Customer Reviews


1,979 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,627)
4 star:
 (209)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


180 of 184 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Would Feel Unprepared For My Day Without It!
For many years now, I have carried one of these small Swiss Army knives on each of my two key rings - one for work and one for home. Barely a day goes by when I do not take one of them out of my pocket to use once or twice - to quickly file down a broken nail, to tweeze out a small splinter, to cut open a small item with the scissor of something larger by cutting the...
Published on May 13, 2007 by D. Reinstein

versus
45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like it, but it has an annoying design flaw
I've been carrying one on my key ring for years. Unfortunately, this handy little knife has an inexplicable design error: the attachment ring is at the "wrong" end. When the blade is open, my key ring attachment is in the middle of the opened knife, rather than at the end. This is not a problem with the scissors because they open out from the other end. However, since I...
Published on November 2, 2010 by kudzu9


‹ Previous | 1 2198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

180 of 184 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Would Feel Unprepared For My Day Without It!, May 13, 2007
For many years now, I have carried one of these small Swiss Army knives on each of my two key rings - one for work and one for home. Barely a day goes by when I do not take one of them out of my pocket to use once or twice - to quickly file down a broken nail, to tweeze out a small splinter, to cut open a small item with the scissor of something larger by cutting the wrapping tape with the knife blade - the toothpick is used daily! I cannot imagine being without one. Of course, I own larger and more multi-purpose knives, but when it comes to carrying something this handy on a key chain or ring, you just can't beat them!

There are two major (authorized) manufacturers of Swiss Army knives: Victorinox, the maker of this particular favorite of mine and Wenger, a reliable alternative brand that makes many similar and some even nearly identical models. I have used both over the years and have found there to be absolutely no appreciable differences in the quality, durability or pricing of the knives. With so many models to choose from, it probably makes sense to decide which features you need and then shop both brands for the best price you can find. But back to the knife at hand, the SA Classic SD Pocket Knife.

This is the one of the smallest knives in the Victorinox line. Measuring only about 2 1/4" long and about 1/4" wide, it adds little by way of heft to a key ring. It is a compact knife containing a total of 6 equally compact tools. This is not for the big things. This is a small knife with small tools to deal with small things. With expectations appropriately set, it is unsurpassed in it's usefulness as a basic daily tool.

The Tools

There are compartments on the outer casing of knife - each containing a small appliance. One is home to a small white toothpick that I have found to be entirely satisfactory - except that after a year or two of use, I seem to lose them. I think the molded shape wears a bit over time and repeated use and no longer holds itself snugly in the allotted compartment. They can be easily and inexpensively replaced though at any fully stocked retailer of the knives. On the opposite side of the knife is a compartment housing a micro-tweezer. Because it is so very small and light, it cannot be used as a regular tweezer, but only for light-duty needs. These include, I am pleased to report, removing small splinters and picking up objects too small for my increasingly clumsy fingers!

There are three tools that fold into the knife itself, one of which has two uses - actually providing a total of four useful mini-tools. These include 1) a flat spring loaded scissor, a regular blade and a nail file (which, as a guitar picker, I use almost daily) topped with the fourth tool, a screw driver head, small enough to be used for either flat screws or Phillips head screws - providing that they are small enough. Don't misunderstand - the smallness of the tools does not render them either token or useless, but their size is a factor in their usability in real day-to-day life.

Maintenance

This is nearly a non sequitor, but in the interests of completeness, I will briefly address it.

Years have gone by before anything beyond simple removal of dust and cleaning the instruments is required. One time, a blade seemed to be sticking just a tad and a quick and very short burst of WD40 took care of it - permanently. The knife is build to last until you decide you no longer want or need it.

Value

There are few things in life built for frequent use without planned obsolescence being figured into their design. This little pocket tool set is, happily, among them. For somewhere around $9., you can have something actually skillfully made that will serve you well and for a good long time. How many things can any of us really say that about?

I love mine and would feel not only unprepared, but somehow naked - or at least disabled - were I to leave home without one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Indeed, December 5, 2003
By 
C. T. Mikesell (near Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After 14 years of service my Victorinox mini-Swiss Army Knife (SAK) has finally begun to show its age: the toothpick went missing, the enamel casing cracked, the insignia fell off. So I've bought another (the original sits in a drawer, its knife blade as sharp as ever, the screwdriver still perfectly utile, the scissors are gummed up but could probably be cleaned out with some rubbing alcohol).
For versatility and simplicity it's hard to beat this item. Sure there are SAKs with more blades and tools, but the simple knife/screwdriver/scissors combination is going to meet the vast majority of your needs (ok, it doesn't have a bottle opener: use a door strike plate, MacGyver). The toothpick is so-so, but I can't count the number of times I've needed to tweeze something and used the SAK tweezers when I couldn't find the bathroom set. The key fob, while not the most exciting of features, does provide a convenient way to carry the SAK around with you.
This item is sure to please. I love mine. You'll love yours. Buy one for someone else - they'll love theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trusty Little Pocket Toolbox, February 6, 2003
By 
B.P. "tilley_traveler" (Wisconsin, United States) - See all my reviews
This particular pocketknife has become one of my personal favorites for many reasons. For it's small size it might appear to be a sissy, but it will out do any single blade or three-blade pocketknife of comparable dimension with it's extra utilitarian options.
When all tools are folded in, the unit measures about two and a forth inches long or a little more that five and a half centimeters. Weighing just a few grams, it's a pocketknife that is basically so light; you won't even notice you're carrying it. Comes with a single blade which is about one and a half inches long (3.5 cm), a nail file with a regular screwdriver head, toothpick, tweezers, scissors and a tiny key ring for attachment, not to mention the Swiss Army quality.
Often inside or out, I'm doing some kind of small project that involves typical constructive handy work, and have come to love the tweezers on this contraption. So nice to have that on hand the moment I get a splinter, especially when dealing with a painfully nasty one from fiberglass. I can just reach into my pocket; use the tweezers to pull out the sliver right on the spot, thus preventing infection and further aggravation. The least useful tool for me on this pocketknife has been the toothpick, I never seen it as anything grand, but it's there anyway and doesn't take up too much space.
All tools except the toothpick are made of stainless steel, and I was particularly impressed with the scissors, made in good quality construction that will enable it to last for a long while. The toothpick on the other hand is made of a plastic, durable enough for it's designated task. To use them, the toothpick and tweezers slide out of their slots and detach from the complete unit itself. This might create a potential for loss with these pieces, if they're not returned to their rightful slots after use. But the only other draw back that I can see with this pocketknife is the small size might make it hard to operate. If you're not very nimble with your fingers, catching the groves on the tool edges to open them might be a little difficult. But generally speaking, all features are easy to pull open and put into position when desired.
Although it's not exactly intended for heavy-duty work, it's still a fantastic all-purpose tool well adapted for everyday encounters, like simply opening a box or envelope, cutting a string with a tight knot, or whittling a stick for roasting marshmallows. This little gadget provides the tool necessities and will save the day many times over. Plus the smaller compact size makes it travel a lot easier in the pocket and the transparent blue color makes it stylish and unique from its Swiss kin. Simply made for resourceful people with a strong desire for things of ingenuity and practicality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Litle Keychain Tool, January 14, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been carrying these little knives on my keychain for over twenty years. These pocket knives have done terrific service all this time, opening packages, cutting up fruit, removing splinters and all of the light-duty chores that this minature knife was designed to to. My only complaints are not the knife's fault: (1) when I remove the knife from my keychain, it's doomed. I'll lose it before it ever gets the chance to return to my purse, and (2) cow orkers and the like "accidentally" pick them up, and they disappear forever. Airport security considers these knives to be deadly weapons, although the only danger would be from a plane crew laughing themselves to death at the sight of a hijacker trying to overcome someone with a two inch long knife. But for trimming an errant nail or cutting an apple into manageable chunks, this is a great little tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT little knife, May 31, 2007
This review is for the Alox version (aluminum scales instead of plastic)...

This knife is missing the toothpick and tweezers when compared to the regular version with plastic scales. But what you get instead is a knife that is only ONE HALF as thick! 99.9% of the functionality of this knife is in the 3 main tools (rather than the toothpick or tweezers). This thing is so amazingly slender that you can carry it around in your front pocket all day every day and never even feel that it is there. It will not rub in an irritating way like most things carried in pockets. Also, it will not show a lump in your pants.

The fine aluminum scales look sleek and elegant and are even suitable for engraving. The scales are well textured without being abrasive and provide a secure, comfortable grip. It is perfect as an executive pocket knife. It is also the perfect pocket companion for people who don't want or like to carry a pocket knife, but still may need to open a package or envelope, trim a loose thread, clean a fingernail or turn a screw once in a while. Let's face it, tool use is what sets us apart from the beasts. Mine has been carried daily for 7 years and still looks perfectly new. I sharpen it when needed and it will shave hair. With this great pocket companion at hand, my life is made a little easier and more pleasant each day.

My preference for this version is not a criticism of the standard plastic Classic knife, of which I have several. That is also a great product. I just feel that the Alox version takes a great concept to its ultimate refinement. If they tripled the price, I would still be a fan.

[update: Carried daily now for 13 years and still as happy as ever with this great tool. One of the best purchases of my life. The only time I don't carry it is when I fly in a commercial airliner, where it is not allowed. I missed having it so much that I took another Victorinox Classic and sawed the knife blade off so I could carry that.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like it, but it has an annoying design flaw, November 2, 2010
I've been carrying one on my key ring for years. Unfortunately, this handy little knife has an inexplicable design error: the attachment ring is at the "wrong" end. When the blade is open, my key ring attachment is in the middle of the opened knife, rather than at the end. This is not a problem with the scissors because they open out from the other end. However, since I use the blade about 99% of the time and the scissors about 1% of the time, the awkward placement of the ring is annoying in normal use. The other problem with this placement of the attachment ring is that the toothpick and the tweezers are more likely to slip out and get lost because they are hanging on the "down" side (mine disappeared long ago). If you look at many of the other Swiss Army brand knives that have an attachment ring, the connection point is in the "correct" place for easy use of the main blade. I still wouldn't part with mine, but I'm not happy that the design fights with the use of the tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utilitarian 'Le Must', March 26, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A small Swiss Army knife has been my constant companion for the last 30 years. It's uses are myriad & often. They last like objects made 'like they used to make them'. This one is a lot more attractive than it's predecessor which, although still useful, is showing it's 28 year age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tool For All Seasons...., August 2, 2002
By 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After a number of years living out on the ragged edge of civilized society in the rural reaches of southern New Hampshire, I have learned the practical wisdom of always having a utility knife in my pocket. I have several of these Swiss Army pocket knives(one in the otherwise unused ashtrays of each vehicle, and one in my Land's End briefcase)and always have one on me personally. I cannot tell you how often I have used one to do everything from pick away the remnants of a sliver from my somewhat leery granddaughter's thumb to opening a bottle of diet soda on a hot summer afternoon. It truly is a tool dfor all seasons, whether one uses it to pick away the ice from one's car door lock on an icy frigid morn or to snip off the tag from some flip-flops at the local Eastern Mountain Sports shop so you could walk around without being burdened by shoes or socks on a scorching day in the local hamlet of Peterborough. Having everything the common guy or girl needs in a pinch (knife blades, scissors, nail file, screwdriver, toothpick, and tweezers, and also has a key ring for one's car or house key. I have them in a variety of colors, but the one I usually carry is candy apple red! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victorinox Rocks!, December 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had the original solid red Victorinox that was borrowed and never returned (It was about 10 years old and still going strong!)so I purchased this one. I came back and bought about 6 more in sapphire, amethyst, and red for Christmas gifts. Everyone loved them! Small in size, but a real workhorse, and easily hangs on your keyring without excessive bulk. It came in handy opening the boxes that were taped, and the blade easily opened the plastic packaging that comes on most items now. I definitely recommend this product. If you have very large hands or need a larger blade, buy a larger knife; otherwise, this is the one you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but it opens the wrong way, August 28, 2007
By 
I'm not sure whether I want to give this 3 or 4 stars. I've had one like this before and this one is better made. The idea is I keep it on my keychain, so I always have a knife at hand. The only problem is, the knife part opens in the wrong direction. It's attached at the same end as the keychain attachment. This means when you open it, the knife is sort of fighting against the keychain for space so it's harder to use. If it opened the other way, you'd be able to hold the keychain as a sort of part of the handle, and the blade would be free from any obstructions.

Otherwise, it seems well-made although I just bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2198 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.