Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Virgin Witch (Remastered Edition) [Blu-ray]
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Melvins Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 18, 2010
Having a lifelong weakness for Witchcraft ceremonies, Black Masses, Covens as well as late 60's/early 70's fashions and Eurobabes, this film from Redemption was a given for a demented mind such as mine. Lots of British strumpets looking fab in micro-mini skirts, boots and figure-revealing fashions, along with copious amounts of nudity in a Hammer-esque tale of witches and warlocks and sleaze, Oh My! As horror, it's hokum, though a few scenes do capture the look and feel one hopes for in movies of this nature; as exploitation it's admirable for those of us who grew up with Creepy, Eerie and Vampirella mags, Hammer and Amicus Horror flicks, Frank Frazetta and Boris Vallejo paintings. For the rest of you 'virgins', it'll probably suck, so be warned. For the remainder of us Pagans, it's nudity is notable and the cheese index cranked... decide for yourself based on these disclosures...
1010 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2008
Unlike many Hammer releases, it at least portrays sex with more than a childish laugh. Overall, this takes itself too seriously and the plot becomes too indistinct towards the end. However, the dated fashion is worth a look as is the squalid fashion photographer. Not to mention the main sisters involved, (later to be seen in the TV series 'Allo Allo'). It seems this was made as an excuse to show plenty of nudity from two highly charming sisters and some poorly constructed witchcraft scenes.
22 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2006
Yeah, there's this coven of witches, and a couple of cute girls are being lured into it, but that doesn't prevent this film from being only so-so at best. One of the girls becomes the plaything of the head female witch, but any potential eroticism is wasted as they never actually do anything together. Aside from a couple of brief moments when the girls are without their clothes, this film was just plain boring.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIRGIN WITCH is a British film from 1972 about two innocent, uber-model-type sisters, and their plunge into satanic depravity. The siblings, Christine and Betty, are invited to a weekend at the mansion of a modeling agency magnate. It turns out that they've been chosen to join a coven of witches. Christine gets ahold of an eeevil black book of spells, and all bets are off, as well as all the clothes! VIRGIN WITCH has more female nudity than most such films, especially during the ritual / orgy sequences. It's a silly romp through the world of 70s soft-core horror, and can't be taken very seriously. It's also a lot of fun...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
There is not much else to say about this film other than it is about two sisters that find themselves to be of interest by a coven of witches. Why? Witchcraft of course.

This movie isn't horrible but it isn't the best either. There isn't any elements of horror to it. It tries to sound like an after school special on the dangers of witchcraft at times but it didn't try hard enough to make me believe there was any danger in it. In fact the whole film is more of a situational drama/thriller of cliches based on all social perspectives of witchcraft. The plot is slow and predictable. So much that you know exactly where one scene is leading to another. Even the climactic end.

The movie has it's 70's sort of charm with cheeky immemorible actors. Nude scenes tend to fill in the dull moving pace. It probably would be better as a drive in movie.

I am not going to highly recommend this film to everyone. It definitely has that "cult" film thing going for it. No pun intended. It just seems a specific someone not everyone will enjoy this film. If that is you, then more power to ya.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
First and most important things first - the Redemption disc is CHEAPLY made of thin-feeling, brittle Mylar, and the case seems to be flimsy plastic (possibly recycled, but that's no excuse for shoddy construction). It's so bad that the first version of this disc I purchased, I wasn't able to get the disc out of its case the first time without BREAKING it (a combination of a spindle that's designed to hold the disc too tightly in place, and a disc that's not very durable)! I sent it back to Amazon for a refund, then re-ordered - being forewarned this time, I C-A-R-E-F-U-L-L-Y removed the disc and put it in a separate case that's better-constructed.

The movie itself? I'm not sure how much help "remastering" can be with a film this slapdash, but I'll bet it's been a long time since this movie looked this - "good" is too strong a word, but credit where it's due, the colors certainly pop and it there are a lot fewer scratches or jump-cuts than you'd fear. It's a pretty typical Eurosleaze Horror Potboiler, full of (very) softcore sex (a lot of it lesbian), music that's ridiculously out of place for a film of this type, acting that ranges from mediocre to laughable, and a plot that - well, I think it's about a young innocent model being seduced into a cult of witches...only she's not that innocent after all!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Virgin Witch (Ray Austin, 1972)

If you hear the name Vicki Michelle and you jump in your seat, you want to see this movie. (Note, after my terrible experience with Bloodsucker Leads the Dance a few weeks back: while Redemption Video got their hands on this, thankfully, that is not the cut you can find on Netflix Instant as I write this.) If you don't, then you can safely pass it by without a worry, but to fill you in: Michelle played Yvette, one of the perpetually-horny waitresses in the smash Britcom 'Allo Allo! in the eighties and early nineties. And that, my friends, is absolutely, positively the only reason you would want to watch this otherwise ridiculous waste of celluloid.

Plot: Michelle and her sister Ann play (not surprisingly) sisters Betty and Christine, new to London, slightly lonely, and looking for jobs as models. Betty is the first to find herself a beau, Johnny (The Spy Who Loved Me's Keith Buckley), but Christine is the first to land herself a job. It involves a photo shoot out at a country estate and, since she has no idea what she's in for, Christine only agrees to do it if Betty will go along. The agency agrees, and off they go into the country. They soon learn that the house is, anecdotally, located on a site that was the home of many pagan rituals back in the old days. And perhaps in the not-so-old days...

All of which could make for a good atmospheric Brit horror film in the right hands (read: Hammer's), but Austin--who made only one feature film after this (1974's Curse of the Dead), but became a very popular TV director until the turn of the century--uses the plot as a premise for getting Ann Michelle out of her clothing as much as possible. And yes, some folks might consider this a spoiler, but given the first paragraph, I guarantee you are wondering if you're still reading this--yes, Vicki Michelle does get naked, however briefly, towards the end of the film. And like I said, that is the only reason anyone could possibly have for wanting to watch this ridiculous movie forty years later. * ½
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2015
Brilliantly cheap. Unfortunately, unlike many other 70's sex n' gore exploitation films, this one fails to find the fun of its subject matter. Lots of sex and tension, with a faaabulous looking cast (ascots and neck scarves abound, and everyone has an allergy to using buttons), but the sound quality is more horrific than the villains, the plot is muddy and almost existentially pointless, and it allgive the feeling of an opportunity for high camp missed by that much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
A nice piece of Nostalgia for the days of the British Invasion of birds and chaps with a lot of nude witches and suggestive dialog. The director here is Ray Austin, who worked on various Avengers series and Hammer House of Horror. He does a good job with a middle-grade script. There is a nice twist here that I was not expecting - so that was a pleasant surprise.

For a good film about witches see Hammer's The Devil Rides Out (Also known as the "Devil's Bride" here in the States).

Nevertheless, this is a fun film and the trailers for the Jean Rollins (sp?) films are an added bonus. However silly "Virgin Witch" is these other films look much much sillier.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
Well, I must say I thought the story was pretty weak but the vintage TNA made up for some of it! So if your looking for a movie with a deep meaning to it or a socially redeeming value I don't think this is the one for you. Bu if you like your tna with a certain amount of cheese this might work out okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.