Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Carle Slipcase Set The Very Hungry Caterpillar; The Very Busy Spider; The Very Quiet Cricket
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 17, 2013
The description said this was a hardcover book. I expected to get the larger hardcover book and instead was sent a tiny board book. I could have purchased the board book locally for $7... Sent complaint to the Bluebird Book & Gifts® which was the vendor and did not get a response. Will not order from Bluebird Book and Gifts again...
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2000
Reader from Texas must be thinking of a different caterpillar book. This Eric Carle Classic has a caterpillar hatching, eating each day through a successive number of pieces of fruit (teaching counting up to five and the days of the week). The caterpillar goes into a cocoon (sic) and hatches into a beautiful butterfly. I've read this book 100s of times to my children, who love it!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
As others have experienced, this is not the true large 'hardcover' book that is implied in the description. It is nothing more than a small 'stiff cardboard' covered book and is something I can buy anywhere. The description of this product needs to be changed and I am very disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2011
Be careful of what version you buy. I did not realize this book came in a mini-version ... not what I wanted ... should have checked the dimensions before I purchased ... The mini-book has a list price of $5.99 on the book, which is a lot less than what I paid.

Update 06/02/2012:
Changing my rating from 2 starts to 5 stars. After all ... it was my mistake. The book I received was a mini-mini version (like ... really small). At the time I had contacted the seller (booksco_wa) about receiving the wrong product, and they gave me a refund without hassle. In summary, just read the specifications before you purchase.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2010
The Very Hungry caterpillar is an excellent book for children, not only does it help teach the basic skills of reading, but it also makes connections with other educational areas. The Very Hungry Caterpillar teaches children the days of the week, nutrition and also the life cycle of a butterfly. This book allows teachers to focus on different thematic ideas while using the same book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2015
I bought this book under the impression that it was in near perfect condition. The book I got was bent and cover was deteriorating. And had writing inside it. Not satisfied with the book at all. And also not a hard over. It was a board book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle is a timeless classic that all young children should read or have read to them. The book provides valuable basic life skill instruction and exposure. First the book introduces children to the life cycle of a butterfly. The story begins with the egg on a leaf that then hatches a small caterpillar. Another important lesson includes days of the week that are mentioned as the caterpillar eats each day throughout the week. Also, the concept of sequence can be discussed. Finally, even health related topics can be discussed as the caterpillar’s diet includes junk food that make him big and fat and suffer a stomach ache. These are just a few of the reasons every child should be exposed to the children’s book The Very Hungry Caterpillar. -- Laura and Melissa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
My mother purchased this book for my 3.5 year old daughter at Kohl's department store, along with a stuffed caterpillar for $5 each. We have read this book to her several times a day since. I love the story. It is simple to understand, even for the youngest of children. I laugh because when we get the the "salami" my daughter insists that it is a cheeseburger and the "small house" is actually a "big house". I read it the way she wishes and we are happy with that. It is an amazing classic book that is colorfully illustrated.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2011
Age Recommendation: 0-4; Very simple concept book covering counting 1-5 and days of the week. It could also be used for covering color names. It has uncluttered illustrations, and could be read easily from a caregiver's lap. Additionally, there are holes in the pages, which would be super exciting for a toddler. The main character is a caterpillar, which toddlers would enjoy. It also uses quite a bit of repetition, both in sentence structure and word choice.
Summary: A caterpillar is hatched from an egg one morning and is hungry. For the next six days he eats progressively more food, until on the seventh day he builds himself a cocoon. He stayed inside for more than two weeks, ate himself out of the cocoon, and was a beautiful butterfly.
Critical Review: Eric Carl wrote and illustrated The Very Hungry Caterpillar. He used a paint-like effect and bold colors to bring the illustrations to life. He added a few details to really make the images stand out. For example, he added a smiling face to the moon on the second page and the sun on the fourth page. The caterpillar is very expressive for a caterpillar. When he is hungry, he got up on his hind legs to look for food (p. 5). The fruit is colored with solid colors so a child could identify the apple as red, and the pear as green. There are these holes in the fruit so they look like the caterpillar actually ate through the fruit. The clever part is that Carl made it look like the caterpillar was crawling from page to page (i.e. the caterpillar is emerging from the fruit on the back of each page, and heading towards the next set of fruit). Holes only appear on pages where the caterpillar is eating something. Carl also added the days of the week for each eating period, so it teaches an additional concept to the child. This does not have to be emphasized, but is definitely a supplemental concept covered. It also covers the transitioning from an egg, to a caterpillar, to a cocoon, and finally to a butterfly. This is another concept for the child/reader to pick up on while reading the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you are wishing to start an in-home library of books your child will enjoy looking at and reading over and over again, this is a classic. My sons and kindergarten class loved it. It's colorful with charming art. The story of how a hungry caterpillar eats his way through different foods and then is transformed is one which young children enjoy. You will like it, too. If you can find a stuffed version of the caterpillar, that adds to the reading enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.