Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, low cost sensor
I purchased this sensor for use with an Arduino and it works really well with it.....BUT, you don't need an Arduino for this to be effective. You can adjust this sensor for sensitivity as well as the latch timing, meaning you can use this without any kind of micro-controller. It gives a "high" state when something/someone comes close and it can drive lights or buzzer,...
Published 20 months ago by WM5E

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars works but slightly misleading
Pros:
Tiny
works out of the box

Cons:
no easy way to mount it directly to a board.
when it says that this can be used in simple circuits without an arduino, they don't tell you that the output signal for when this thing senses activity is really only .3 volts, not the 5 volts I was expecting. something to keep in mind, because the output...
Published 18 months ago by chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, low cost sensor, November 5, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
I purchased this sensor for use with an Arduino and it works really well with it.....BUT, you don't need an Arduino for this to be effective. You can adjust this sensor for sensitivity as well as the latch timing, meaning you can use this without any kind of micro-controller. It gives a "high" state when something/someone comes close and it can drive lights or buzzer, open the shutter on a camera, start a motor or whatever just using a relay or transistor. Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars motion sensing trigger, January 26, 2013
By 
DB (rural USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
Delivery from Virtuabotix was quick and secure. Item was well-packed in an antistatic bag with basic instructions included.

I did not need to download any new libraries. In fact, the sample code that comes with this sensor is only a few lines. The sensor has three pins as described in other reviews and it's about as simple to connect to an Arduino as anything could be. Physically it's thick, so if you've got a proto board or something similar, it's not going to fit just anywhere. I managed to hang it off of one corner with the three pins inserted into three separate rows. It works but it's not elegant.

Without a lot of information, I just set about twiddling the two pots on the thing to figure out what they did and found it fairly easy to adjust the sensing range and the time the signal holds high (at least, I think that's what I was adjusting). Right now it's sitting on my desktop lighting up a green LED whenever someone steps into range.

Documentation is scarce but can be found with some searching. I'll try to squeeze the online location of a data sheet past the autobots below. Just get rid of the dashes and change "slash" to a real '/' and crunch it together to see the complete address:

h dash t dash t dash p:// dash cdn. dash openimpulse. dash com
slash blog slash wp-content slash uploads slash wpsc slash downloadables slash DYP-ME003_PIR_Sensor_Module_Datasheet.pdf

If you can't see the address above, that means the autobots have stripped out the URL anyway. Just search on DYP-ME003 PIR Sensor and you should find the datasheet somewhere. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars works but slightly misleading, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
Pros:
Tiny
works out of the box

Cons:
no easy way to mount it directly to a board.
when it says that this can be used in simple circuits without an arduino, they don't tell you that the output signal for when this thing senses activity is really only .3 volts, not the 5 volts I was expecting. something to keep in mind, because the output signal cannot actually power anything, it is really only useful for use with a microcontroller or an extremely sensitive relay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
This PIR detector is a good value. It's small and easy to interface with. I use it in a stand alone application to detect motion but certainly it easily connects to your controller of choice for more advanced applications. The documentation is sufficient to get going right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this thing is awesome and extremely easy to use with arduino, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
I made a mouse trap with this thing hooked up to my arduino uno and I caught 6 mice in 4 days. need I say more? its awesome. I kind of wish i could find more info on what the center distance trimpot actually does, but o well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little sensor,, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
I loved this unit, I looked at the code and pinout and had an alarm rigged up in under 20 min.
Its pretty sensitive, and had a great time hooking up all kinds of thinks that would get set off when the sensor was tripped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works!, January 23, 2013
By 
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
Unlike many Arduino sensor boards, this one actually has the documentation you need to make it work, and it works well. It is a good component for the beginner, or can be an important part of a more complex project.

The sensor has three pins . . . 5V,GND, OUT.

5V to 5V on Arduino
GND to GND on Arduino
OUT to any digital pin.

Read the digital pin, and it will give you a "1" if there is motion in the field of view. Two pots set the sensitivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, professional company, October 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
The human detection sensors work great. I was really impressed with everything from the packaging the sensors came in to the instructions that came with the sensor. Everything was well protected and taken care of. Very professional, something I do not see enough to these days. I will definitely recommend this company to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DOA, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
This unit was DOA. A real disappointment for me. I moved from an infrared sensor to a magnetic field sensor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, October 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Virtuabotix PIR Motion Sensor for Microcontrollers & other Electronic Projects
thanks for the product is good, I recommend this pruduct to all who need it, I found a good deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.