Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT ALL MEN ARE BAD. JUST THE ONES YOU LOVE
The film starts out simply and develops levels of complexity to propel it beyond your typical feral child slasher film. Mike Gillis (Tom Sizemore) kills a prostitute (Hanna Hall) and goes "Raising Arizona" with her twin daughters. His wife (Carol Abney) loves the children, but they have to be kept locked in the basement(is their home a trailer?) There is also an element...
Published 10 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review from a real person. UGH
I purchased this movie based on the reviews posted and after watching it I realized the reviews here are FAKE. This movie is absolutely horrible. The audio was horrible the make only used one microphone which was probably broken, so when music plays you can hear the difference between dialogue and music quality. I feel like I can't even give away this movie because it was...
Published 12 months ago by Kevin Mongru


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Review from a real person. UGH, July 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visible Scars [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I purchased this movie based on the reviews posted and after watching it I realized the reviews here are FAKE. This movie is absolutely horrible. The audio was horrible the make only used one microphone which was probably broken, so when music plays you can hear the difference between dialogue and music quality. I feel like I can't even give away this movie because it was so boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT ALL MEN ARE BAD. JUST THE ONES YOU LOVE, September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visible Scars (DVD)
The film starts out simply and develops levels of complexity to propel it beyond your typical feral child slasher film. Mike Gillis (Tom Sizemore) kills a prostitute (Hanna Hall) and goes "Raising Arizona" with her twin daughters. His wife (Carol Abney) loves the children, but they have to be kept locked in the basement(is their home a trailer?) There is also an element of cannibalism that is alluded to as part of their diet. A fire destroys the home, and the area has a reputation of being haunted.

Years later Stacy (Jillian Murray) comes to this area as a retreat from her abusive boyfriend Brad (Jonas Fisch). Unfortunately she mentioned where she was to her drama queen shallow girlfriend Kelly (Deja Kreutzberg). Soon she has company which include Kelly's boyfriend Chris (Timothy Ryan Cole) who supplies us with the voice of reason.

Most horror slashers would stop at this point, but this film develops another character, retired Detective Black (Dave Parke) who is working on the cold case of the disappearance of the prostitute and her daughters. Her sister (Diana Costa) is still alive and wants closure. Also in the woods are two herbalists who use the story to scare people away from the area and their crop.

While there is an abuse theme, the viewer is not overly exposed to it. We briefly see bruises, and Stacy getting pushed to the ground. This aspect was under developed so time could be spent to create complexity. The production is not without plot continuity issues, but then again most horror film have them.

The film interjects light elements from time to time. The acting wasn't bad, but at the same time it doesn't make you take notice. While the film exceeds expectations of a dull "B" slasher, it won't be a classic horror film either. The gore factor is slightly less than a classic slasher,

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No nudity. Couple getting dressed after sex. Soft 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What? Not Cool..., December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I made myself go through the whole dreadful movie praying for an ending that made sense of all the different directions in the writing. Acting was just plain bad - except the boyfriend of the blonde. He was funny and actually did a good job with a bit role. I still don't know what happened at the end...it didn't really end as much as petered out. I never understood how the main character was applied to the twins and where was the back story for her? Schizo movie because you couldn't tell what direction it wanted to take or why it chose the directions it did go ...however briefly. End of the day, the movie makes the audience have to fill in the blanks and connect the dots of which some were simply missing. Until this movie, I didn't even know fake reviews existed. Now, I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Visible a terrible movie, September 2, 2013
This review is from: Visible Scars (DVD)
This is another low cheap budget home video bad amateurs actors, no fx, no blood, no producers, no director, nothing, another bad homework -F. This video does not has head and foot ... Bunch of dudes and a fat old police talking about some twins..this is a horrible terrible video do not rent do not buy this is a vomit video Fakes reviews... Bad video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visible Scars (DVD)
really really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the whiners - Author: Voodoo Rob from United States, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visible Scars (DVD)
I don't really get the negative press on this film. It is actually a good watch. It's kind of a mix of Friday the 13th and the Hills Have Eyes, but with a more subdued, almost quiet intensity. It has it share of kills, but over all uses mood and creepy vibes over gore. Watching it felt like watching a late 70s suspense movie, but with that touch of mystery where you really don't know till the end if you are dealing with something supernatural or not.

Then of course, there is Tom Sizemore. His part is fairly small, but it is easily his best performance since Natural Born Killers. Many will compare the two roles, but this character is a totally different kind of psycho. He is also kind of mystery himself. You never really know what the deal is with him. He is just nuts.

As far as the "cliffhanger" ending, its really not that much of a cliffhanger. I won't say what happens, but its more just an open ended kind of deal. Again, reminding me of Friday the 13th. Regardless of that, a sequel is probably in the works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, October 14, 2013
By 
Denise (Clarkston, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The acting is terrible and the story isn't the best. When the movie ends You are asking yourself "What?!?". Plus it seems to take forever to get to the point...very slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, September 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visible Scars (DVD)
Again very low budget movie. Special effect were bad and the acting was okay at best. And did not end right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, August 30, 2013
This review is from: Visible Scars (DVD)
Got this for my husband who absolutely loves horror (it's not my favorite genre). I actually enjoyed this movie with him, big surprise! It's definitely a low budget movie, so you have to accept that it's not perfect (a few sound issues here and there). But the story is great, not what I expected, and I so did not predict the ending! It's creepy, and enough blood and gore to keep the horror fans interested. Also, the look of it is pretty amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visible Scars, August 25, 2013
This review is from: Visible Scars (DVD)
Loved this movie! Tom Sizemore was creepy as usual but the female actors stole the show. Diana Costa as crazy Aunt Maggie was incredible. If you like good old fashioned cabin the woods slashers, you'll love this one. I hear there may be a sequel the works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Visible Scars
Visible Scars by Richard Turke (DVD - 2013)
$6.99 $4.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.