Customer Reviews


2,340 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,957)
4 star:
 (284)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


614 of 633 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine standard chef at very reasonable price
The Forschner 40520 was rated as "best overall" in Cooks magazine in Fall 2004. Pretty good report card from "the" chefs magazine. It took top honors over several high end ($80 -$100+) Wusthofs and Henckel models. While they didn't claim that the Forschner was better at any one specific task or that the craftsmanship can stand up to the others (its blade is cut from a...
Published on March 15, 2006 by SV Rob

versus
820 of 873 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but the tip broke off
I liked the knife at first but after only a few months of light use, about 1/4" of the tip seems to have broken off. This doesn't surprise me, as the blade is thin compared to the better knives.

Update on this review: I was beyond the Amazon 30-day return period, but Victorinox was more than happy to replace it, emphasizing that all their products have a...
Published on November 27, 2008 by maiden voyager


‹ Previous | 1 2234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

614 of 633 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine standard chef at very reasonable price, March 15, 2006
By 
SV Rob (Santa Cruz, CA) - See all my reviews
The Forschner 40520 was rated as "best overall" in Cooks magazine in Fall 2004. Pretty good report card from "the" chefs magazine. It took top honors over several high end ($80 -$100+) Wusthofs and Henckel models. While they didn't claim that the Forschner was better at any one specific task or that the craftsmanship can stand up to the others (its blade is cut from a blank ribbon of steel, instead of a hand-forged one piece) they did say that its lighter weight was preferred by some of their testers and that it handled the basics just as well as more expensive models. I just took delivery of mine last week and I am putting it to the test. I can say that it arrives razor sharp...nice... and that it's fairly well balanced. The handle is made of a grippy composite that allows you to securely hold firm if wet or in akward positions. The handle is a little longer than others I've owned, maybe too long for small hands, but it is contoured so you can move up towards the blade for better control. The blade does have a nice rocked contour, which makes chopping & dicing easier. I've grown to prefer ligher weight blades and you don't sacrifice much when it's this sharp. Overall I would say that for the price, this is a great chef knife..time will tell if any problems develop. Definitely doesn't have the same craftsmenship or allure of one of the high end Germans, but if your looking for a highly functional, lightweight, standard chef, it's hard to go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


820 of 873 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but the tip broke off, November 27, 2008
This review is from: Victorinox Fibrox 8-Inch Chef's Knife 40520, 47520, 45520, 5.2063.20 (Kitchen)
I liked the knife at first but after only a few months of light use, about 1/4" of the tip seems to have broken off. This doesn't surprise me, as the blade is thin compared to the better knives.

Update on this review: I was beyond the Amazon 30-day return period, but Victorinox was more than happy to replace it, emphasizing that all their products have a lifetime guarantee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


267 of 289 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Knife and NOT high-priced!, August 18, 2005
By 
This knife is such a value. I have always had a hard time accepting the high-prices on Wuesthoff or Henckel knives because I never felt the VALUE was worth it. Boy am I glad I held out for the Victorinox knife! This knife, also known as Forschner, is consistently sharp. Just a few swipes of the sharpening steel and its good as new again. I use this knife and a 6" every day. The handles are comfortable and do not get slippery when wet. They are practically the only knives I use. I wash and wipe dry after each use (NEVER put in the dishwasher). I think you'll be as pleased as I if you try this knife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


179 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Home Chefs Knife, March 26, 2007
This review is from: Victorinox Fibrox 8-Inch Chef's Knife 40520, 47520, 45520, 5.2063.20 (Kitchen)
The knife length is determined by the size of the cutting board, and it is rare to see anything larger than 18 X 24 inch boards in a home kitchen, which is perfect for an 8 inch knife.

In commercial kitchens, we tend to use 24 X 36 inch laminated maple cutting boards 2 inches thick, and these work well with a 10 inch knife.

A professional entre-metier can chop about a ton of vegetables per hour with a 10 inch knife, but home cooks are more likely looking at a about a pound per minute, thus the 8 inch knife.

I have tried almost every knife ever invented for over 30 years now, and I have never found anything even close to Victorinox for balance, edge, and value, even in knives that cost 10 times as much, that are often good only for squashing tomatoes.

Plus, knives are always kept razor sharp (always buy a coarse/fine carborundum oil stone and sharpening steel), and attempting to wield a 10 inch or larger knife can be extremely dangerous for those that have not been professionally trained (they are also dangerous to those that have been professionally trained, and I have a few scars to prove that). Best Regards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooks Ilustrated is right -- again!, October 4, 2005
This is the chef's knife I've been looking for. The blade is the right balance between stiff and flexible. The perfectly curved shape automatically starts that rocking motion that makes chopping a breeze. I've been skeptical about ever developing the ability to chop like the chefs on cooking shows. No longer. And to think -- it was my bad knives to blame all this time! I'm buying several of these to give as Christmas gifts this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible value for the money, December 9, 2007
This review is from: Victorinox Fibrox 8-Inch Chef's Knife 40520, 47520, 45520, 5.2063.20 (Kitchen)
I'm not a professional chef, but I know my way around a kitchen. One thing I never stint on is knives. Cheap knives are a waste of time--good knives are a joy forever. By "cheap" I mean badly crafted knives, not inexpensive knives, because it's always possible to find a moderately-priced knives that outperforms knives double or triple the price.

This is one of those knives.

I haven't been able to determine whether this knife is forged or stamped. The price makes me think it must be stamped, but the Victorinox site implies it's forged. No matter--either way, this is a fantastic knife.

It weighs a bit less than my Calphalon 8" chef's knife, and while I don't think the Calphalon is too heavy--many people do--I find that the Fibrox knife just feels better over the long haul--easier to manuever and control. It doesn't have a traditional bolster (another reason I wonder if it was stamped) but I find that it makes little or no difference--it's so well-balanced that gripping the front of the handle is perfectly adequate for control. (And you know what? The fibrox handle is very, very comfortable.)

Sharp? Yes, very. The reviewer who found hers to be dull must have had a knife that was damaged in some way, or somehow got past quality control, because out of the box this knife was exceeded in sharpness only by my Shun santoku.

Over the last two days, I've used this knife to trim and cube chuck steak and Boston butt, chop kale, slice chorizo, and dice roasted red peppers. I used it to carve our turkey at Thanksgiving, and it's equally at home doing a chiffonade of basil or dicing carrots. At this price, I'm likely to buy duplicates to keep both at my parent's and in-law's houses for when I cook there, because it's rapidly becoming the knife I can't work without in the kitchen.

Yes, I paid more for that santoku, but I think I like this knife better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


150 of 165 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Product!, April 13, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Fibrox 8-Inch Chef's Knife 40520, 47520, 45520, 5.2063.20 (Kitchen)
I to bought this knife because of the rating in Cook's Illustrated. I have Henckels and was interested in something to use in more utilitarian situations. I didn't want to baby it; I wanted to use it and then put it in the dishwasher and forget about it. After using this knife I realized that I made a mistake in ever buying the Henckels. They now seem heavy and clumsy in my hand. Every time I reach for a knife I grab this one. I only bought one knife because I wanted to see if it would hold an edge and to see how hard it would be to re-sharpen. Well after a year of constant use I still don't know how hard it will be to re-sharpen because I haven't had to do that yet. It was yesterday while slicing tomatoes that I realized just how fantastic this knife was. Here I had a knife that hadn't been sharpened in a year and I was slicing tomatoes like I was using a seriated utility knife! The only reason I don't have more than one is because my magnet is full of Henckels that I don't like to use. Anybody want to buy a set of totally babied Henckels? I need more knives I like to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with this one, November 29, 2006
This review is from: Victorinox Fibrox 8-Inch Chef's Knife 40520, 47520, 45520, 5.2063.20 (Kitchen)
Have lots of knives and all were more expensive by far than this gem and yet this is the one I reach for more often than not. I was afraid it might feel flimsy but it doesn't. It holds it edge nicely. I'd be happy to own more than one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp knife and comfortable to use, November 22, 2006
This review is from: Victorinox Fibrox 8-Inch Chef's Knife 40520, 47520, 45520, 5.2063.20 (Kitchen)
I selected this knife because it was recommended by Cooks Illustrated as a lighter weight french knife. The handle is easy to grip and the knife is very sharp -- a delight to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably Priced - Excellent Knife, January 21, 2007
This review is from: Victorinox Fibrox 8-Inch Chef's Knife 40520, 47520, 45520, 5.2063.20 (Kitchen)
I have always used Henckel and Wusthof knives. I bought this on the recommendation of America's Test Kitchen as a knife that is reasonably priced, yet comparable to the more expensive knives (I've always been happy with anything they recommend...from recipes to utensils). This knife feels good in your hand (although it doesn't have the "heft" of the more expensive knives) and keeps a great edge. I highly recommend it as an alternative to the more expensive knives. On the other hand, if you don't mind spending more, there is a noticeable difference in quality between this very good knife and a Henckel or Wusthof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.