Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome episodes
Got this yesterday and just finished watching the entire set. the only complaint is that the episodes are in widescreen but they're on the discs as fullscreen version so on my widescreen tv, i see the black bars on the sides which can get pretty annoying. Anyways, this set has some of my favorite episodes, "Helen Back Again," "Locked Up," "Who Did It To Trina," "Prom...
Published on April 13, 2012 by Alejandro Soto

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more and more episodes
This show is just great and even funnier than the others. My daughter love watching it all the time over and over
Published 8 months ago by Jameson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome episodes, April 13, 2012
By 
Alejandro Soto "Alejandro" (San Jose, California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Victorious: Season 2 (DVD)
Got this yesterday and just finished watching the entire set. the only complaint is that the episodes are in widescreen but they're on the discs as fullscreen version so on my widescreen tv, i see the black bars on the sides which can get pretty annoying. Anyways, this set has some of my favorite episodes, "Helen Back Again," "Locked Up," "Who Did It To Trina," "Prom Wrecker," "Terror On Cupcake Street," and "Ice Cream For Ke$ha" those are just my favorite episodes. there are 12 episode titles but since "Locked up" counts as 2 episodes, there are 13 episodes in total. The episode "A Christmas Tori" was aired during the time season 2 was on the air but it is really the 1st episode of season 3 in production code, and thats what they are going by, so that episode will be included in the season 3 dvd set. overall, this is a great dvd, happy that i bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another season of enjoyable, fun and crazy episodes of "Victorious"!, April 28, 2012
This review is from: Victorious: Season 2 (DVD)
In 2010, from the executive producer of "Drake & Josh", "iCarly", "Kenan & Kel" and "Zoey 101' came a new Nickelodeon series titled "Victorious", starring actress/singer Victoria Justice (known for her role as Lola Martinez on "Zoey 101') as Victoria "Tori" Vega.

"Victorious" focuses on Victoria "Tori" who has been accepted at Hollywood Arts High School, after taking her sister Trina's (played by Daniella Monet) place in a showcase. While Trina is known more for her drive to become an actress, her sister "Tori" has talent that she is not too conscious about and now trying to fit in her new school.

With the DVD release of "Victorious: Season Two", included are 12 episodes featuring Tori Vega as she continues to embrace her musical and acting talent at Hollywood Arts High School. Watch as the rivalry between Tori and Jade starts to heat up. What happens when a guy that Tori likes, uses her? And what happens when the students at Hollywood Arts tries to win a Ke$ha contest?

It's another crazy, fun and entertaining season of Nickelodeon's "Victorious".

"Victorious: Season Two" features the following episodes (spoilerless summaries):

Note: Episodes listing on this DVD is not going by episode series #, but is going by production code #.

DISC 1:

EPISODE 22: Beck Falls for Tori - Tori auditions for a film but finds out later that it is for a stunt double.
EPISODE 28: Helen Back Again - Hollywood Arts High School has a new principal and it's Helen (from "Drake & Josh") and she wants to redo student auditions at Hollywood Arts. Special Guest: Yvette Nicole Brown
EPISODE 26-27: Locked Up (TV Movie) - Tori and the group are invited to perform at Festus' home country in Yerba, but unknown to the group is that Yerba is a very dangerous country.
EPISODE 30: Tori Gets Stuck - Tori and Jade compete in getting a role in the play "Steamboat Suzy". Meanwhile, Robbie is rushed in the hospital and the only person that can donate blood is Tori. Will she jeopardize her role to help him?
EPISODE 30: Tori Tortures Teacher - It's Sikowitz's 10th year anniversary teaching at Hollywood Arts but as Tori tries to celebrate the occasion, she may be making him more depressed.
EPISODE 31: Jade Gets Crushed - Is Andre developing a crush for Jade? What are these feelings he is having?

DISC 2:

EPISODE 29: Who Did It Trina? - Trina is hurt during a performance and it may be sabotage. The members of the group are interrogated by Lane. Special Cameo Appearance by "iCarly" actor Nathan Kress.
EPISODE 21: Beggin' On Your Knees - Tori falls for Ryder Daniels, a popular guy known for using girls at Hollywood Arts High School.
EPISODE 23: Ice Cream for Ke$ha - It's an ice cream contest and whoever can spell Ke$ha will win a special concert at their school. Special Guest: Ke$ha
EPISODE 25: Prom Wrecker - When Jade's performance is canceled due to prom, Jade wants revenge by sabotaging the prom (which Tori is the coordinator of).
EPISODE 32: Terror on Cupcake Street - The group are taking part in a cupcake float for a parade, but the float gets stuck in the bad part of town.
EPISODE 34: Blooptorious - Featuring the puppet Christopher Cane interviewing the stars of "Victorious" and showcasing their bloopers.

VIDEO, AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"Victorious: The Complete Second Season" is presented in full screen, Dolby Digital (English Stereo). The series is shot via Digital and the picture quality is very good on DVD. I didn't notice any major artifacting or digital noise. But for the most part, fans should be pleased with the video and audio.

There are no subtitles but closed captions are included.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Victorious: The Complete Second Season" comes with the following special features:

JUDGMENT CALL:

"Seven Secrets" with Victoria Justice - (22:40) Learn more about the actress who plays Tori Vega on "Victorious". Victoria Justice talks about coming from Hollywood, Florida to Hollywood, California and having her own show. Many more fun facts about the actress!
Behind The Scenes - (:54) Behind-the-scenes of the cast of the "Victorious" two-episode special "Locked Up".

A fun and entertaining series, the second season of "Victorious" has definitely improved since the first season and actress Victoria Justice continues to shine!

When I saw Victoria Justice appearing on "iCarly" last year, I had the feeling that Nickelodeon or even Dan Schneider was planning to use the actress for a new show and I was right. Victoria Justice who had starred on "Zoey 101' and had short roles in various Schneider-related series has her chance to not just showcase her acting but also singing.

And here we are with "Victorious" season two. The cast has since gotten better with their chemistry and Victoria Justice is much more confident playing the lead character and more comfortable in her performance this time around.

The episodes are still fun, silly and enjoyable. I do enjoy the way the writers integrate the characters in each episode and for the most part, the writing has gotten better. For the majority of this season, "Victorious" focuses a lot on Victoria Justice taking on a variety of roles. May it be a singer, a prom coordinator, writing her own play, making her own music, there was definitely a great utilization of the lead actress, while the supporting cast also have plenty of scenes as well.

As for parents who are wondering if this is fine for children, for older children, I can say yes as there is no scenes that caused me to rethink of having my own son watching the series. But the series does focus on teenagers and it's a teen-driven comedy series. I didn't see any violence but kids who like to mimic what they say on TV, it's up to parent if they feel that the show is appropriate.

There are some questionable scenes that parents may object to. One features Cat Valentine accidentally receiving emergency calls on her cell phone and in her naive way, she loves the attention from the calls but doesn't really call 911 to get them help. Another scene that parents may not want their children to watch is "Tori Gets Struck" which features Tori donating blood and when Robbie accidentally drops the bag, the blood explodes on both characters. Definitely something that may freak out younger viewers.

But I personally didn't find anything wrong with older children watching "Victorious" and they may enjoy the music especially the comedy presented in the series. For the most part, these episodes are safe and are intended for young teens or older children.

And as for the series, this is not a musical show in the sense of shows like "Glee". It's a different type of series that takes on teen issues, friendships and wacky situations. The show is primarily about Tori Vega and while others may display their musical or acting chops, its a series about Tori and friends. No one breaks out in song or dance unless the situation calls for it but if anyone is doing any singing, it's Tori Vega and sometimes her very crazy sister Trina.

I found the series to be fun and wacky at times. You have the teen drama, the teen angst and crazy moments, especially when it features ventriloquist Robbie Shapiro and his bad attitude dummy, the spaced out Cat Valentine or Tori's bratty older sister Trina. I did notice that this second season featured less of Beck Oliver and shorter appearances by Tori's sister Trina and the episodes tend to focus on storylines that revolve around Tori, Andre, Jade, Robbie and Cat.

As "Victorious" is on its third season, it's important to note that this is the complete second season of "Victorious" (whereas the first season was released in two DVD volumes).

Overall, "Victorious" is a fun and enjoyable series and with the second season, the episodes continue its fun, crazy hijinks and good music. Victoria Justice has really developed to be a pretty solid actress with a solid voice. So, I pretty much like how her character has been developed in these last two seasons. Also, with the other characters itself, although I felt the writers are playing the naivety of Cat Valentine a bit too much and when there are no laughs but silence, it seems quite a bit awkward. But the acting is much better for this second season, especially as the talent are now settled in.

If you are a fan of "Victorious", this DVD of "Victorious: The Complete Second Season" is recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Acceptable, March 25, 2012
This review is from: Victorious: Season 2 (DVD)
There are various pros and cons of this DVD set. Before I get into that, I'll list the episode order and special features.

Disc 1:
Beck Falls for Tori
Helen Back Again
Locked Up (TV Movie)
Tori Gets Stuck
Tori Tortures Teacher
Jade Gets Crushed

Special Features:
None

Disc 2:
Who Did it to Trina?
Beggin' on Your Knees
Ice Cream for Ke$ha
Prom Wrecker
Terror on Cupcake Street
Blooptorious

Special Features:
Seven Secrets w/Victoria Justice
Behind the Scenes of "Locked Up"
Full Screen Format
Dolby Digital- English Stereo

Now the pros of this DVD are that its a complete season as opposed to volumes like season 1. The only episode missing is "A Christmas Tori," which is season 2 according to Wikipedia but season 3 on iTunes/PSN/etc. The only other pro I can really think of is the price and picture quality. The price is really low as opposed to regular full seasons of shows(especially if you got it from Target this week of Kid's Choice Awards for $8) and the picture is good, not HD or low, more like a little better quality than SD.

Now onto the cons. The cons are that its full screen, stereo sound, and episode order. The full screen version isn't cropped full screen but instead, like the previous releases, the regular widescreen Victorious format but put in full screen with the black bars on top(black bars also on the sides if you have a widescreen TV). Most shows, if broadcast in widescreen, are true widescreen on their DVD releases. Now, when the show is broadcast and watched in HD, it has surround sound, some season sets of shows will put the surround sound on the DVDs despite it not being Blu-Ray, this is not the case with Victorious. If you have a surround sound system then you'll be stuck with Victorious being stereo. The episode order isn't really that big of a deal, it's easy to get over and is predictable since Nick does this with Victorious, iCarly, and most of their shows when released as a season. It's not big but I'm sure most fans of this show, and most of Nick's shows, would like the episodes to be in the correct order.

In conclusion, this set is good if you're just looking to complete your Victorious sets and that's pretty much it. It's basically a typical Nick release with all of the usual specifications. If you're a Victorious die-hard fan then this set is for you but if you're just the casual fan who wants a set that has the episodes in a format similar to their TV airing in HD then you're better off just buying the season off of iTunes or some other digital market. There are no differences between this set on Amazon or the one Target currently has out, Target just has it earlier due to their promotion of the Kids Choice Awards 2012. Hope this review helps all of you Victorious fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As expected, November 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorious: Season 2 (DVD)
My daughter loves this series and even my son will watch it with her on trips where peace and quiet is desired for the driver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VICTORIOUS Season 2, December 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The second season is even better than I thought it would be!! It is so funny!! Including the first and last episodes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series In ONE Package, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorious: Season 2 (DVD)
I still don't understand why Season One is split up into two parts, but I do know that I'm glad to have this one altogether. This is a great series and definitely one I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun show, April 3, 2014
Great show for kids to watch when traveling. It is very funny and clean content, kids can watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victorious Season 2, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorious: Season 2 (DVD)
Great Season! Love every episode! Can't wait for the 3rd season to be released on DVD! Great Buy! Great Deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family friendly, February 18, 2014
Very sweet and motivating. No sexual inuendos... cute actors. Family friendly show, I have boys and they like thids show not just for girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter's favorite show., April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Victorious: Season 2 (DVD)
I bought this dvd for my daughter for Christmas. This has benn her favorite show for some time , even though it has been cancelled. Now she can watch it whenever she wants to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Victorious: Season 2
Victorious: Season 2 by Russ Reinsel (DVD - 2012)
$16.99 $12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.