Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page Turner
I'm a long time fan of Father Benedict Groeschel, going back to his Capuchin days and this latest book is pure Father Benedict. As you might expect his look at the virtues isn't a rote rendering of them but a challenging and incredibly entertaining read. I found myself unable to put the book down.
A great overview of the virtues--will please all of Father Benedict's...
Published on October 25, 2006 by Michael Dubruiel

versus
23 of 57 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointing
A lot of people can talk and write about virtues, but have a horrible time trying to practice them. Fr. Groeschel appears to be one of those rare individuals that can walk the walk, but can't talk with the same grace. I was hoping for a practical guide to practicing virtue. Unfortunately, most of this book is just philosophical ramblings on the virtues. Sometimes they...
Published on July 9, 2008 by Craig Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page Turner, October 25, 2006
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
I'm a long time fan of Father Benedict Groeschel, going back to his Capuchin days and this latest book is pure Father Benedict. As you might expect his look at the virtues isn't a rote rendering of them but a challenging and incredibly entertaining read. I found myself unable to put the book down.
A great overview of the virtues--will please all of Father Benedict's fans as well as those who are just coming to know of him.

I am the author of The How-To Book of the Mass: Everything You Need to Know but No One Ever Taught You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy, Fast Goal-Oriented Text for Any Christian, March 21, 2007
By 
Brandon B. Justice ((Archdiocese of) Washington, D.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
Groeschel does not disappoint, if you are an avid fan or a first time reader, this text will present very realistic situations for an expansion of spiritual growth and provide attainable options. The chapters are concise and this is a book one could space out over time or read in a full setting.

Groeschel once again challenges the reader to lead a more fully Christian life and uses his psychological background at times to relate to what frustrates and beseiges the modern day person searching for a closer realtionship to God. Excellent as a retreat companion or a Lenten guide without gloss or heavy duty theological phrasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great "How to" book, May 27, 2007
By 
M. Booth (Huntington, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
This is an extraordinary book. It has both explanations of the virtues and suggestions about how to incorporate them into a person's life. The tone is personal. It seems like the author is talking directly and easily with the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breaking open the true path to happiness, March 3, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
The title may be a play on Rick Warren's Purpose Driven Life (apparently an editorial decision), but the content is both solid and time tested. Father Groeschel takes a look at the seven virtues, and explains the role of each of them in the life of a Chrisitan. He gives multiple examples of how each virtue is lived out, and insights on how to reach for them in our own lives. This is a straightforward guide on reaching a focus which will more readily help the reader attain the focus and peace they desire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Quick Read, Faith into Action by Grace, March 29, 2008
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
An absolutely clear and easy to read format gets to the heart of virtue in seconds with practical points at every step. What's best is knowing that the author is one who practices what he writes, all the while reminding us of the need to convert daily from ourselves and selfish tendencies toward the unself-centered love of God and neighbor. So much is packed into this little book for all ages and stages of spiritual, yet practical development of mind and will. This would make a helpful group study. Every teacher, parent, student, subway, doctor and dentist office should keep a copy out. Edith Burns would approve heartily.
Oh, and this is NOT a works-based salvation worldview. The worldview expressed is based on what God has made, body, soul and matter and God's gift of grace which blesses all regardless of whether or not they believe OR love. The task of responding to this grace is that of the individual reader, a response which either receives and willingly accepts the grace OR ignores and disregards it since humans are not puppets or robots by design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must on your spiritual reading list, November 1, 2011
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
Fr. Groeschel, in my mind, is one of the most visibly known informal public figures and "elders" in the United States Roman Catholic Church to the devout lay Catholics. The Virtue Driven Life is one of the 20 books he has written. I participated in a study circle with my Regnum Christi team using this book.

This book fits right in with the charism of the movement. "Regnum Christi" means "Christ's Kingdom" in Latin. In Regnum Christi, we are taught how to identify our root sin or predominant fault. We then actively work with the Holy Spirit to develop and strengthen the opposing virtue. In "The Virtue Driven Life", Fr. Groeschel guides the reader to an in-depth and personal understanding of the virtues.

The book looks closely at the three theological virtues: faith, hope, and charity; as well as the four cardinal virtues: prudence, justice, fortitude, and temperance. It is rich in colorful examples to illustrate these virtues. Fr. Groeschel pulls sections from the Catechism of the Catholic Church that enhance our understanding of the virtues in our practical lives. This is helpful to anyone desiring to increase self-awareness and grow in holiness. Father also includes "Questions for Meditation" for each virtue he discusses.

"The Virtue Driven Life" is a quality resource and an easy read. I highly recommend it as part of your spiritual reading list.

_________________________
Christina M. Weber, MS
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
Catholic Coach
[...]

"I help Catholic Women have phenomenal relationships with God and others."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for an authentic Christian renewal, November 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
This small book is one of the best if not the best book I have ever read!
Fr. Groeschel has such brilliant insights not only in his immense psychological expertise, but his beautiful spiritual wisdom. This book's truly theologically correct, a useful guide to a closer relationship with Our Lord and His Truths. Fr Groeschel leads the reader and journeyer to delve into the theological and natural virtues to grow in holiness and lead a fuller, grace-filled life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a reads a little dated., January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It does a great job of helping you consider the idea of virtue and how you can possibly center (or at least place!) virtue in your life. With that being said, at times the book seemed somewhat dated. However, I certainly would recommend it for anyone--its a great read! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful explanation of the 7 virtues, where they come from and how they are exercised at different levels., December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
I am 3/4 done and think that this is the perfect book to provide a good level of explanation of each virtue and give good examples of natural levels vs. supernatural virtue. Fr. Groeschel is a wonderful author, I've read several of his books and this does not disappoint. I've ordered 4 books total on the virtues, as I plan on studying them during the next few months, and I read this one first. I think it was the perfect jumping in book and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to understand the nature of the virtues, where they come from and how they prompt us to certain actions. He explains which can be acquired by anyone, and which come directly from God. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good lenten study, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Virtue Driven Life (Paperback)
My husband and I read this book and discussed it as part of our lent. It presents interesting issues to ponder then discuss. It would be good for a Christian book club to read and study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Virtue Driven Life
The Virtue Driven Life by Benedict J. Groeschel (Paperback - September 1, 2006)
$12.95 $11.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.