Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for the price; some unpublished details
Handles only two finger touch screen gestures (spec in the manual), which could well be sufficient. The similar optical sensor Compaq specs 3-touch, at similar prices though not as much discounted. Apparently iPads use more fingers; large screens with that very expensive. Screen is responsive, unlike some optical ones in palm sizes. The optical touch sensor allows a...
Published 22 months ago by glresearch

versus
84 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor - but trouble with Windows 8 edge gestures
As a touchscreen monitor this is a great product: great image quality and great value. However, the bezel isn't flush with the screen so the Windows 8 gestures that require you to move in from the side are difficult to accomplish. As you sweep from the bezel, your finger doesn't enter at the exact edge of the screen, so Windows 8 often doesn't recognize the gestures...
Published 23 months ago by Michael A Foody


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor - but trouble with Windows 8 edge gestures, November 26, 2012
By 
Michael A Foody (Saratoga, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
As a touchscreen monitor this is a great product: great image quality and great value. However, the bezel isn't flush with the screen so the Windows 8 gestures that require you to move in from the side are difficult to accomplish. As you sweep from the bezel, your finger doesn't enter at the exact edge of the screen, so Windows 8 often doesn't recognize the gestures. It's possible to learn to get them to work much of the time: start the gesture by touching the screen right at its edge with your fingernail "pointing in," but I still have trouble with the top and bottom gestures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good for the price; some unpublished details, December 15, 2012
By 
glresearch (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
Handles only two finger touch screen gestures (spec in the manual), which could well be sufficient. The similar optical sensor Compaq specs 3-touch, at similar prices though not as much discounted. Apparently iPads use more fingers; large screens with that very expensive. Screen is responsive, unlike some optical ones in palm sizes. The optical touch sensor allows a very rugged screen surface.

The touch screen was recognized by Windows without installing Viewsonic drivers, apparently handled by Logitech mouse support software. Seems to be a standard input device now. The touch feature appears as a pointing device or mouse in Windows.

For the price seems well built and functional; more function costs a lot more.

Can be connected with an HDMI cable through a simple plug adapter, but the HDTV resolution 1920 x 1080 will show letterboxed indented 7/8" each side. [can be fixed in settings; see comments] This does not occur with a DVI video card. Older widescreen monitor format 16:10 1680 x 1050 shows full screen with adapters for pc use. A high end VGA/RGB interface should work but many older video cards do not present high resolutions on that output, giving more on a DVI output. There is no apparent difference in the video signals in these cases because the unit is able to present the 1920 x 1080 image, and there is only a simple pin-to-pin mapping in the HDMI adapter. I suspect there is an HDMI licensing issue and some restriction on displaying HDMI output unmodified without a license; the DVI is noted as HDCP, the industry copy protection system, despite not HDMI. An older issue of aspect ratios with computer monitors being 16:10 compared to TV's 16:9 does not apply, as the dimensions of this screen really are 16:9 and it works that way on DVI. Unfortunately I do not have access to the competing products to see if they also handle signals in this peculiar way. Newer ones probably have HDCP and do the same thing.

The DVI connection lacks Digital Rights Mgt handshaking with HDMI TV devices, DVR's etc., so even with an adapter those will not connect.
Monitors must have a true HDMI jack to use those inputs, and cost more because of royalties besides the hardware. Touch screens in large sizes are little benefit for TV program play as viewer is not within reach, compared to smaller tablets held close. If really needed, a processing box type adapter might work, at extra cost.

The screen is not as anti-glare as coated screens though specified as anti-glare, but such coatings cannot be used on a touch screen -- and get worn off even on regular monitors. Ironically the boiler plate manual includes a warning not to touch the screen because of finger dirt. There have long been add-on glare screens however, including a hang-on type from ViewGuard (usually reserved for the different privacy filters, which aren't anti-glare at all).

A simple plastic stand is included at the low price, fastened with the VESA attachment instead of separately, so the metric size screws are provided. All sorts of VESA attachment stands are available at extra cost from various suppliers. The low power LED display needs less stand-off from a wall as older fluorescent screens, less hot. Has 4" spaced VESA attachment holes.

Added note on anti-glare: some made by matte finish instead of coatings -- picture frame plastic sheet available in this for example. But it can reduce crispness of images, matter of taste. Seems mfg's have moved towards polished surfaces, probably to make more impressive, and you can stick on a matte finish film if desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best touch screen value out there! Works flawlessly with my Surface Pro and Plugable USB 3.0 docking station., February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
Bought this unit to wall mount in a workstation docking location for a Surface Pro. Unit is connected via DVI, USB and audio to a Plugable UD-3000 USB 3.0 Universal Docking Station for Windows 8, 7, XP (DVI, VGA, or HDMI to 2048x1152, Gigabit Ethernet, Audio, 2 USB 3.0 Ports, 4 USB 2.0 Ports, 4A AC Power Adapter). Everything fired right up; monitor at native resolution, touch enabled and accurate and audio working with a good bump in volume vs Surface Pro speakers.

Pros:
- size
- colors for main user
- touch accuracy
- built in speakers
- price/value
- VESA mount
- resolution matches hd laptop resolution
- reaching for screen to click a button actually works!

Cons
- colors yellow for off center viewers
- screen glare in high ambient light
- DVI only might be an issue for some
- no bezel touch ability means some gestures don't work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeds expectations, November 20, 2012
By 
Paul A. Jordan "pj reader" (Norcross, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
I wanted a touch screen for windows 8 but did not want to spend a fortune. This monitor was not only attractively priced, the quality exceeds expectations. The clarity and sharpness of this monitor is stunning. Set up could not be easier ... plug it in and windows 8 took over and it works perfectly. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ViewSonic touch screen, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
works excellent, much better than i expected, easy to set up very clear picture, we are quite pleased with the product and amazons great service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a POS (Point of Sale) system, not a POS, August 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
This monitor was purchased to replace a failed monitor to my Point of Sale system (register) in my business, "Zorfs" in Phoenix. This monitor was a definite upgrade to the previous one, being larger and thinner. The POS system requires a touch screen, a DVI input, and a USB input to operate correctly. This monitor met all these requirements. The company servicing my POS quoted me a price of $400.00 to replace the failed monitor with the smaller design. This monitor was almost half that cost. The touch screen works so much better than the previous unit. My bar tenders love it saying it's as responsive as an iPad screen. The colors are very vivid, the screen very attractive having minimal border edging. ViewSonic has already established a reputation as being very reliable and I hope and anticipate my monitor will be another quality item from this company. I plan on purchasing another monitor just like this one to replace the other (working) POS monitor in my restaurant/bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor!!!, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
This monitor is very inexpensive and the HD is great. It is a great addition fro Windows 8. Very satisfied with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calibrate the Screen in Windows 8 and it works great, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
I've seen a number of reviews complaining about the inability to get gestures working on the edges of this monitor in Windows 8. I had the same problem, for example getting the "charms" bar to appear when swiping in from the right. The solution is to calibrate the touchscreen display in the control panel and then it works fine. Windows 8 is still a challenge for those of us used to mouse-and-keyboard, but that's a problem with the OS, not this touchscreen product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works great for the price., May 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
This product works as advertised. I wanted easier interaction with some of the computer's programs and a touch screen monitor was the best way to go. I like this monitor because it has a large screen and at a good price. Very responsive and easy to use. I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because I think depending on your computer or resolution the touch screen can drift especially near the top and needs to be recalibrated (tap the +) every now and then. Another thing I want to point out. The screen it's self isn't touch receptive but rather has an optical coordinate grid just a millimeter above the actual screen. What this means is if a fly or insect or something lands on the screen it will respond. It would probably be better if it used capacitance based touch like what are used in smart phones and tablets. But for the price it's really a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monitor, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic TD2220 22-Inch Screen LED-Lit Touch Display Monitor (Personal Computers)
This monitor is easy to use and just right for the distance between chair and screen. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced touchscreen monitor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.