Robin non-member

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$7.48 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Virginia Creeper
 
See larger image
 

Virginia Creeper

Grant-Lee PhillipsAudio CD
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)

Price: $17.88 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Friday, Aug. 1? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
MP3 Music, 11 Songs, 2010 $9.49  
Audio CD, 2004 $17.88  

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         

Samples
Song Title Time Price
listen  1. Mona Lisa 4:11$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  2. Waking Memory 4:07$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  3. Lily-A-Passion 4:30$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  4. Dirty Secret 3:37$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  5. Always Friends 3:33$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  6. Calamity Jane 3:44$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  7. Josephine Of The Swamps 5:22$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  8. Far End Of The Night 4:46$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen  9. Susannah Little 6:08$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen10. Wish I Knew 3:58$0.99  Buy MP3 
listen11. Hickory Wind 4:08$0.99  Buy MP3 


Amazon's Grant-Lee Phillips Store

Visit Amazon's Grant-Lee Phillips Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

Virginia Creeper + Mobilize + Mighty Joe Moon
Price for all three: $43.27

Buy the selected items together
  • Mobilize $11.41
  • Mighty Joe Moon $13.98


Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 24, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Zoe Records
  • ASIN: B00019JQ1Y
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #190,075 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

With his third solo release since dissolving Grant Lee Buffalo, one of roots rock's great also-rans, Phillips relishes the relative advantages of the singer-songwriter style. He sketches characters with nuance, tosses off epigrammatic love songs, dives into painterly rural reveries, traces an obscure Southern myth while banging on a banjo, and offers bittersweet praise to friendship. His voice and melodic knack are all the continuity he needs. That voice, a grainy croon distilled from blue-eyed soul and California country cool, remains a prime attraction. If the tasteful, lissome country-folk backing of steel guitar, fiddle, piano, drums, and harmony vocals from Cindy Wasserman is a tad shy of adventurous, the sound suits the ripe, romantic, and dreamy mood of Phillips's songs. --Roy Kasten

Product Description


Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
(23)
4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grant Lee Creeps towards long overdue success May 3, 2004
By S Hanes
Format:Audio CD
Rewind to 1992. Grunge was exploding, Jack Johnson was an up and coming surfer, and John Mayer was worrying about puberty while Grant Lee Phillips quietly released "Fuzzy", a near perfect debut album with the quasi-legendary Grant Lee Buffalo. Four star reviews and blistering live sets followed but commercial success would allude the mighty Buffalo.
The masterpiece "Mighty joe Moon" followed to lukewarm commercial results and yet more four+ star reviews.
By the time "Jubilee" had hit the bargain bin and GLB was no more, America had yawned through four outstanding releases from Grant Lee Phillips and band. Grant retreated to the basement and released the understated solo gem "Ladies love oracle" yet another quiet masterpiece to add to the catalogue. The electro-pop experiment "Mobilize" followed, bringing us here to 2004.
"Virginia Creeper" is Grant's third solo album and for the diehard Grant Lee fans the question is not "Will it be good"? but "Will it sell"? In a time where every babyfaced singer songwriter with a push from the record company sells a million records, we can only shake our heads and wonder whether America will let its criminally unknown national treasure slip into obscurity or be finally showered with long overdue commercial success. Rounder records should be able to showcase Grant Lee's talents to a new set of fans outside of the usual alt/rock crowd and to appreciators of...um...country music.
Grant Lee has always defied Genres, and he does not deserve to be thrown into the glad bag of alt/country contendors because Virginia Creeper should appeal to appreciators of all music, whether it be the harder edges of Grant Lee Buffalo or the bluegrass artists featured on Rounder.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best release of 2004 thus far... May 19, 2004
By Slu
Format:Audio CD
I too am an old time GLB fan, but Grant's previous solo records have been nothing more than passing interests for me. This record is different. It has been in my CD player non stop since I got it. In fact I am listening to it while I write this review. It has a nice mood througout the entire record. "Mona Lisa" is a great song and a great start to the record.
People are right when they say it does not compare to a GLB record, but I think almost all the songs sound like GLB songs. None of these songs, individually, would song out of place on a GLB record (except maybe Jubilee), but it is the mood of the whole album that make it different and special.
I gave up on the hope that Grant will finally be noticed by the mainstream a long time ago. Who cares? Be greatful that Grant is still putting out new music that we can all enjoy. Turn your friends on to his music and go see Grant live. It is really amazing. I envy you L.A. folks that get to see Grant @ Largo often. Check out his tour dates on his web page. He plays smaller clubs and tix are not that much, so get out to see him.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grant Lee Phillips's Latest Beauty (4.5 stars) July 21, 2004
Format:Audio CD
That Grant Lee Phillips' solo output has not reached the same legendary indie status of his former band, Grant Lee Buffalo, more than a mystery it's a crime.

"Virginia Creeper," his third solo album, may not be as breathtaking as the hushed "Ladies Love's Oracle" nor as adventurous as "Mobilize," but it is worthy of their company.

Phillips is a remarkable songwriter, capable of the utmost intimacy at the drop of a hat, at ease with creating melodies that, before you know it, can give your thoughts its proper music.

The spare accompaniment here is flawless, mainly gorgeous violin and his acoustic guitar, subtle drums and tasteful piano, and some mandolin and steel guitar which tinge most tunes with Country overtones without lacking a Pop sensibility. Tunes like "Making Memory," "Mona Lisa" or "Always Friends" have exquisite arrangements and remind you of what a great singer Phillips is.

In total, this is an album without low points, more likely the kind where everyone may end up with different new favorites.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius lyrics and beuatiful melodies April 22, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Where does Grant-Lee get his music? This man can reinvent his sound from record to record. Constant through them all, though, is his amazing lyric writing. I read the words to each of these songs the other day without the melody to back them up. Grant-Lee's songs stand on their poetic merit. Listen to the words of Susanna Little and tell me this isn't a 3 minute Steinbeck novella. Better, this song is apparently in tribute to Grant's grandmother so we've been brought into a true family tale of toughness, pain, guts. Throughout the record, gorgeous melodies underpin great writing.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! The best yet! February 26, 2004
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
This is the record I've been waiting for. It's just gorgeous, moving and poignant. My favorite of all the Phillips solo stuff and the GLB stuff. Absolutely a must have. Phillips has grown. His voice has never sounded sweeter and the songs have never been more moving and intimate. The sound of the recording is warm and sparse. You can hear every breath, every instrument, every word. Phillips is a genius. One of the five best songwriters of our generation and one of the five most beautiful voices, too. What an amazing and powerful combination. You'll love this record!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Grant does tough
Phillips has always followed his own muse.
His lyrics and music can be extremely dense at times.
And other times very basic and simple. Read more
Published 12 months ago by Marc Bossi
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of Grant Lee Buffalo BEWARE
If you love beautiful folk-rock in the vein o Ryan Adams more country-tinged work, you will love this album. Read more
Published 20 months ago by Justin Pruitt
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, Simply Moving
This album is not for those looking for a "Rock" album. It IS for those that appreciate Grant-Lee's beautiful voice, music, and lyrics set to an American Folksong flavor, with... Read more
Published on February 3, 2010 by Shonkers
4.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong here!
After listening to some jazz, I put this one in the player, and it instantly impressed me. Grant's voice is smooth and assured, and his lyrics have their own hard-won poetic... Read more
Published on July 2, 2006 by freereign
1.0 out of 5 stars sugar rush
I heard "see america" and "mobilize" by grant-lee a few months ago, and I was hooked. Without doing any research I immediately went out and bought the only cd the cd store had,... Read more
Published on March 18, 2006
5.0 out of 5 stars Relief from Mainstream Music
I had never heard of Grant-Lee Phillips until a few days ago. Now I'm wondering why he isn't more popular. This guy can sing. Read more
Published on September 1, 2005 by Ms. Fitzgerald
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mellow Fellow
Grant-Lee's "Mona Lisa" recently appeared on an episode of TV's "Summerland." It's a mellow opener to this fine set. Read more
Published on July 9, 2004 by Lee Armstrong
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good But Don't expect GLB
On it's own this is an excellent album, but everybody keeps comparing it to GLB albums. This is a very good folk rock album. People have to stop looking for the next GLB album. Read more
Published on March 28, 2004
4.0 out of 5 stars A warm and literate batch
I'm told by reliable sources that MTV, while still ostensibly standing for Music TeleVision, is now one-hundred percent devoid of anything watchable or listenable. Read more
Published on March 27, 2004 by Jeremy L. Petersen
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category