Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$8.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 13, 2006
No offense to his blues stuff, but to me this guitar work stands up with the greatest; His '80's lead style evokes strong mixture of Van Halen, Schenker, Jeff Beck, and Vivian Campbell. The leads in the title track, Devil in her Heart, Empty Rooms, and Murder in the Skies are still hard to fathom, and Shapes of Things still remains one of the greatest rock/metal solos to come from this era. Moore displays an incredible balance of technique and spine chilling emotion...Rock/metal guitar fans will be pleasantly(if now overwelmingly)surprised at how much he shreds here; Those who have the album already know what I'm talking about...His most shining moment as far as I'm concerned.
0Comment19 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2006
The title and opening track sets the mood for the CD, putting great 80's metal with nuclear anxiety right on the table. "Shapes of Things" will take you back to the Summer of '83, when GM dominated even US rock radio with this track. Maybe you've forgotten this fantastic rocker and maybe you didn't even know at the time who it was. It's actually a cover of an old Yardbirds song, but you've never heard a makeover like this! The ferocious, galloping rocker "Murder in the Skies" relays the true tale of a commercial passenger jet shot down by communist fighter planes during some of the most intense moments of the cold war. It begins with a stellar solo where you'll find darker metal's answer to Van Halen's Eruption.
My 4-star rating picks up anything from pretty good right up to just about a 5-star rating. And I stop at a 4 here for a few reasons. Empty Rooms does beat most other ballads. Even so, calling it the '84 Remix really doesn't even justify the repetition of the song as a "bonus" track. Also the instrumental, Blinder, just doesn't go anywhere, which distinctly disappoints--especially with what GM does everywhere else on "Victims". Aside from these things, you've got tons of solid 5 star material here.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2011
"Victims of the future" is the fourth* solo album by legendary Gary Moore originally released in 1984; "Victims..." as its title suggests turned out to be the darkest in Moore's lengthy catalogue. By the songs titles alone, one can easily make out that this album is indeed an unconventional perhaps anti-popular offering. Songs like "Murder in the skies", "Shapes of things" and "Victims of the future" are totally indicative of the lyrical direction of the album carrying mighty protestant choruses but also an underlying pessimism-even the ballad "Empty Rooms" is sad in essence. "Hold on to love" is perhaps the only ray of light on "Victims of the future".

It is therefore ironic that "Victims of the future" solidified Moore's status in Europe as one a leading artist in the hard & heavy genres receiving credit from both classic rockers and metal-heads alike. One also notes that, on "Victims...", Moore began to move away from the band format, using a number of musicians as session players: bass is contributed by Neil Murray, Bob Daisley and Mo Foster while drums tracks are split between Ian Paice and Bobby Chouinard, finally keyboards are performed by Neil Carter.

Overall, it would be fair to say that idiosyncratically "Victims of the future" is a genuine heavy metal album, in the sense that it is provocative, challenging, and intense while daring to address sensitive issues. By 1984 it should have become clear to fans that Gary Moore was an artist committed in pushing the creative barriers (if there were any such) of his music delivering landmark after landmark.

*Counting from 1980 onwards, his fourth solo album in the style of `80s rock.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
For the Gary Moore fan...this here is when he was into hard heavy rock with heavily laden blues licks as well as big power chords to blow your senses!! I highly recommend this album as it has all his finest guitar licks all rolled into one great kick ass collection of finely written songs!! This definitely will not disappoint the G.M. fan whatsoever...it is a must have for your collection!! Empty Rooms is one of his best tunes on here as well as a Yardbirds cover of Shapes of Things to Come. Devil in her Heart is very catchy and there is also a remix of Empty Rooms which is refreshing to hear. Gary has put together an amazing band and this band rocks!!

P.S. Get this CD!!!!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Having listened to Gary Moore decades ago, and then having drifted away from his work, I was blown away in August when my best friend played Murder in the Skies while besotted with beer and whisky at a vacation cottage in the Upper Peninsula. I suddenly remembered why I loved the guy's playing 30 years ago and decided to pig out on a selection of his remastered albums. This one, of course, cam first since it's the album on which Murder in the Skies appears. And all I can say is, "Goddam, this guy could play!" Not only is he an incredible, lightning fast shredder, but he makes every solo musical. I cannot believe the guy lived and died without being recognized as one of the finest electric guitarists on the planet. His licks are supremely tasty, always thematic and absolutely crazy with passion.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2011
If you like 80s hard rock this is a keeper!A already solid album it sounds even better remastered.And the extended version of Murder in the skies is excellent! A must have for any Gary Moore fan!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2015
Released during his run as an out-and-out guitar shredder, this is similar in tone to his previous studio album "Corridors of Power". The only thing that's a real drag on here is the super-dry production which makes these great performances and songs sound very dated. Backed by the rhythm section of Ian Paice and Neil Murray both formerly of Whitesnake and UFO guitarist Neil Carter, Moore is on a complete tear on this with tracks such as "Murder In The Skies" and "Teenage Idol" which are paired with ballads such as "Empty Rooms" and a cover of the Yardbirds classic "Shapes of Things". For guitar aficionados, this is a pretty key album and to me Moore was at his best in this environment. His blues stuff was great, but to me I feel that he shone most brightly when he was in this world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
Matter of opinion, but to me, this is Gary Moore at his BEST. And this re-mastered release is PRISTINE in quality; I've never heard it sound this good -- the mix just jumps out at you. Beautiful, silky, smooth, raw and PERFECT all the way. If you liked this album in the 80's buy this remastered release and experience it again all over like the first time. Nuff said.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
I originally had this on LP back when it was originally released. I feel it was his best album ever. Funny thing is, it's almost like he had all these incredible solos and needed songs to go with them. The thing about his playing and his riffs was that they never got stale or boring. I miss Gary and his shredding. He set the stage for more guitarists.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2008
I loved this album back in the 80's and it still rocks today. Gary Moore has always been a killer guitarist and he showcases his chops to great effect on this release. I wish it had a better remix but in the mean time, this will always be my favorite Gary Moore release!
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.