Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Viewsonic VP151
I recently purchased my 2nd LCD monitor and it was the Viewsonic VP151 and I absolutely love it! It has by far the best picture in its 15-inch class and I haven't even run it in digital mode yet, but plan to very soon! It has pretty much everything you need in an LCD, it has USB hubs, analog and digital inputs, and also a very useful S-video connection that I have been...
Published on August 10, 2000

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best LCD Monitor But What A Shame
I bought this because I wanted the best I could buy in a 15" inch. Although there are many things I like very much about it, I have to say that I expected more for the price. Perhaps it is simply a reflection of the state of the technology. I assume that you've read the specs so I won't go into all the neat stuff this LCD is capable of. I thought I'd share some...
Published on August 5, 2000 by nooneliveshereanymore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best LCD Monitor But What A Shame, August 5, 2000
By 
"nooneliveshereanymore" (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor (Electronics)
I bought this because I wanted the best I could buy in a 15" inch. Although there are many things I like very much about it, I have to say that I expected more for the price. Perhaps it is simply a reflection of the state of the technology. I assume that you've read the specs so I won't go into all the neat stuff this LCD is capable of. I thought I'd share some of the things that don't come across on the spec sheets and which I am less than thrilled about:
- The speakers are simply awful. They are like having an AM only radio in your new BMW.
- The controls for the monitor consist of four buttons on the monitor and seven button on the base. The legend is beige on beige. After fumbling with them for a few days I pretty much settled on the on/off button. I mean, turning on the picture in picture display (which you can use to watch video) takes FIFTEEN button clicks. And that's if you hit the right button each and every time.
- There was no attempt made to manage the cables. By the time you have the monitor hooked up to your computer, you'll have at least six cables running out of the back. The power cord is black, the USB cable is beige with a black connector, the VGA cable is beige with a blue connector. There are also three thick cables running between the LCD and the base. This isn't the monitor to put with the back facing the visitors in your office.
- The manual is almost 300 pages. It's also in English, French, Spanish, Italian, Swedish, Polish, and a dozen-odd other languages. Which means you really only get 19 pages in English. Make that 8 pages. The other pages are useless stuff like Safety Precautions (don't mount in your bathtub), FCC info (not tested for use in a bathtub), warranty (thinking of using in the bathtub voids the warranty), troubleshooting (if your screen has condenstation on it, you are using it in an improper room). Anyway, you get the idea. A small manual is no bid deal as far as I am concerned. But the cramped instructions and tiny cabling diagrams (the box comes with no fewer than 11 cables) reminded me of the badly printed and barely comprehensible instructions I received with the barbeque I recently bought.
- No drivers for NT that I can find. Which is a shame since that means you can't use the monitor in portrait mode under NT.
I realize I am being picky but hey, for the price I have a right to be. So why did I keep it. Simple. I need a monitor with rock steady signals that can go up to 1280x1024 and nothing else comes close (most monitors on the market top out at 1024x768). Like I said, this monitor is probably a product of its generation. It feels and works like it was put together by an engineer with no sense of design.
So, if you can wait for the next generation, do. If you need an LCD monitor now, this is probably the one. Unless you can spend $3,000 for a large display in which case you may want to look at Silicon Graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, March 6, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor (Electronics)
I bought this for its 1280x1024 resolution, but in fact its native resolution is only 1024x768 (XGA) -- at least, that's what it says on the carton. The manual says nothing (in 14 different languages) except that the recommended resolution is 1024x768 and the maximum is 1280x1024 (on a PC). It is possible to run it at 1280x1024, but then text looks fuzzy. The monitor works very well at 1024x768, but there are much cheaper alternatives that also work well at that resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Viewsonic VP151, August 10, 2000
A Kid's Review
This review is from: ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor (Electronics)
I recently purchased my 2nd LCD monitor and it was the Viewsonic VP151 and I absolutely love it! It has by far the best picture in its 15-inch class and I haven't even run it in digital mode yet, but plan to very soon! It has pretty much everything you need in an LCD, it has USB hubs, analog and digital inputs, and also a very useful S-video connection that I have been using to see videos and pictures from my digital camera! And what's really cool is that you have the picture in picture capability with this LCD. Viewsonic by far makes a far superior product than any other monitor company out there, and I have seen many in my personal and business life. I can honestly say Viewsonic has an arsenal of extraordinary technology at its disposal and I am very happy that I found their technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Awesome....., August 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor (Electronics)
Hello,
I just got this LCD display as a gift from my parents for my 17th birthday. I wanted the best 15'inch display money could buy, and let me tell you my parents delivered.
I love watching TV in the Picture & Picture Mode while I blow-away all my friends playing Quake 2, I couldn't possibly ask for more.
Thanks ViewSonic,
Ryan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ViewSonic on Top is True!!, August 10, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor (Electronics)
I was familiar with the ViewSonic brand so when I went out to purchase an LCD flat panel I figured I needed to do some exploring due to the pricing. I checked out several other brands & came back to the ViewSonic for numerous reasons. This was the most impressive display I have found. It fit all my needs along with price. It has super wide viewing angles & the picture in picture is a fabulous feature. It allows composite video input from your DVD to run live while working real time on other PC applications with a resize and relocate feature. The monitor pivots to landscape and portrait modes. This unit can be wall mountable. It is lightweight and very attractive to look at. I could go on and on about all the advanced technical features but seeing is believing.
When looking for a viewpanel I highly recommend the VP151. You won't be disappointed and ViewSonic remains on Top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 15" LCD for the money, August 10, 2000
By 
Ty (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor (Electronics)
The previous guy made some good points that I agree with but it seems like he was having a bad day or something when he wrote it. My co-worker owns this model and if I had the money I would have bought it too (I bought the VP150...see my review for that one). The dual inputs are great because you can take advantage of even better picture quality and sharpness with the digital connection(you need a video card with a digital input for this part). If you just have a regular video card you connect up using the standard 15 pin connection that everybody has. Having the USB hubs on the monitor is very handy(wish mine had this) because you can connect your USB peripherals into the monitor without having to reach back behind your computer desk. The speakers are average but then speakers that are built into any monitor are never better than average since they are only 2-5watt speakers at best. I can say they are better than what the person above wrote about, but don't expect dolby sound or something. If you've got the money, this model is by far the best on the market. The digital picture is the best you will ever see. period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love-hate relationship, August 11, 2000
By 
"nooneliveshereanymore" (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor (Electronics)
Wow, three 5-star recommendations in one day. If I was the suspicious type, I would think that someone with an interest in this product decided to raise the average.
It's now a week after my initial review (and three months that I've been using this monitor) and I still feel the same way about the monitor.
It is great from a technology stand-point. Nothing better on the market in its size.
But what the specs don't tell you is how inconvenient the technology is. We have come to expect our computer to be more than beige boxes. Shound't we expect our keyboard, mouse and monitor to reflect a deep understanding of human-machine interface design? Keyboard and mice manufacturers have risen to the challenge. Monitor manufacturers haven't. And this product is a reflection of that failure.
My recommendation still stands. If you care only about technology, then buy it. But if you bought a high end VCR a few years ago and hated it because it flashed 12:00 continuously then you should probably pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ViewSonic VP-151 15" LCD Monitor
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.