Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well for the price.
Can see upwards of 150 in the dark of night. The audio starts getting distorted if your audience is sitting over 80 feet away and talking in a light noise area at normal conversation volume.

I would say buy the 100ft cord and power supply offered under the "people buy this product with" list. This comes with no cords or anything but when combined with the cords...
Published on March 20, 2012 by Robert Garner

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for the price
This camera performs well in the dark within 10' Generally these lower dollar cameras has a poor mount design but this one is solid...
Published on June 11, 2012 by NotSoSlow


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well for the price., March 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
Can see upwards of 150 in the dark of night. The audio starts getting distorted if your audience is sitting over 80 feet away and talking in a light noise area at normal conversation volume.

I would say buy the 100ft cord and power supply offered under the "people buy this product with" list. This comes with no cords or anything but when combined with the cords is cheaper than buying the camera with the cords.

It's relatively versatile and you can mount it anywhere. You may want to consider buying some separate screws to mount it though, the ones it came with didn't seems very long-lasting so i bought a few self-tapping metal screws.

As described: this product works great outside, even in the summer heat and frigid winters. I live in California so this camera has been exposed to 5 degrees F and also 104 degrees F and it still functions properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic deal, much better than anticipated, August 9, 2012
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
This camera is pretty good for the outside, actually. I have bought several for my business and was amazed that it would see so well in almost total sales, yet the little lights would hardly glow (perfect, actually). The distance is about 60 feet is awesome, then dropping from there. I have been putting these in place of the expensive "name-brand" cameras that the installer originally put in. These are way better, cheaper, and have already lasted longer than the others.
Con- the mount is cheap and tricky, but once it's set, it's set. I used the existing one for most of mine. You can actually get one of those big enclosures for this if you wanted, as the screw holes are there.

Note- I've actually purchased A TON of cameras and gear from these guys from here and eBay. Never disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for the price, June 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
This camera performs well in the dark within 10' Generally these lower dollar cameras has a poor mount design but this one is solid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio Security Camera, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
Great product, works very well, I purchased it to document behavier from a disgruntal neighbor. I connected it to a standard VCR. AAAAAA +++++++ Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor product. Totally unsatisfactory durability., September 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
I purchased 4 of these cameras in the summer of 2012. They all worked for a while. Suddenly, in July of 1013 3 of the 4 cameras simply quit working with no warning. I am now left with one of the original cameras and have no idea when it will cease to function. Having said that, I am not too confident of it lasting much longer based on how soon the three identical companion cameras simply died. Do not purchase this product.

When I reported this issue to the vendor this was their response:

"We offer 30 days return, replacement and 90 days repair warranty, since your item was purchased more than 30 days ago, so we are not able to do the return for you any more.

Best regards

Customer service"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infrared doesn't work well at all, September 5, 2013
By 
LG (Allen, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
I bought 4 of the cameras and the all have the same results with the infrared. I have all of them set inside the house. Works fine in the day but at night with no ambient light, the camera picks up nothing. I may barely see a pixelated white blob that appeared to be part of my couch but that's it. I have bought cameras in the $50 range that works much better in the dark. I think I'll go back to paying a little more for the cameras. I had bought the camera mostly for the sound feature and assumed the infrared would work like the other videosecu cameras that I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good camera, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
The images seem clear and the night vision is better than some others I bought. The microphone is very sensitive. During initial setup and testing we had placed it about 5 feet from a wall clock and we could hear the ticking from the clock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent piece of equipment, October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
Well, overall this is a pretty good camera. It has it's pro's and con's but don't they all? It has good night vision even in total darkness at least 40' .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VideoSecu Day Night Infrared Audio Security Camera Built-in Microphone for CCTV Home Surveillance DVR System with Free Warning S, April 28, 2012
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
The Main problem I found with this camera was the INSTALLATION process: it would've been much easier to install, if the camera's AV RCA cables were not hard wired to the back of the camera.. I choose to install this camera OUTDOORS above my window, based on my main reason for buying it. If the RCA cables going to the camera were not "hardwired" directly to it's back. It would not have taken me 4 hours to complete this simple installation; the "hard wired" RCA AV cables presented much lack of maneuverability in handling the cables from the camera through a drilled hole, thus making the whole installation an awkward time consuming experience, among other added unrelated issues. I had to do more drilling than expected through a 10 inch thick window frame, which is constructed with a combination of hard wood, and concrete in order to fish the camera's RCA AV cables through that hole to the inside my house, the window frame situation ,I am NOT blaming on the hard wired camera design totally, but it figured into the overall problem to a great degree nonetheless. I am assuming most of you guys that gave this camera 5 stars, have bought it mainly for INDOORS use,since such installation should take 15 minutes, and the maximum time approximately half an hour....but in my "outdoor" installation scenario, the AV RCA cables being "irremovable," from the camera posed awkward problems,in addition to unrelated problems drilling a hole to fish the cable through a 10 inch thick window frame "end to end," the bulky RCA cables tied to the fairly large camera, posed many problems. I mistakenly thought after finally completed creating the initial hole in the window frame that the bulk of the "installation, was done; but that was just the beginning, since there were much more "re drilling" done to "widen" the hole so that the bulky RCA cables that kept getting tangled up half way through the length of the hole in the window frame,required re-drilling" to widen the hole, so I drilled again, and again, until I had a gaping hole of about 1.5 inches that was wide enough to fairly "maneuver" the awkwardly designed camera and it's bulky attached RCA AV cables through the hole into my house,thus connecting them to the monitor... The installation thereafter was completed within 15 minutes...The camera's AV video output is mediocre ,on the grainy side, but good enough for the price, however, I would NEVER buy any outdoor camera with the video-audio RCA cables "HARD WIRED TO THE CAMERA" ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vid camera day/night with mic, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VideoSecu CCTV Bullet Outdoor Security Camera 520TVL High Resolution Built-in Microphone IR-Cut Filter Infrared Day Night Vision Audio Video Camera for DVR Home Surveillance System with Bonus Warning Sticker (Black) CXU (Personal Computers)
Camera shows picture upclose, as if it were in zoom mode. I can see so much more details upclose, very pleased.
During the day light hours the color and picture are crisp and clear; but night time hours it loses all color turning picture into blk and white only. But the night vision is great! No outside light needed and can see up to 100' ft so clearly as if there were a light on.
I have not tinkered with the audio portion yet so can not speak about that.
So if you want a (BAM) In your face view with great night vision then this is the camera for you. Plan to order a few more and pleased with the low price camera is listed at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.