: A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Highly offensive garbage comedy. That defines A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas. And guess what? I eat it up every time! I just like the constant swearing, sexual references, immaturity, and overall raunchiness that the film series has been known for.

In this one Neil Patrick Harris returns (better known as Doogie Howser, at least growing up in the early 90's that's what *I'll* always associate him as) and he continues and finishes the curious story that left off from the other Harold & Kumar movie where he entered the naughty girl house and got his you-know-what on, lol. I was wondering what happened with that!

It's about Harold & Kumar going on their own little adventure around the city streets late at night around Christmas time (perhaps Christmas Eve) in search of a replacement Christmas tree that accidentally gets burned down during a freak incident involving a joint that blows (back) through the living room window and lands on the tree branches.

Highlights include the game of beer pong with a bratty and annoying kid, the claymation segment when Harold & Humor become high and lose touch with their surroundings, the waffle making robot that can apparently communicate with humans and bail them out of dangerous situations, the weenie stuck to a pole scene, the baby girl that sniffs too much marijuana and cocaine and changes into a mega baby, and several other segments all jam-packed into one 80-minute film.

I higly enjoyed it and you probably will too. Just remember, kids should most certainly NOT watch this movie. Too many jokes pertaining to extreme sex acts and heavy drugs that are entirely too inappropriate for the younger crowd (anyone under the age of 18).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 3D videos I have seen!, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I really enjoyed the stereoscopic direction and editing in this movie. The 3D in this blu ray is fantastic IMO...and I watch a great deal of 3D vids. What I really liked was how the 3D varied from scene to scene in depth. Instead of applying the same formula to every scene, the 3D was used like a drug. THere 3D was not very deep on average scenes, but on scenes that were dynamic the 3D was used to make the movie really come to life and entertain.

The comedy was not predictable. As usual there was a lot of sexual potty comedy and a few scenes I didn't felt were funny, but that's just me.

This is one of the few movies that combine 3D and humor, so it's worth 5 stars just for being so unique. If you like 3D and don't mind crude humor, this a great movie to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray)
A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas (Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray) by Todd Strauss-Schulson (Blu-ray - 2012)
$44.95 $34.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.