Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


134 of 136 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Intro to Natural Remedies for Dogs
Martin Zucker has interviewed over thirty holistic vets for this book. They share which supplements, dietary changes, herbs, homeopathic remedies, or flower essences they have found to be effective for conditions ranging from arthritis and cancer to parasites and yeast infections. If you've been into natural rearing for a while, few of the suggestions will be new to...
Published on June 24, 2000 by Sasha

versus
49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best on the subject
This book covers nutrition, supplements, herbs, homeopathy, flower essences, acupuncture, chiropractic, massage, vaccines, and a list of health problems and how to treat them. I'm not as thrilled with this book as some other readers were. It is potentially useful, but not essential. Instead, I would recommend "New Choices in Natural Healing for Dogs & Cats" and "The...
Published on June 16, 2007 by cassabb


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

134 of 136 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Intro to Natural Remedies for Dogs, June 24, 2000
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
Martin Zucker has interviewed over thirty holistic vets for this book. They share which supplements, dietary changes, herbs, homeopathic remedies, or flower essences they have found to be effective for conditions ranging from arthritis and cancer to parasites and yeast infections. If you've been into natural rearing for a while, few of the suggestions will be new to you, but the book is nonetheless a nice resource.
In addition to the A-Z index of canine health problems and suggested natural remedies, there are brief chapters introducing various holistic therapies (herbs, nutritional supplements, homeopathic remedies, flower essences, acupuncture, chiropractic, and massage techniques), plus chapters on vaccinations/titers and nutrition. However, while it's great that the holistic vets interviewed for this book are advocating fresh food diets, the information presented in the chapter on homemade meals is not sufficient to enable anyone to prepare a balanced homemade diet for their dog(s). For properly balanced fresh food diet plans, check out books by Billinghurst, Volhard, or Pitcairn. I also have to disagree with the section on feeding bones -- in my experience with natural dog rearing and as an animal nutrition consultant I have found that softer, raw bones such as chicken necks or backs that are consumed in their entirety are far safer than the big, hard beef bones recommended in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative yet easy to read and interpret, December 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
I found this book when I was desperate to help my dog who was recently diagnosed with a heart murmur. This book has been an incredible resource for me. I love how all the information on recommended herbs, diets, etc. are backed up with a professional's name and phone number (many times). I understand that there is a time for conventional medicine but I have always been inclined to go the "alternative or natural" way. After reading this book, I am extremely happy to say that my dog is doing incredible and has barely a trace of a heart murmur left. My vet even asked me what I had done between 6 month doctor visits for such drastic results. If anyone cares about their pet/best friend as I do, this book will hold the supreme honor on your bookshelf. Please share this information with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where was this great book 10 years ago?, July 28, 2000
By 
Lynda Gagnon (Deerfield Beach, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
This wonderful book change my life and my new puppy's life for the best. I've checked other documents on this subject before but I couldn't bring myself to spend the money to buy any of them. When I went to the store to look at the book, it was so clear and easy to read. I glanced at the chapter on allergies to compare what I had seen in other books and it was so complete. A whole chapter as opposed to a paragraph or a page in the others. It's full of informations, products and phone numbers, where to find a holistic vet. in your area, etc. ect. Every pet owner in the world should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best on the subject, June 16, 2007
By 
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
This book covers nutrition, supplements, herbs, homeopathy, flower essences, acupuncture, chiropractic, massage, vaccines, and a list of health problems and how to treat them. I'm not as thrilled with this book as some other readers were. It is potentially useful, but not essential. Instead, I would recommend "New Choices in Natural Healing for Dogs & Cats" and "The Nature of Animal Healing". They cover the same information but more in depth.

What I did find interesting was seeing how each veterinarian had a different treatment plan for a particular disease. While one would treat arthritis with goat's whey, another suggested Chinese herbs. Each vet found success in his or her method, and you can combine methods to suit the needs of your pet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy-to-Use Holistic Reference Guide, November 13, 2000
By 
Shannon Wilkinson (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
A must have reference for every dog owner. Zucker compiles recommendations from over 30 of the top holistic veterinarians from across the country in this two part book. Part I covers the foundation of good health, diet and nutrition. In addition the basics on alternative modalities, supplements and remedies are discussed.
Part II is organized in an A to Z list of common problems -- from arthritis to yeast infections. Each section contains recommendations and information from a number of holistic vets. This format gives you the opportunity to learn about several different treatment options and decide what's best for your dog's individual situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book SAVED my dog, October 3, 2005
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
One of my pugs has a collasping trachea, which out of the blue turned very bad last November. She was going to the vets every 3 days and was on 4 different medications. Still she was coughing, gagging and being lost her spunk. We even took her to a Veterinary College. Short of a very intusive operation there was nothing more to be done.

I ordered this book, hoping to get her strong to face the surgery. Well the part on food allergies helped her.. and she has been med free since May. It is a good book to have on hand if you want to make sure you have everything you can to help your dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dog's best friend!, March 21, 2002
By 
Barbara Bent (Sykesville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone who is serious about giving their dogs health and longevity. This book takes you from A to Z on nutrition, diseases, vaccinations and anything else you can think of. This is written by a group of holistic vets each contributing their opinion on the different subjects covered in the book. This vast range of opinions allows the reader a multitude of choices on how to care for their dog. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots and lots of useful information!, February 17, 2000
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
If you're looking for an eye-opening book about what can be done naturally when your dog gets sick. This is it! The author interviewed over 30 holistic veterinarians for this book and there is information on everything from homeopathic remedies to herbs, chiropractic and acupuncture. They have also included resources in the appendix that come in really handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the read, October 28, 2006
By 
L. A. Boyle (Alexandria, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
This book deals with many different situations and examples of different remedies. Gives you options/opinions from various holistic doctors. It seems that many of the remedies have been used by the vets for some time. I have tried 2 of them and they worked. My holistic vet thought it was an excellent book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally,a book that dog lovers can use with confidence, March 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Veterinarians Guide to Natural Remedies for Dogs : Safe and Effective Alternative Treatments and Healing Techniques from the Nations Top Holistic Veterinarians (Paperback)
Mr.Zucker has covered a vast field of information about alternative appproaches in a concise and yet authorative manner.I,as a dog lover,and as an owner of two dogs need such a book on a daily basis.It helps to answer so many questions that I have in not only caring for my pets but in helping them to live a longer and healthier life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.