Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference for all skill levels
There are a many, many reference books out there. Some are good, and some are not. Most are arranged in the "standard" way. They contain one or more chapters about each of their chosen topics. Readers are expected to read these chapters in order to learn what they need. This book, however, is a bit different. It presents hundreds of "recipes", each solving a...
Published on October 29, 2006 by Jerry Dixon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
This is a good book for people never work with .NET. If you have some experience with VB.NET you'll find it too basic.
Published on October 25, 2008 by Carlos J. Arreola


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference for all skill levels, October 29, 2006
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
There are a many, many reference books out there. Some are good, and some are not. Most are arranged in the "standard" way. They contain one or more chapters about each of their chosen topics. Readers are expected to read these chapters in order to learn what they need. This book, however, is a bit different. It presents hundreds of "recipes", each solving a real-world problem. Some "recipes" are less than a page long, while others span many pages. The cool part is this: most of these recipes stand on their own. You don't have to read them in order. You can choose the recipe that corresponds to your particular need, read it, and apply it to your own program. Sweet.

The real worth of such a book lies in the quality of the recipes. Having hundreds of recipes available does one no good unless those recipes are actually used. I have to admit that at first I was skeptical. The first recipes were well beneath my skill level. The topics were explained well, but they were still very basic. The recipes became more interesting as I progressed through the book. Things got really interesting when I reached the chapter on graphics. From then on, I was sold.

Of course, those first chapters weren't interesting to me because I already knew the material. My son, who is very much a beginning programmer, was a different story. I asked him to read the first recipe and to write the example program. He found it quite interesting and helpful. In fact, this is the first book that I've found that he will actually read. That, of course, makes this book much more useful than all of the others.

I gave this book four stars instead of five for one reason; object disposal. All throughout the book, the authors show how to use objects that should be disposed. They don't, however, show you how to do this until halfway through chapter 14. Because the independent nature of these recipes, it's possible that someone might never read chapter 14. Those people might think that they are writing good code, but they would be wrong.

So, go buy this book, and don't forget to read chapter 14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Got something for everybody, October 11, 2006
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
You got to know the basics of Visual Basic before using this book. This book is a very good reference for learning Visual Basic 2005 and also for the advanced developer. It's good for beginners when you are in the stage of "How do I do this...". It's also includes updates for VB6 programmer who are upgrading to Visual Basic 2005 alerting them about the code breaking changes in Visual Basic 2005. The problems discussed are real-world that you may have faced or will face in your development.

I have this book for a few days and I really like it. It like a How-To book for developers. The book uses the problem-solution approach. All the problems are listed in the index so you can quickly find the recipe that you need. Each topic/recipe has got 3 sections. First is the "problem" which lists what you want to do. The second section is the "solution" for the problem. You will need to download code for the book. You can download the code for the book from the oreilly site. The third section is "discussion" where the authors have explained the solution for easy understanding.

This book has got something for everybody from beginners to advanced developers. It's got a lot of time saving solutions to the development problems that you will face. You can also call it a code library with good documented code that you can use in your development. It's the sort of book that can keep handy next to your workstation(You never know when you are in a fix and you need it or you can just pick it up to learn something new that you can use later).

Following are the recipe caregories(chapters) in the book

1. Visual Basic Programming

2. The Development Environment

3. Application Organization

4. Forms, Controls, and Other Useful Objects

5. Strings

6. Numbers and Math

7. Dates and Times

8. Arrays and Collections

9. Graphics

10. Multimedia

11. Printing

12. Files and File Systems

13. Databases

14. Special Programming Techniques

15. Exceptions

16. Cryptography and Compression

17. Web Development

The authors have done a very good job with this book. You can see the full table of contents in the O'Reilly site. There is also a sample chapter in PDF format available on the site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect For VB 2005 Developers!!, April 5, 2007
By 
Dan McKinnon (Tewksbury, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
'Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers' by Tim Patrick is a perfect reference and solution manual for any and all Visual Basic 2005 developers. Written in typical great O'Reilly cookbook fashion, this book is chock full of nuts with 700+ pages of goodness.

Chapter Overview

01. VB Basics

02. Development Environment

03. Application Organization

04. Forms, Controls, Other Objects

05. Strings

06. Numbers And Math

07. Dates & Times

08. Arrays & Collections

09. Graphics

10. Multimedia

11. Printing

12. Files & File Systems

13. Databases

14. Programming Techniques

15. Exceptions

16. Cryptography & Compression

17. Web Development

This is simply a fabulous book that any and all VB programmers of today need to pick up. Not only will you save time, you'll enjoy doing it while reading this wonderful guide!!

***** HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Reference for the "Rest" Of Us, April 4, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
If you're new to programming in Visual Basic .NET, but have programmed in some other langauge before, there is always this barrier that one faces when they know, to a certain degree, the task they want to accomplish, but often fall short trying to figure out the syntax or method to implement it here. That is what this book does. It's an essential cookbook, in the language of choice, that bridges that barrier.

It's also a great side-companion for beginners, mainly because the intro books do a fair job of getting people started, but they also need to figure out specific tasks or methods of doing things that tutorial books won't cover. It does not overstate the obvious, and it serves up pretty clear impressions and explanations on what it delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imparts the basics of pros and cons to the solving process., December 10, 2006
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Over 300 common and uncommon tasks Visual Basic 2005 programmers face often are arranged in a solution-oriented set of examples which is based on 'recipes' and formulas but includes code, examples, complete solutions and even advanced projects. Particularly valuable for .NET developers as well as novice Visual Basic students, the Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook offers up a set of recipes for solving a wide swatch of common problems - and imparts the basics of pros and cons to the solving process.

Diane C. Donovan

California Bookwatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, but also contains filler, July 9, 2007
By 
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
There are various sections in this book that are pretty basic and unnecessary to even an amateur programmer but there are also lots of other sections that are just chock full of great stuff and even advanced programmers would benefit from them. It also suffers from the common tendency to say very simple things using a lot of words in order to take up a lot of space. I think I even found a tip or two which show up twice in different sections. That being said, there's still a whole lot of worthwhile material in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 19, 2007
By 
Goonk "Goonk" (Arlington, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Lots of neat tips and ideas. Well written. Very good value. I've already used several "recipes" from the book in just a couple of weeks of owning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful VB 2005 reference, March 8, 2007
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I've found this book quite useful. There are lots of practical tips, tricks and techniques for VB 2005. I've gleaned a multitude of ideas for use in an intermediate VB class that I teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas for the newbie, March 17, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
Very helpful for a casual programmer like myself. Just remember to download the "recipies" to avoid retyping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good starting point for VB.net and SQL Server, January 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly)) (Paperback)
I've been using VB off and on for years but am just getting started with VB and SQL Server. I bought this book mainly for it's chapter on databases which uses SQL Server as I already have a couple of good VB books whose database chapters mostly use Access. I just got the book today and have already put it to use. I couldn't be more pleased with th database examples the author chose. I'm using VB 2010 and SQL Server Express 2008 and while the book is a little dated and aimed at VB 2005, the new versions are very similar - close enough that this book has already shown it self to be a good reference that I'm very happy to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook: Solutions for VB 2005 Programmers (Cookbooks (O'Reilly))
$49.99 $37.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.