Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hack and Slash/Fantasy Action Adventure Gem
J. Hornbuckle's review compelled me to write my own take here (i.e. he didn't even get to the first dragon summon before he wrote it, which means he didn't even get to the first major battle).

And before I get to my review, I have to highlight this line from his:

"Plenty of gore and brutality for the teenagers to enjoy"

I read that and I...
Published on March 31, 2008 by J. Kellner

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Viking: Great graphics and good gameplay, but nothing else to offer
MY PERSONAL OPINION: Despite outstanding graphics, decent gameplay, and easy achievements, this game falls very short as far as story, variety, customization, and originality.

PROS:

-Graphics are truthfully on the level of Assassin's Creed. Need I say more?

-Gameplay was one of the better features, but it was still a pretty simple and...
Published on October 25, 2009 by Shaun L. Stoffer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hack and Slash/Fantasy Action Adventure Gem, March 31, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
J. Hornbuckle's review compelled me to write my own take here (i.e. he didn't even get to the first dragon summon before he wrote it, which means he didn't even get to the first major battle).

And before I get to my review, I have to highlight this line from his:

"Plenty of gore and brutality for the teenagers to enjoy"

I read that and I just had to write this counter-review. How is that kind of viewpoint helpful in deciding to buy a game like Viking? So here's a review from a 32 yr old metalhead who is into bloody, slow motion limb chopping in video games:

Gameplay: There are 20 or so different moves, and there is a strategy for each enemy type- so you aren't just rushing in and mashing buttons. If a Legion soldier has a wooden shield, for example, you use the shield crusher (hold LB + tap X twice) to splinter his shield first. The highlight of the gameplay for me is the counterattack- hold LT and hit Y to dash backwards- then hit A right when the enemy strike goes by. The timing for this move is excuisite- enemies will time their strikes differently in anticipation of your counter, so you have to watch to time it correctly (sometimes enemies will delay their attack til the last possible moment, making it impossible to counter!).

There are QTEs to kill Legion Giants and Champions. I think they are implemented fairly well (QTEs normally bother me).

This is an open world game, so you're able to pretty much go where you want and complete objectives in almost any order.

Visuals: A feast. There is a wide variety of landscapes and weather/atmosphere. Honestly this game has my jaw dropping as much as any game on the 360. There are some truly epic vistas that will have you stopping to admire the ridiculous draw distance and amazing environments. The artistry and design is top notch.

Sound: A mixed bag. Most sounds are fine, but the voice acting is weak and there are a few really bad sound effects (the rope ladder sound is possibly the worst sound effect ever). The music is typical and used sporadically, but I turned it off and streamed viking metal from my PC (Theudho, Valkyria, Moonsorrow etc make a perfect soundtrack).

Length and replayability: I think I'm close to the end, and I've been playing for around 20 or so hours. I'm going to play through it again on hard difficulty as soon as I beat it- the gameplay is fun and varied enough to keep you coming back.

Large scale battles: When you build up your Viking army enough and complete certain objectives, you can launch an assault on Legion controlled settlements- the battles are huge, with hundreds of participants (sometimes you can't see the ground anywhere into the distance, there are so many guys onscreen- you can even lose sight of which one is you). This aspect of the game is intense and epic, and a hell of a lot of fun. And there are dragons.

The graphics are phenomenal but I would say the strongpoint is the gameplay, it's really well done and a lot of fun to play. I would probably only recommend Viking as a definite purchase if you're into fantasy hack and slash games- it's not a genre crossover hit. But if you like this kind of game, you're going to remember this one for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little underrated.., April 9, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is not an oblivion type game dont go into this game with that approach.Its very different and takes much less time to master. A lot of people said this game was a little difficult. To me after you kill about 50 guys you have about played as hard as the game is going to get. The game is easy but not too easy but does present challenges at some points though. Enemies in groups of about 2-6 are really easy but if you go into a area with around 20 or so it will be a lot more challenging. The games quest ideas are good and a break from the ordinary. With that said this is a good game to buy if you like hack and slash type games are just beautiful amounts of gore. The game runs around 10-15 hours which is a little long for this game i think it would have been better if they would have kicked about 3 hours of useless gameplay out.
overalls:
gameplay 7.5
graphics 8.5
sound 10.0
ai 7.0
overall 8.0-9.0
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful time killer, average story, October 10, 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Viking follows the warrior Skarinn, a Viking with epileptic seizures who has been selected as the champion of Freya against the forces of Hel, Lokis daughter, who has raised an undead army to conquer Midgard.

Viking is as straightforward a beat-em-up as you can find. The game plays like a drawn out guerilla campaign. Raise your forces, find them supplies and reinforcements, and assualt various positions held by the unded Legion. These missions are fairly straightforward and have little in the way of variety, thoguh finding the proper path forward can be a trial at times.

The graphics give this game its best punch. The combat plays in slow motion at times, during fatalities and other gruesome swordplay, which'll slake any devotee of the Blood-and-guts god. The enemies and other Vikings are rather cookie cutter, but the action is fast paced enough you'll barely notice. The atmosphere is also well handled, and though there are some nasty glare moments, the effect serves to highlight the difference in sides. Hels controlled areas are dark and foreboding, with rolling stormclouds and dreary, depressing showers, whereas Freyas land is bright and cheery, with butterflies and birdsong.

Gameplay is simple and straightforward. You buy higher level abilities, but otherwise the game follows a rather predictable pattern: get overwhelmed and you're hosed. Magic makes a useful appearance, and is a significant boon during the assualts that periodically happen throughout the game. In addition to setting your sword afire with a flame spell, you'll also grant the same effect to every Viking within reach, making it a very worthwhile strategic spell.

The story is passable, but nearly glossed over in gameplay. While the story and dialouge between Hel and Freya is a nice counterpoint, you'll want to get to the next fight so badly you won't really care what they're saying. The visions that Skarin has throughout the game are a better story element, as well as the beautiful cel shaded storybook scenes between levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Viking: Great graphics and good gameplay, but nothing else to offer, October 25, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
MY PERSONAL OPINION: Despite outstanding graphics, decent gameplay, and easy achievements, this game falls very short as far as story, variety, customization, and originality.

PROS:

-Graphics are truthfully on the level of Assassin's Creed. Need I say more?

-Gameplay was one of the better features, but it was still a pretty simple and dumbed down hack n slash game. True you can dismember enemies, but that offers little more than graphic pleasure. It would have been much more entertaining if maybe you could disarm enemies or even cut an arm off and have them keep fighting. I thought the bosses were pretty easy as well; all you have to do really is dodge and wait for a certain button to pop up and press it.

In truth, all you have to do to defeat the majority of enemies is mash one or two buttons again and again till they go down. Also, whenever your attacks land you gain energy for your charge attacks, which reminded me of the musou attacks from Dynasty Warriors.

-Looting is fine but nothing out of the ordinary. All you have to do is run over items that your enemies drop, like health potions, to obtain the. Except for chests, then you have to either hold or tap a button.

CONS:
- The story is about a resurrected Viking who goes on a campaign to seek vengeance and reclaim his homeland from an evil Greek Goddess. Sound a little like God of War? Also, the main character doesn't say one word and so you get no character development. There are also no plot twists, notable supporting characters, factions. Nada.

-One of the things that I was super disappointed with is that you can never upgrade nor change your weapons. Your three main weapons are your sword, axe, and throwing axes. Also, there is no armor or repairing in the game.

-The only thing you can really do with the money you earn is buy health items or new combos (which don't really change the game all that much).

-You can't customize your character at all. No clothes, haircuts, or tattoos - nothing.

-You're always on foot. It would have been nice if you could have had the option to buy a horse or have been able to ride your dragons so you don't have to walk everywhere all the time.

-The missions themselves are very repetitive and lack variety. You rescue other Vikings, kill some traitor, or kill a group of enemies to clear a location.

-The enemies themselves aren't anything special either, there are about eight different types of enemies and each class of unit all look exactly the same as the next. The enemies you typically encounter don't have much to distinguish themselves as far as difficulty other than the fact that they have a shield or you have to hit them more times before they finally go down.

-What most critics are saying that is so great about this game is the huge battles. In reality, there are only 3 or 4 of them and if you try to fight the whole army you'll die over and over again. The point is to take out the groups of sorcerers to stop the spawning of new troops. So, it's really a trick to make you think it's going to be awesome when really it's like Dynasty Warriors in the sense that all you have is take out the leaders and you win automatically.

Specifically, all you have to do is rush towards and kill the sorcerers manually or use your tokens to get your dragon to kill them for you. You get these tokens for doing things like killing all the archers or killing a giant.

Also, the objectives for these big battles never change; the only thing that separates each battle from the next is the scenario and landscape.

LAST NOTE: Viking is worth the cheap price it is now on Amazon of less than ten dollars, but it became a real bore, almost a chore, to finish after few hours of playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, December 24, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Many websites will have you believe that this game is easy, and can be played through in 6 to 8 hours. However, this is a lie, and it took me (a skilled gamer) over 25 hours to complete. The graphics are easily among the best on the console (just look at the in-game screenshots that are provided by Amazon [found below the boxart on the first page]). the game does have a very simple story (that is presented more to justify the action), but this doesn't really distract from the game's overall immaculate quality, because the real treat in Viking is in its incredible swordplay and massive battles. No game haas ever attempted to create battles of the scale seen in this game. The scenery in the game looks very pretty, and there is an absolutely massive world to explore (consisting of three large islands). The game never really gets old due to its challenging missions, and the fact that the scenery changes dramatically from area to area. there are about 20 new moves and combos to learn, and each finishing move is gory and presented in slow motiion. Each successful hit and crunchy limb-removing hack feels like a truly real sword hitting flesh. The game is bruatal, beautiful and lastly, it is very unique. Each large battle wont lag a bit (oddly, some of the smaller fights can lag, although even the largest final battles dont have a single framerate hitch), and no other game has ever attempted to introduce scale even close to this. Nor has anyone ever presented a game centered around vikings. I'm looking forward to a sequal! You will not be dissappoionted. BY THE WAY, GAMESTOP OFFERS THE GAME NEW FOR $20!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viking is EPIC!, August 17, 2008
By 
L. Barker (Abilene, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Viking: Battle for Asgard is an example of a great game with bad reviewers with negative opinions which are ALL false! Playing through this game is an experience in itself; from the graphics, sound, to the overall game play; all balanced, and FANTASTICALLY EPIC!

This game's graphics have to be seen to be believed. The water effects of the ocean looks real, with the surrounding forest areas even more startlingly photo realistic. I loved it all, and so will you.

The sound really drew me in from the fluttering of bird's wings, to dried leaves falling out of trees as I walked underneath, to the sound of a giant dragon as it fried the enemy with scorching flames; no other game comes close to this.

As for game play, I enjoyed the game from start to finish. Blood and gore fans take note- this game is for you! With over a dozen deadly slashing moves with swords, knifes, axes, and even one special move where you call in a dragon,Viking does it all and does it well!

Overall, Viking is an excellent game. I take my hat off to Sega for bringing such a well balanced and magically superb adventure to my little gamer fingers! Well done!!

The Bottom Line: Viking: Battle for Asgard is for fans of blood and gore. This well made game gives the player a truly epic experience that should not be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly fun game, April 17, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Much better than the published reviews would have you believe. Sort of a combination of fable and dynasty warriors with a very cool Beowulf type mythos. What the game is a bit thin on is depth. You have only 2 meelee weapons to use throughout the game, there are only a handful of upgrades and items to purchase, and with few exceptions, you fight the same enemy types pretty much throughout the game. That being said, I had a blast with this game.
Here's my run down of pros and cons:
+ open world environment to explore
+ a few stealth missions for added variety
+ nice graphics
+ auto save feature that keeps frustration from deaths to a minimum
+ there's actually a basic story to justify the action
+ good length to the campaign
+ large scale battles are pretty sweet

- could have used more depth in combat, loot and enemy types
- lacking in supporting characters and main character backstory
- Magic use is limited to a handful of elemental spells
- starts to get repetative about 3/4 of the way through
- 2 melee weapons ....2

Overall this is a great concept and a solid action game. If they make a sequel with some added depth and polish, this could evolve into a AAA series. Don't expect God of War or Ninja Gaiden, but this one is definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must be playing the wrong game, February 1, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
First off i did not get this game because of what the reviews state. i needed a great hack and slash game that contained alot of gore and good storyline. this game met my expectations.

CONS

1: yes you have to walk around alot, but what open end game don't you walk around in? Assasins creed, Grand theft auto, etc. The graphics are great so hey enjoy the scenery for a bit. But yes i get mad at times becuase you wish your character could pick up the pace a little.

2: weapon upgrade. more of a personal thing. you can purchase ruins to get nice features added but buying bigger swords and axes is always fun as well.

PROS:

1. the story line is good. once again i walked into this game thinking a cheezy storyline but i was impressed (so far)

2. the graphics are great. the gory is amazing! the surroundings are good eye candy and i catch myself stopping on a hill top looking around.

3. the controls are great.

Ok i could go on but bottom line the game is good. I read some reviews on the controls during battle, and getting killed because you get ambushed by on coming enemies. When you encounter an enemy, your character sneaks around until they are out of eye sight. take advantage and sneak around and pick them off. common sense. if you see a battalion of legion soldiers, walk the other way or hide! of course you will get killed. i had no trouble sneaking around the legion camps killing them off one by one. adds to the game and plus it is an acheivement if you kill certain amount of enemies from behind. (hint hint). Also the dragon you can summon. easy to summon. first thing is you can only summon the dragons during big battles and if you have dragon ruins. and to summon? uh press A. not very hard.

So yes i loved this game. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised - Great hack n' slash and stealthy fun from start to finish., February 11, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Other reviewers have done a good job describing the gameplay, so I'll skip it. I was skeptical of the game when it released - it looked lame, frankly. But when the price dropped to 1/4th the original retail price I figured I'd take a shot at it. I'm glad I did. The price was a bargain - a steal.

I'm not generally a fan of hack n' slash gaming, but this was a blast from start to finish. I didn't care the story was shallow. I didn't care that the majority of the gameplay is "go to <location> and clear out the Legion" - it was a blast. Hacking one enemy was enjoyable - taking on 5 or 10 at a time was great and literally wading through the vast sea of Legion during the epic siege battles was over-the-top fun. Kudos for such massive battles and keeping the frame rate solid !! I even enjoyed the stealthy gameplay of searching for skulls in the various cities. Fantastic graphics, solid voice acting & decent music make the game a gem.

Could it have had more? Sure. Should it have had more? Yeah, a simple skirmish multiplayer mode would have been awesome... which is why I gave it 4 stars overall. But what is in the game is pure hack n' slash goodness and I couldn't put it down until I finished, which is fairly rare for me. I immediately played through again on the hard setting and had just as much fun - I even did a few things I missed the first time. I'm hoping for a sequel, but doubt we'll get one. Sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Skarin was a Viking..., November 18, 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
...he would have been left on a hillside to die of stupidity.

In reality, the most frustrating thing is the inability to have Skarin attack who or what you want him to attack in melee. There are many times throughout the game when items need to be destroyed. However, Skarin will only target these things until he is attacked, at which point he turns around to attack the enemy who attacked him. It's almost a wrestling match to get him to stop attacking the enemy and start attacking what you want him to attack (or stop him from attacking a wimpy enemy and go after the powerful one).

A mini-map would be useful (or at least a detailed map of the surrounding area) as there are times when getting to where you need to be is unnecessarily difficult because the location requires you to go through a cave, or up a hill, or through a maze of canyons.

Those frustrations aside, the rest of the game is entertaining. The various deaths Skarin can inflict are amusing and don't get old, even after seeing them a lot.

Overall, I would say this game is a solid rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360
Viking: Battle for Asgard - Xbox 360 by Sega Of America, Inc. (Xbox 360)
$33.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.