Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent place to begin
If you would like to undertake the daunting task of studying the history of the little-understood country of Vietnam, this is the place to begin. Professor Woods book is brief, but not deficient. It is readable, concise, and entertaining--characteristics not often found in history texts. Furthermore, the illustrations and maps make the narrative come alive. While the...
Published on February 27, 2003 by Hyrum Lewis

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An OKAY book
Before reading this book I knew that it would be an overview of the history of Vietnam with little details; and I assumed this book would be a good starting point for me to explore Vietnamese history, but it didn't do the job for me.

The manner in which the author presented the order of events were confusing and very difficult to follow as it seems like he was...
Published on December 13, 2009 by Hannah T. Nguyen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent place to begin, February 27, 2003
This review is from: Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene)) (Paperback)
If you would like to undertake the daunting task of studying the history of the little-understood country of Vietnam, this is the place to begin. Professor Woods book is brief, but not deficient. It is readable, concise, and entertaining--characteristics not often found in history texts. Furthermore, the illustrations and maps make the narrative come alive. While the book is too short to answer all of the student's questions, it will give general guidelines to launch a more comprehensive study of Vietnam and its related countries in Asia. Woods is a terrific scholar with the unique ability to cut through the scholarly jargon and verbosity to give the reader a clear overall picture of what Vietnam's history is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An OKAY book, December 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene)) (Paperback)
Before reading this book I knew that it would be an overview of the history of Vietnam with little details; and I assumed this book would be a good starting point for me to explore Vietnamese history, but it didn't do the job for me.

The manner in which the author presented the order of events were confusing and very difficult to follow as it seems like he was jumping back and forth between decades/centuries. The grammar is untasteful and rough to my ears in spots of the book. The pacing of the book seemed inconsistent - he presented a lot of details in the beginning and the middle, but the ending was so abrupt and rushed...it didn't have any substance like the rest of the book.

On another note, it seems as though there are not many Vietnamese history books that goes back in the 1800s (mostly starting with the Vietnam War) - so I appreciate the author for writing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It would have gotten 4 stars but, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene)) (Paperback)
The previous reviewer made good points about this book, it's brief but gives the reader a general view about Vietnamese history. It's very organized and uses a classical essay style of writing. It's a scholarly book, quite obviously written as a textbook. And therein lies the problem.

There are many assumptions that the author makes and he chooses to present them as facts. They may be scholarly assumptions but presenting them as facts is still misleading and therefore, wrong.

If Mr. Woods had simply said "It can therefore be assumed that ...", I would have gone ahead and given his book the four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Easy read but questionable interpretation, August 17, 2013
This review is from: Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene)) (Paperback)
This is an easy book to read if you want a real quick overview of Vietnam history. However, be careful of what you read as the explanations are too brief, over simplified and sometimes in great conflict with other works on history of Vietnam. Nevertheless, it's small enough size makes it easy to pack along to read on a plane to Vietnam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice brief history about Vietnam, July 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene)) (Paperback)
This is a nice concise history of a beautiful country with beautiful people who unfortunately spent far too much of the first two thousand years AD under the rule of imperialist nations. Congrats to the Vietnamese on their independence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Useful Introduction, April 21, 2013
By 
Gary Caplan (YARMOUTH, ME, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene)) (Paperback)
A basic useful history, but should be supplemented with other readings, as some events may have been rendered in too compressed a fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene))
Vietnam: An Illustrated History (Illustrated Histories (Hippocrene)) by L. Shelton Woods (Paperback - February 1, 2002)
$14.95 $13.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.