Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings
Upon receiving this today, I had to put it down after just a few minutes because the anger returned looking at these pictures, which rival Matthew Brady's portrayal of the US Civil War in my book as the best photojournalism of war.

But after gathering myself and reopening these pages, I feel tearful sorrow.

The photos - some searingly graphic, such...
Published 13 months ago by Martin Zook

versus
17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vietnam: The Real War-- Not as real as it pretends to be.
Dear Readers,
Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History captures mainly only one dimension of the
multi-faceted Vietnam War. In that sense it does not succeed in portraying "the real war."
The photojournalists who took the photos, while competent professionals, seem to focus
exclusively on the tragedies, and in the process seem to have...
Published 11 months ago by J. J. Barrera


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
Upon receiving this today, I had to put it down after just a few minutes because the anger returned looking at these pictures, which rival Matthew Brady's portrayal of the US Civil War in my book as the best photojournalism of war.

But after gathering myself and reopening these pages, I feel tearful sorrow.

The photos - some searingly graphic, such as the bodies of North Vietnamese dragged to a site for mass burial, others heart rending, including a woman who has just discovered the body of her husband - are grouped into seven chronological chapters, an introduction by Pete Hamill, and an Epilogue. Tet gets its own chapter.

Some of the photos of the action, particularly skies filled with menacing choppers, are mind boggling. One photo shows a line of choppers laying machine gun fire into woods surrounding a landing site. Another shows choppers on the ground to the horizon with waves more arriving.

There's a sense of hopelessness to US soldiers in the jungle, often waiting for a medivac, sometimes standing beside a wounded comrade, sometimes next to a body bag.

Mostly, there is great suffering.

This is a book I will keep at hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War---who needs it,, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
You can't love a book like this, but you can appreciate the courage, the collection effort, how divisive the war was, and how brave the men were for each other(most of the time). Having been a part of the war, I still find it difficult to go through the book--takes time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photojournalism At Its Very Best, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
The Associated Press sent its first reporters to Vietnam soon after the French military returned to the country in 1945. During the next thirty years what started out as a distant colonial war grew into the principle military struggle of the Cold War. The whole time, the Associated Press was on the ground writing stories and taking photos. To do this, the AP hired and cultivated the best photojournalists of the era.

"Vietnam: The Real War" is a photographic history of the conflict. Most of the photos come from AP's archive but when necessary the editors have included photos from non-AP sources. The text lightly covers the history of the war. Its real strength is telling the stories of the AP photographers and journalists. These are the stories of the intrepid journalists who brought the war to the world's newspapers and magazines.

The "Golden Age" of photographic journalism is often seen as having taken place during the Spanish Civil War and Second World War. A whole cottage industry has arisen to chronicle the works of the great Magnum photographers, Robert Capa, David Seymour and George Rodgers. The photographic history of the Korean and Vietnam wars have never generated the same interest among historians and authors. Perhaps this is because of our nation's more troubled relationship with these conflicts. Neither the Korean nor the Vietnam War were ever considered "Good Wars" fought by a "Greatest Generation."

It is unfortunate that the great photojournalists of the Vietnam War never received the recognition they were due. "Vietnam: The Read War" is a collection of extraordinary photographs that move way beyond merely documenting the horrors of war. There are beautifully composed images that leave the world of illustration and enter the realm of fine art. Those images say as much about the insanity of war as any work by Goya. This is a great book that will be enjoyed by people interested in both history and photography. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Coffee Table Book, December 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
This book is really a copy cat of "The Eyewitness History of the Vietnam War" put together by George Esper and The Associated Press published in 1983 in soft cover. There are very few different photographs in this new book. The 1983 version has more text about our troops, it's not just pics.

I was irritated with one pic. On pg 250 the caption refers to soldiers giving a "V" sign, those soldiers are giving the peace sign. The soldier with both fists in the air is a black soldier and he is giving the black power sign. With that off my chest I would highly recommend this hard cover book. Brought back some "fond" memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
I have seen many of these photos before. Seeing them again helps me to recall the pain, anguish and horror that so many people of my age had to endure. My own time in the Army, 1963-64, never required me to be in Vietnam and I consider myself very lucky for that. As I talk with other veterans who were not so fortunate my heart goes out to them. I wish our country had done a better job of recognizing their sacrifice so many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb photo documentation of Vietnam from the AP Archives, November 19, 2013
By 
Gary L. Misch "glm" (Syria, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
Superb photo documentation of Vietnam, with just enough captioning to give context. You won't find all the great or memorable Vietnam pictures here - this is an Associated Press book, but it's full of superb shots by some of the great photo journalists who worked in Southeast Asia. If Vietnam is part of your memory, I highly recommend this book. You won't just read it once and forget it. The book is more than just random photos. There is a story thread woven through it, based on correspondence from the AP Saigon bureau. In retrospect, it makes the whole Vietnam adventure seem stupid, but of course ALL hindsight is 20/20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The real war that most people didn't want to see, January 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
As a combat veteran of the Vietnam war, I found many of the photo's disturbing, as I expected. It brought me back to a place I'm not sure I wanted to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History In Picture, November 12, 2013
By 
jamie21 (Knoxville, TN.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
Vietnam was unique for reporters & photo journalists compared to recent conflicts in that they could hitch a ride & go where ever they wanted without being embedded as they are required to do now. This resulted in some "tell it like it is" on the ground reporting. These are some of the Associated Press most memorable shots of the war from the early 1960's thru the mid-70s. They are very often heartbreaking but honest. This is not a coffee-table book, but it is a photographic history of the real war in Vietnam from the ground up. It includes a 15 page introduction by journalist Pete Hamill & all pictured are captioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vietnam: The Real War-- Not as real as it pretends to be., December 21, 2013
By 
J. J. Barrera "Combat Veteran" (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
Dear Readers,
Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History captures mainly only one dimension of the
multi-faceted Vietnam War. In that sense it does not succeed in portraying "the real war."
The photojournalists who took the photos, while competent professionals, seem to focus
exclusively on the tragedies, and in the process seem to have missed the triumphs.There
are too many photos of pain, fear, and loss and too much incomplete captioning of the pictures.
The substandard captioning fails to adequately explain the circumstances of
the firefights and casualties depicted. The result is that this book turns into a pictorial chronicle
of failure.
It may be true that the U.S. lost the Vietnam War. But as a combat veteran of that war, I can attest
that we won almost all the battles. We lost for political reasons, not battlefield reasons. This fact
gets lost in Vietnam: The Real War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great pictoral account of those lost years of our country., November 16, 2013
By 
John Veenhuizen, Jr. (Augusta, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press (Hardcover)
For anyone involved in that war, like myself, it was a refreshing look at the events through the eyes/lens of people not peering down the length of a rifle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vietnam: The Real War: A Photographic History by the Associated Press
$40.00 $27.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.