Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Strumbellas Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
Format: Toy|Change
Price:$30.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2007
I first got introduced to the original Munchkin game only about a month ago through my boyfriend, and I fell in love. Soon after I had to have my own set and decided on Munchkin Fu. Good choice! It requires a little bit of strategic thinking, but thats what I love about the game. And this particular set is great bc we all love those silly kung fu movies, and this game is like being in your very own kung fu movie...not really, but it is still a lot of fun.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
I've played many other versions of Munchkin before, and this is the first one that started my collection! I'm Korean, so of course I had to buy this version that poked fun at the Asian genre. Definitely one of more unique versions. This one has more flair to it, rather than just the fact that its "Kung fu" themed.

Some of its high points are that the monsters can very easily go from weak to strong. (The Gaki monsters can be strengthened by ANY card in any players' hand to give it +2) Hong Kong monsters can be played on each other like undead monsters. There definitely are more "level up" cards than needed, but that adds to the challenge. The gold cost on the items is also higher, therefore buying levels is easier too. (But most of the items are so cool that you don't want to give them up.)

It's definitely a great standalone, but it's even better if you mix it with another good version of Munchkin (Star/Apocalypse/Super). If you don't mind a little harmless fun, and some corny puns, then this is for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2008
Munchkin Fu is a great variation on the near-classic Munchkin gameplay.

You battle your munchkin warriors (yakuza, samurai, monk or ninja) against hordes of demons, Gaki and other monsters and collect heaps of treasure and weapons along the way.

The game is fast-paced, VERY varied (and funny too), and easy to set up and play. It's just two card decks and one dice. Simple!

I'm taking off one star just because it's got a fairly steep learning curve. There are a lot of rules, and every card in the deck has it's own set of rules to follow. It can be very overwhelming for a new player... but it's interesting enough to stick with it, and after your first game, it's easy to plan strategies and keep up with the rules and gameplay.

Another item to note is that most Munchkin decks can be combined. ie. you can use your Munchkin Fu decks with your regular Munchkin decks, or other Munchkin games. Rules for combining decks are included.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Got this for Christmas, but have played it before. It is truly one of the more entertaining Munchkin sets. If you think it's unbalanced then add something to it! The Styles and Classes offer really nice bonuses and the weapons are commonly stacked. You will laugh at all the kung fu jokes such as ....of your grandfather

Buy this now!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
By now, Munchkin has become something of an icon in the non-electronic gaming world. The game play is relatively straightforward: (1) collect cards that give you points, (2) flip over cards that depict monsters, (3) compare your points to the "level" of the monster, (4) defeat the monster or attempt to escape (depending on the results of your points comparison).

Each card contains its own set of rules that affect game play, so each card contains (often substantial) text.

The game is fairly flexible in terms of the number of players it can accommodate, but somewhere between 3-5 is probably best. If you stick to those numbers, a game will usually take around 30-45 minutes.

This game can be played as a standalone (kung fu themed) set and is also compatible with any of the (many) Munchkin expansions, so a player may consistently add new cards to the deck in order to breathe new life into the game.

Overall, the play is very fun, portable, fast-paced, and often amusing. The jabs at well-known kung fu movie tropes are all very entertaining, and the addition of martial arts cards adds a fun new element to game play.

APPROPRIATE AUDIENCE: Hardcore gamers will enjoy this as a "warm-up" between their more complicated gaming sessions. It's a very useful tool for introducing newcomers to these kinds of games (although Fluxx or Current Number of the Beast are maybe even better for this purpose).

Finally, this particular set is (obviously) kung fu themed -- in other words, if the player doesn't enjoy (or won't understand) Bruce Lee or ninja jokes, you are better off getting a different set of Munchkin cards (Zombie Munchkin for horror fans, Conan Munchkin for fantasy fans, etc).

OVERALL SCORE: B (at this point, the game is too venerable to consider anything less, and the kung fu theme is very well done).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2012
I bought this to play at my Dojo's christmas party. After much convincing I got everyone to play. Everyone had a great time seeing all the spoofs of asian culture like the fighting style of To-Fu or the card that can be added to any weapon to make it "...of my grandfather". It could take a bit to understand the first time, but if you have at least one player with experience, it is a breeze to get through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 22, 2004
Are you sick of dungons and space? Are you sick of orcs, and the singing and dancing sword? Have no Fear Munchkin Fu is here.
All the fun of Munchkin now making fun of the cheezy kung fu movies and shows of the past.
Can be combined with the other versions.
Tons of fun , buy it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2011
This is a wonderful and funny card game The cards are creative and funny makes the game even more enjoyable.I have 4 munchkin sets including this one. It gets really interesting when you start combining sets. This game is highly addictive overall. The only problem I have if any is finding a constant 3rd player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2011
All the Munchkin games are great. This ninja spin-off from the original is very clever and tons of fun. You can put as little or as much thought into it as you'd like - either way it's going to be a blast.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2012
This is a fantastic game; however, beware, it can turn out to be a very long game. It is a fun family/friends game, though. It has a good replay experience because each person will most likely get a different set of cards for each game. I suggest playing with 4-5 people. Also, the game is a lot more fun if every player knows the rules and played before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items

$18.89
$19.18

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.