Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Tattoos
Vintage Tattoos is an impressive compilation of true Americana. Exploring ink life from the carnival to the navy and throughout a century of beauty, icons, and curiosity, Carol Clerk brings an unbiased voyage of truly personal art and obsession.
Published on October 4, 2009 by N. Palazzo

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice images, bad information
Nice collection of vintage tattoo images & flash, but like many other "tattoo history" books, light on the facts. More repeats of the same old fictions about tattoo artists that have been repeated everywhere. Enjoy for the nice collection of images of vintage/classic flash, but look elsewhere for actual history.
Published on January 3, 2011 by a tattooed researcher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Tattoos, October 4, 2009
By 
N. Palazzo (Providence, RI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
Vintage Tattoos is an impressive compilation of true Americana. Exploring ink life from the carnival to the navy and throughout a century of beauty, icons, and curiosity, Carol Clerk brings an unbiased voyage of truly personal art and obsession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Tattoo Flash, May 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
There is no shortage of tattoo books coming out these days.I liked this one because it dealt with old school flash which is my preference.A lot of interesting information and well illustrated.Quite a bit on George Burchett and his work which I found especially good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much More Than Expected - Books Like This Are A Must Have, September 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
This is a great book. It's that simple. If you're at all interested in classic or vintage tattoos then let this be your first book on the subject, or if you have other tattoo topic books, then you need to add this to that collection.

I was interested in a book on old school or vintage tattoos. My main purpose was to learn a little bit more about Sailor Jerry Collins and his influences. I thought maybe there would be some other interesting tidbits of information on the history of what we now consider "vintage tattoos" and maybe some cool pictures - what I got was an amazing surprise.

There is so much fantastic and detailed information - none of it boring. The book takes you on an incredible journey through time, style, artists and even equipment.

Even if you don't know how to read, the pictures and old flash of these vintage tattoos are worth the price of admission ... ok, the price of the book, but you get the point.

Whether you're looking for tattoo ideas, a tattoo history lesson or want to have a unique perspective on vintage tattoos - this is a must add to your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book!, November 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
This book is awesome...plenty of "olde tyme" tattoo flash for reference. People talk about "old school" all the time and don't really know what they're talking about...this book is entirely compiled of the original old school style flash and not awkward modern reinterpretations of it.

The drawings contained in this book were created by self-taught untrained artists who only had a limited range of subject matter to emulate and execute. Many of the drawings may seem a bit rough and primitive but remember the art of tattoo has only recently been adopted by the fine arts community and this book represents the traditional artwork of tattooists in the early part of the twentieth century...in it's completely unadulterated form without the self consciousness of modern art. This book is a must for the serious collector or general enthusiast of classical European/American tattoo traditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of old school flashes, September 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
I bought this book after getting my first tattoo, while looking through it I relized how beautiful the old school designs are. Before Kat Von D you had the masters like sailor Jerry Collins, Jack Dracula, and Bert Grimm. If you want a look at what tattoo art should look like i suggest buying this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty, December 14, 2010
By 
Johnny Torres (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
Pretty classy looking book. Nice history of tattooing and the pictures are a great collection for anyone into the classic/historical tattoo narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice images, bad information, January 3, 2011
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
Nice collection of vintage tattoo images & flash, but like many other "tattoo history" books, light on the facts. More repeats of the same old fictions about tattoo artists that have been repeated everywhere. Enjoy for the nice collection of images of vintage/classic flash, but look elsewhere for actual history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, April 27, 2010
By 
R. Collins "baby" (Middle of California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
I thought it would be more flash. Still interesting book. Good buy if you enjoy Traditional tattoos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Price!, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
Goog Book !!! Good Price !!! Thanks Amazon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Tattoos, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art (Paperback)
This was a gift for my son-in-law. He is a tattoo artist and was very pleased with this book. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art
Vintage Tattoos: The Book of Old-School Skin Art by Carol Clerk (Paperback - February 17, 2009)
$29.95 $26.96
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.