Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality Swiss watch at a remarkable price
This is an exceptionally-well made manual-winding movement and a fully certified Swiss watch. A manual winding watch has some advantages over automatic winding movements, which are much more common in high-end Swiss watches---namely, if you don't wear the watch every day, you don't necessarily need to invest in an expensive automatic winder to keep it charged. The power...
Published on April 28, 2012 by Brian Tvenstrup

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High hopes dashed by constant need for repair
I bought this watch several years ago,since I really liked it's look and the fact that it was mechanical,and had to be hand wound. For the first couple of months the watch kept extremely good time,but from that period on, it's been nothing but trouble. It starts to speed up, then stops entirely. It needs winding daily, although it states it has a 56 hour power reserve...
Published 23 months ago by desert rat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality Swiss watch at a remarkable price, April 28, 2012
By 
Brian Tvenstrup (Riverview, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
This is an exceptionally-well made manual-winding movement and a fully certified Swiss watch. A manual winding watch has some advantages over automatic winding movements, which are much more common in high-end Swiss watches---namely, if you don't wear the watch every day, you don't necessarily need to invest in an expensive automatic winder to keep it charged. The power reserve on this watch holds for 56 hours so you can leave it for a few days on your dresser, then pick it up, wind it, put it on, and go. Such inconsistent wear behavior would not be recommended for an automatic movement. The build quality is solid and it is the same movement as can be found in some much more expensive watches (e.g., entry level Panerai) for which you would pay thousands of dollars.
This model is attractive, in the larger style that is popular these days, and has the typical styling of a Victorinox, with a very clean look. This is the newer version of the Mach 4 and the styling is a significant improvement over the former version. This version has a background which is black rather than navy blue, and the luminous coating on the hands and numbers is much brighter. The hands themselves are also larger and have a pronounced sword profile. The countdown inner rotating bezel adds a useful function without adding the bulk or rugged look of an external bezel. This watch looks at home in the office or at casual events on the weekends, and it is even waterproof enough to wear in the pool over the summer.
For the price, this is an excellent watch, easily as high quality and stylish as watches costing thousands more. If you are interested in an affordable entry to quality Swiss manual watches, this would be a superb choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a swiss quartz movement, February 8, 2011
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
Big bulky and beautiful watch. Just had to point out that this is not a quartz movement as stated in the description. It is a manual wind or "hacking" movement. Don't let that dissuade you tho. This is a wonderful watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
Very nice watch, well made, nice leather band and movement. This is a manual wind mechanical watch (no batteries, no automatic winding from walking around). If you look up the latest AirBoss Mach 7 or 8 watches, they retail for around $1,500. It was great to get an older model watch of this calibur for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, April 1, 2012
By 
James H (Maplewood, MN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
This watch is super beautiful, not to mention very accurate. I own several Victorinox watches this is definitely one of my favorites. I get lots of complements on this watch, its big and easy to read. The Lum is good but not as good as my Victorinox Mecha 500 automatic; but definitely good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great watch, great price..., October 22, 2012
By 
DLH (Upland, Ca) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
This is a great watch at a great price. If you do not understand what Mechanical Watch means, maybe a casio or swatch watch is for you. This is a swiss watch with a swiss mechanical movement that comes in watches that cost $1500,00 - $3000.00 from other watch makers. The movement is just as accurate as a rolex or an omega watch and the style of this big pilot type timepiece looks just as good as any IWC pilot watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Amazing Watch, April 10, 2013
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
I have owned several Manual/Automatic watches over the years and this Swiss Army Airboss Mach 4 is by far the most accurate mechanical time pieces I've encountered. The quality exceeded my expectations considering the original price point and the fact that it was further discounted nearly 50%. The heft of the case and substantial leather band bolster confidence in its durability. I added a spring loaded stainless steel butterfly clasp to keep the band intact and reduce eventual wear.

While this watch does not have a hack set feature, I did use a reliable source to set time as close to the GMT Eastern Zone (this being from a reliable website). This same source is sync'd with most electronic devices (computer, cellphones, etc). I've checked this several times over the past few months. Setting the watch with a 5-10 second variance from that source..............and 10 days latter, I'm seeing only a gain of +/- 3 or 4 seconds......this is remarkable! I wind the watch fully. Maintenance is 30 twists at the same time each morning. I set the watch on its side at night, crown side up. Regular wear has not altered the accuracy and I am simply amazed at its precision.

While the movement is unadorned, it is elegant in its simplicity.........This is a MAN's Watch (ladies liking the larger sport timepieces will love it too). The detailed face with two countersinks, applied numerals, internal rotating bezel and sword hands add complexities to a rugged design. The second hand (dial) is unique and a welcome addition.

I was worried about the size (45mm), but my wife loved the look of it and convinced me to make the purchase. I have absolutely no regrets!!! This is truly an heirloom that I will pass to my daughter.

Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victorinox Airboss mach 4, August 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
Great watch. Accurate and looks great! It is not too big or not too small. Perfect size if you ask me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a very fine mechanic watch, for a good price with swiss quality. Victorinox propose a good quality, and i recommend this item, March 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
a very fine mechanic watch, for a good price with swiss quality. Victorinox propose a good quality, and i recommend this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice timepiece for a great price, January 17, 2013
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
This watch is classy yet practical. It keeps great time and looks very good. I would definately recommend this watch to anyone looking for something that that is stylish yet can be worn every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorinox Swiss Army Men's 241381 AirBoss Mach 4 Mechanical Watch (Watch)
This is my first mechanical watch and I am very satisfied with the accuracy, currently about +1 second over 24 hours. It also keeps going several hours past the 56 hours power reserve before it loose the accuracy. I also love the build quality and how it looks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.