Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viewsonic got what matters right.
The last monitor I owned was a 24" Gateway--all the bells and whistles. What's sad though is that Gateway, when designing their monitors, was so caught in throwing on little flashy trinkets that they forgot to master what really matters: the picture and price. Thats why people buy monitors...not for heat sensing adjustment buttons and a bunch of extra slots beyond HDMI,...
Published on August 11, 2010 by Charles Paul

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HIGH FAILURE RATE
I purchased 95 of these monitors for use in the office where I work. They were purchased in October 2010. As of March 1, 2011 we have had 11 fail in the same manner. All of them have a failure that seems to be related to the powersupply or the backlight, according to our IT department. All were purchased new. Some have failed within the first day of use others after a...
Published on March 2, 2011 by Michael Rowe (Personal)


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viewsonic got what matters right., August 11, 2010
By 
Charles Paul (USAF Academy, CO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
The last monitor I owned was a 24" Gateway--all the bells and whistles. What's sad though is that Gateway, when designing their monitors, was so caught in throwing on little flashy trinkets that they forgot to master what really matters: the picture and price. Thats why people buy monitors...not for heat sensing adjustment buttons and a bunch of extra slots beyond HDMI, DVI and VGA.

Viewsonic made me smile after using this thing for a few days. Good looks, GREAT contrast ratio, supersonic response time, and picture quality (no glare like gateways chrome screen). 1 slot each for HDMI, VGA, and DVI. It also has SRS sound built in while most monitors are silent. That sums it up though; nothing else is tacked onto this monitor to jack up the price. You'll get the picture quality of a $400+ monitor for half the price...because you're only paying for what you NEED. No extra bull. Don't be scared for quality by the economy price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't be happier, October 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
I got this monitor for my room in college and couldn't be happier. It has a HDMI port which is convenient for my Xbox 360 and displays in full HD. No dead pixels or complaints. The glossy finish is nice but does show dust quite easily. Whats nice is that the screen is anti glare which is great during the day, especially if located near a window. The monitor arrived promptly and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great software dev monitor!, November 18, 2010
By 
Scott "Scott" (Lake Villa, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
Love this monitor. Out of the box, it wasn't quite right-- a little fuzzy. To clear things up with my PC, I had to make two adjustements (note, I'm using an NVidia graphics card-- I assume anything else will have similar changes needed):

With HDMI input:
1. Set the Digital Color Format to YCbCr444
In NVIDIA control panel, this setting is under Advanced Settings-->Video & Television-->Select digital color format

2. Tell the monitor to use PC input from the built in menuing system:
Input Select-->HDMI PC

The first step makes black look BLACK.
The second step handles crispness of any fonts. I'm a computer programmer, so crisp text is pretty important.

Other notes: The built in speakers are a big step up from my laptop speakers, so they are nice to have. They won't wow you, but they aren't 'tinny' sounding either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice, September 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
I recently purchased the VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor from Amazon. The resolution, picture quality and ease of installment were all very satisfactory. It is stylish and funtional without a lot of buttons and gimmicks. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting this kind of product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HIGH FAILURE RATE, March 2, 2011
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
I purchased 95 of these monitors for use in the office where I work. They were purchased in October 2010. As of March 1, 2011 we have had 11 fail in the same manner. All of them have a failure that seems to be related to the powersupply or the backlight, according to our IT department. All were purchased new. Some have failed within the first day of use others after a couple of months. They are being replaced slowly as they fail under warranty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viewsonic Monitor, October 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
This monitor is SUPERB in every way. There's simply nothing bad to say about it. X-box games JUMP off the screen, the viewing angles are good, controls are simple and effective, and the speakers are adequate. For the price, it's SPECTACULAR. The only downside, which really has nothing to do with the monitor itself, is Viewsonics documentation is somewhat lacking, and their tech (at least the one I talked to, is a moron.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful bargain, December 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
Simply put, this is a great monitor. Color is vivid, picture is clear, full HD and price is right. Its connectivity is great, having ports of hdmi, div, vga. Of note, it comes only with vga and dvi cables. But it does not matter as hdmi cable is so cheap and easy to find nowadays. The only downside is the sound. It tends to be low. But I don't rely on it that much anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great monitor, no complaints, November 9, 2010
By 
captain_tg "TG" (Grand Rapids, MI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
i have had this monitor for about a month now and it has been great. i have not had any problems with it. i am using it as a second monitor for my laptop for things like typing research papers and other times when i really need a dual screen. the rest of the time, i use this monitor as my primary when i have my laptop at my desk. the colors in this monitor are great, very vivid and the fact that it is 1080p is GREAT. the one thing that i have noticed is that the contrast ratio is not as great as some sets even with the full 100,000:1 dynamic set (when watching movies with dark scenes), however this is more bias figuring i am probably comparing it to the plasma tv that i have at home, so it is about right figuring this is only an LCD. i am thinking about buying viewsonic's 24" LED monitor for the same price and selling this one, but i have not decided on that and that shouldn't deter people from thinking that this is not a great product. another plus for buyers is the packaging that was used to send the monitor, it was packed very well and; amazon knows how to do it right. something else that seems like it is always forgotten is the list of stuff out of the box. this monitor comes with both the VGA and DVI cables, so no matter what you have, it should be good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Monitor, October 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
Used this on my Late '06 Macbook Pro as a dual monitor setup and with my xbox 360.

Pro
-Price
-Big
-Clear text
-Great for editing photos due to the variations of color present

Con
-When i plug the audio into my macbook pro, I get this staticy noise on the moniter speakers as someone else has mentioned in their review.
-Speakers are worthless. The speakers on my macbook pro are way better
-The button controls are cumbersome

Overall
Great image quality, bad speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great video, so-so audio, poor push buttons, October 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ViewSonic VX2439WM 24-Inch Wide Full HD Monitor features HDMI Input and SRS Premium Sound (Electronics)
The Video is great just like any other 1920x1080 monitors. The SRS audio is lacking of base. I heard other non-SRS monitor speakers have better quality. The worst part is the 4 Menu push buttons on the side. The up/down keys are sticky (at least on mine). When I push up once, the menu jumped up two lines and so is the donw key. Also, the most frequently used Volume and Video-Input selections are buried in side the complicated menu screen. It takes several pushes to get to where you want. I have another Acer 24" monitor with Volume and Video-Input dedicated buttons right on the front bezel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.