Customer Reviews


1,232 Reviews
5 star:
 (867)
4 star:
 (197)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


275 of 291 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Viva Labs Krill Oil vs Nine Leading Krill Oils And A Leading Fish Oil
****
This is a side-by-side comparison of ten leading brands of krill oil: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, Viva Labs Krill Oil, Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil,...
Published 16 months ago by RWM

versus
270 of 323 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False advertising, paid reviews, and low value for money
False advertising! It actually contains only 625 mg per capsule and is NOT "the highest in the industry" as it claims. This amount per pill is important information but is mentioned only in one obscure place where it can be easily overlooked. All other information in big bold descriptions implies that this is 1,250 mg per capsule (it is NOT) and that it contains...
Published 20 months ago by Alice Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

275 of 291 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Viva Labs Krill Oil vs Nine Leading Krill Oils And A Leading Fish Oil, May 17, 2013
By 
RWM (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
****
This is a side-by-side comparison of ten leading brands of krill oil: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, Viva Labs Krill Oil, Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil, Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil, and a leading brand of omega-3 fish oil, Nutrigold Triple Strength Omega-3 Gold Fish Oil.

OMEGA-3 FATTY ACIDS: Omega-3 fatty acids are what make krill oil and fish oil so beneficial. There are three major components of omega-3 fatty acids in these products: EPA (which is good for your heart, circulatory system, lowering triglycerides, depression and mood orientation, and is a powerful anti-inflammatory for soothing joint pains), DHA (which is good for your mental acuity, or if you are pregnant, nursing an infant, or for children), and "other." Other omega-3s, like DPA and SDA, are types of fatty acids which are easily converted to EPA in the body. In most fish oils, the amount of these other fatty acids is low, but in highly concentrated oils, it can be a significant amount. The important components are EPA and DHA.

KRILL OIL VS FISH OIL: Krill oil is an omega-3 nutrient and is an alternative source of omega-3 than fish oil. Some folks prefer krill oil over fish oil because they believe it has increased bioavailability and better absorption than fish oil, and contains the additional nutrients, Astaxanthin and Phospholipids. In fact, this is correct. Krill oil has better bioavailability and absorption than fish oil and contains Astaxanthin and Phospholipids, neither of which are contained in fish oil. However, from the perspective of potency, krill oil contains less omega-3 fatty acids per gel cap than a high grade fish oil gel cap such as Nutrigold Triple Strength Omega-3 Gold Fish Oil. So, in order to obtain the same omega-3 benefits from krill oil that you do from a high grade fish oil, you need to take more krill oil gel caps, despite the fact that krill oil is more bioavailable and better absorbed than fish oil. This translates into additional cost.

ASTAXANTHIN: Astaxanthin is a powerful anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory. It is a red-pink substance found in various seafoods such as salmon, trout, krill, lobster and cooked shrimp. It is responsible for the red color of salmon meat, cooked shellfish and flamingo feathers. It is present in krill oil but not in fish oil.

The presence of astaxanthin in krill oil, combined with other naturally occurring antioxidants in the oil (Vitamins E and A), provides protection against oxidation of the oil, making it stable for a long time. It also protects the body against free radical attacks which can cause aging of the cells. Antioxidants are usually added in fish oil to prevent the oil from oxidizing as they do not have any on their own.

PHOSPHOLIPIDS: Phospholipids facilitate the absorption of omega-3 into your system. It, too, is present in krill oil but not in fish oil. In krill oil, the omega-3 fatty acids are attached to phospholipids whereas the omega-3 fatty acids in fish oil are attached to triglycerides. The phospholipids contribute to better absorption and utilization of the EPA & DHA by the cells, making krill oil more bio-effective than fish oil.

SOURCE OF KRILL OIL AND FISH OIL: Unlike fish oil, which comes primarily from fish such as anchovies, sardines, mackerel, cod, pollock and whiting, krill oil comes from krill, a crustacean that looks somewhat like a small shrimp.

ALERGIC REACTION TO KRILL OIL: Since krill is a crustacean, many folks may have an allergic reaction to krill oil. If you are allergic to shellfish, you need to be aware of this.

BREAKDOWN: Below is a breakdown of these supplements.

Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs) (See, Nutrigold Krill Gold - Neptune Krill Oil (Double Strength NKO), 1000 mg, 60 softgels)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$ N/A for 60 1000 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
One 1000 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 150 mgs
DHA = 90 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 60 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 300 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 30%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 420 mgs
Astaxanthin = 1.25 mgs
IKOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel (bovine gelatin, non-GMO vegetable glycerin, purified water), sorbitol, and vanillin

Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs) (See, Nutrigold Krill Gold - Neptune Krill Oil (Clinically-proven NKO), 500 mg, 120 softgels)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$41.67 for 120 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.34 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 63 mgs
DHA = 36.5 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 26.5 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 126 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 25%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 262.5 mgs
Astaxanthin = 460 mcgs
IKOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel (bovine gelatin, non-GMO vegetable glycerin, and purified water)

Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs) (See, Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil 1000mg Soft-gels, 60-Count)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$29.95 for 60 1000 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.50 (using Amazon's price)
One 1000 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 120 mgs
DHA = 70 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 40 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 230 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 390 mgs
Astaxanthin = .75 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel capsule (gelatin, glycerin, enteric coating, water) and glycerin

Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs) (See, NOW Foods Neptune Krill Oil 500mg, 120 Softgels,)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$29.65 for 120 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.25 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 70 mgs
DHA = 40 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 5 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 115 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 195 mgs
Astaxanthin = .50 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel capsule (gelatin, glycerin, enteric coating, water), and glycerin

Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (See, Megared Extra Strength Krill Oil Softgel, 80 Count)
***
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$21.75 for 80 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
$23.59 for 80 500 mg gel caps from Costco
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.27 using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 64 mgs
DHA = 30 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 21 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 115 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
Contains GMOs
Contains cholesterol
Molecularly distilled
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 167 mgs
Astaxanthin = 25 mcgs (.025 mgs) *
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 526-6251
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), gelatin, and glycerin

Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (See, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil 300 mg - 90 Softgels)
**
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$19.69 for 90 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
$22.99 for 110 300 mg gel caps from Costco
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.22 (using Amazon's price)
One 300 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 50 mgs
DHA = 24 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 16 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 90 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 30%
No soy
Contains GMOs
Contains cholesterol
Molecularly distilled
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 130 mgs
Astaxanthin = None
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 526-6251
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), gelatin, glycerin ethyl vanillin, water, and sorbitol

Viva Labs Krill Oil (See, Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques)
****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$26.95 for 60 625 mg capliques on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two capliques
Price per caplique = $.45 (using Amazon's price)
One 625 mg caplique contains a total of:
EPA = 82.5 mgs
DHA = 47.5 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 20 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 150 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per caplique = 24%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
Molecularly distilled
Mercury free
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 250 mgs
Astaxanthin = .80 mgs
IKOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 290-7831
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), hypromeltose, and water

Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (See, Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil, 30 Capsules)
***
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$11.67 for 30 500 mg gel caps from Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.39 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 57.5 mgs
DHA = 32.5 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 25 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 115 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
Contains GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 200 mgs
Astaxanthin = 25 mcgs (.025 mgs)
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (310) 204-6936
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel consists of gelatin, glycerin, purified water, maltitol, and natural flavor

Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (See, Longevity Neptune Krill Oil NKO 500Mg 60 Softgel)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$37.14 for 120 500 mg gel caps from Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.31 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 75 mgs
DHA = 45 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 30 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 150 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 30%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 190 mgs
Astaxanthin = .75 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 777-5677
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), gelatin, glycerin, purified water, and natural lemon oil

Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (See, Source Naturals ArcticPure Krill Oil 500mg, 60 Softgels)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$34.78 for 120 500 mg gel caps from Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.28 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 75 mgs
DHA = 45 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 30 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 150 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap =30%
Contains soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 190 mgs
Astaxanthin = .75 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 777-5677
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), medium chain triglycerides, gelatin, glycerin, purified water, natural lemon oil, and d-alpha tocopherol

Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold
Ethyl Esters form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$36.99 for 180 1250 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.21 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $.19 (using Amazon's price)
One 1250 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 750 mgs
DHA = 250 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 3 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 60 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 1060 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 85%
Soy allergen free
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Molecularly distilled
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
IFOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: pharmaceutical grade purified fish oil (from certified sustainable wild-caught pacific cod and pollock from Alaskan waters), softgel capsule (bovine gelatin, vegetable glycerin, purified water), and natural mixed tocopherols

IKOS: The International Krill Oil Standards Program ("IKOS") is a third-party testing and accreditation program for omega-3 krill oil products. Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), and Viva Labs Krill Oil are listed as five star krill oil products, which is the highest rating attainable.

IFOS: The International Fish Oil Standards Program ("IFOS") (Google "IFOS consumer reports") is an independent third party omega-3 testing organization that provides batch-specific summaries of a product's IFOS testing results. The reports include a 5-star rating for each product containing greater than 60% concentration of EPA and DHA per gram of fish oil, allowing consumers to compare fish oil products based on their safety, purity and quality. Most of the highly rated omega-3 fish oil products are listed. Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold is listed as a five star omega-3 fish oil product, which is the highest rating attainable.

OMEGA-3 CONTENT: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs) (300 mgs) contains the most omega-3 per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs)(230 mgs); followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil (150 mgs), Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (150 mgs), and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (150 mgs); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs)(126 mgs); followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs)(115 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (115 mgs), and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (115 mgs); and followed by Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (90 mgs), which contains the least amount of omega-3 per pill of those in the comparison.

PRICE PER PILL: Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs) ($.50 per gel cap) is the most expensive per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil ($.45 per caplique); followed by Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil ($.39 per gel cap); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs) ($.34 per gel cap); followed by Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil ($.31 per gel cap); followed by Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil ($.28 per gel cap); followed by Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil ($.27 per gel cap); followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs) ($.25 per gel cap); and followed by Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil ($.22 per gel cap), which is the least expensive per pill of those in the comparison.

GMOs: Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Viva Labs Krill Oil, Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil do not contain GMOs, whereas Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil contain GMOs.

SOY: None of these products contain soy, except Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil.

CHOLESTEROL: Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil do not contain cholesterol. Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, Viva Labs Krill Oil, Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil contain cholesterol.

PHOSPHOLIPIDS: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs)(420 mgs) contains the most Phospholipids per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Now Foods Krill Oil (1000 mgs)(390 mgs); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs)(262.5 mgs); followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil (250 mgs); followed by Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (200 mgs); followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs)(195 mgs); followed by Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (190 mgs) and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (190 mgs); followed by Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (167 mgs); and followed by Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (130 mgs), which contains the least amount of Phospholipids per pill of those in the comparison.

ASTAXANTHIN: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs)(1.25 mgs) contains the most Astaxanthin per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil (.80 mgs); followed by Now Foods Krill Oil (1000 mgs)(.75 mgs); followed by Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (.75 mgs) and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (.75 mgs); followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs)(.50 mgs); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs)(460 mcgs); followed by Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (25 mcgs) and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (25 mcgs); and followed by Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (None), which contains the least amount of Astaxanthin per pill of those in the comparison.

ENCAPSULATION PROBLEM: Nutrigold has explained that that krill oil is an extremely difficult product to encapsulate and can easily produce leaky softgels post-production. It claims that it experienced this exact issue with its previous lot of Krill Oil, lot K12053. It further claims that it has since removed all existing inventory of the Krill Gold product from the K12053 lot and has had it sent back to its manufacturer for additional QA / QC testing. It further claims that it has contained the problem to have only affected one lot of product.

Nutrigold has now gone on record and explained this difficulty. It has also offered me a credible and understandable explanation why it took Nutrigold so long to publicly acknowledge the problem, which has been cured. I believe Nutrigold has acted in good faith and any transparency concerns I might have had about the company have now been resolved.

DISTINCTION BETWEEN SOURCE NATURALS NKO NEPTUNE KRILL OIL AND SOURCE NATURALS ARCTIC PURE KRILL OIL: These two products are the same in terms of omega-3 content, cholesterol, Phospholipids content, Astaxanthin content, and price per gel cap. Neither contains GMOs. However, Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil contains soy and Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil does not contain soy. The ingredients are also different. Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil contains shellfish (krill), medium chain triglycerides, gelatin, glycerin, purified water, natural lemon oil, and d-alpha tocopherol, whereas Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil contains shellfish (krill), gelatin, glycerin, purified water, and natural lemon oil.

OPINION: Krill oil contains far less EPA and DHA than a high potency fish oil. I would not recommend any krill oil product as a substitute for fish oil, regardless of the fact that they contain Phospholipids and Astaxanthin, unless they are taken in much greater quantities, resulting in significantly greater cost.

Furthermore, the amount of Astaxanthin present in krill oil is extremely small, as you need 4-12 mgs of Astaxanthin daily for it to be really beneficial. Some krill oil brands, like Schiff and Jarrow, contain abysmally small amounts of Astaxanthin, measured in micrograms (not milligrams; 1000 micrograms equals one milligram), which, I believe, is caused by the fact that the Astaxanthin has been processed out of the product or has dissipated over time after a period of shelf life.

RECOMMENDATION: There are a couple of options, in my view:

1. If you're looking for a fish oil product that is very rich in omega-3 fatty acids, Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold Fish Oil would be a good choice, since you want to take at least 1000 mgs of omega-3 fatty acids daily. Of course, you could take four to six Viva Labs Krill Oil, Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, or Jarrow Formulas Krill Oil gel caps daily, or two to three Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs) or Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs) gel caps daily, to make up the difference in the reduced quantity of omega-3 fatty acids in krill oil (allowing for the increased bio-availability of krill oil over fish oil), but that can become very expensive.

2. If you decide to go with fish oil rather than krill oil, you don't want to forget about sufficient quantities of Astaxanthin and Phospholipids which are generally not present in fish oil. So, you could take an excellent Astaxanthin supplement such as Nutrigold Natural Astaxanthin Gold, and, if you wish, eat foods such as egg yolks, liver, peanuts, and raw tuna (sashimi) for Phospholipids.

RATING:

I rated Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil five stars.

I rated Schiff MegaRed Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil three stars because it contains only 25 mcgs of Astaxanthin, which is an extremely small amount.

I rated Viva Labs Krill Oil four stars because the company refuses to divulge the source of its krill oil, taking the position that it is "proprietary information," and that, in my opinion, creates a transparency issue with the company, because the source of the company's krill oil is not "proprietary information."

I rated Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil three stars because it contains only 25 mcgs of Astaxanthin, which is an extremely small amount.

I rated Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil two stars, primarily because of its poor quality and because it contains NO Astaxanthin.

I rated Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold five stars because it has one of the highest omega-3 potencies on the market (85%), it is IFOS five star rated, it is molecularly distilled, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is mercury free, it is cholesterol free, and it is one of the least expensive high quality omega-3 fish oil products available.

I have separately reviewed all of these products.

* 1000 micrograms (mcg) equal one milligram (mg).

Prices current as of 09/08/2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Content matters, December 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
I have researched krill oil on the web quite a bit. One particularly informative site describes the difference between true krill oil and phony krill oil -
[...]. Note that this site does not even mention the Everest brand. However, the information presented there corroborates the contents of Everest as being legit. In selecting the krill oil, my emphasis was on the supplement contents and not the capsules. I tried source Naturals NKO and their capsules were a little sloppier than Everest's, but didn't really bother me. However, I switched to Everest because of its higher Astaxanthin content. So far as I can tell, this is the best krill oil for the money. Some have had issues with the capsules, but they are not a problem for me and I don't want to pay extra for fancier pills.

If you are going to choose krill oil based on the capsules then Everest is adequate. If you want to choose a krill oil supplement by its content, then Everest stacks up favorably against any other brand out there.

Everest Nutrition Krill Oil 1250 mg
Omega-3 Fatty Acids 300 mg
Eicosapentaenoic Acid (EPA) 165 mg
Docosahexaenoic Acid (DHA) 95 mg
Phospholipids 500 mg
Esterified Astaxanthin 1.6 mg

Update 9-19-2013:
Comments:

1. I wrote this review about a year about two years ago. Since that time, there have been a number of reviews trumpeting the use of a per-capsule content comparison for krill oil that have been reposted across several Krill brands. This type of analysis is invalid and these well-meaning but misguided reviews should be rejected out of hand. Its fairly obvious that capsule size and shape will vary among manufacturers. There is a reason that supplements list their contents per serving and define what a serving is. Krill oil, like most supplements, is priced by the serving/dosage. Furthermore, the labeled contents applies to one serving of the product. A krill oil comparison based on capsule content is analogous to comparing a liquid supplement based on "spoonful" content. A capsule (like a spoon) is of arbitrary, non-standard size and therefore cannot be used as a basis for comparison. Do not allow your judgement to be clouded by these capsule content reviews. Fair comparisons of price and content can only accurately be done on a per-serving basis. You should only trust "per-serving" based reviews. There is a reason that the FDA requires per-serving (not per-capsule) information be listed on a supplement label.

2. A second fallacy apparent in some reviews is that Krill Oil can be compared side-by-side with Fish Oil and "whoever has the most Omega-3's wins" . This approach is invalid as Krill Oil does not claim to have more Omega-3's than fish oil. The claim of the Krill Oil industry is that that krill oil works as effectively as Omega-3s from fish oil, yet at a much lower dose. Fish Oil versus Krill Oil is not a case of "whoever has the most Omega-3's wins." If you accept the claims of Krill Oil's bioavailability (less is more), then Krill oil is a viable alternative or addition to your supplement regimen.

3. The contents of Viva/Everest Krill oil have been verified by ConsumerLab dot com. To my knowledge, this is the only Krill oil that has been verified by Consumer Lab.
Update 9-23-2013: Consumer Lab issued an updated report on 9/21/2013. Everest/Viva is now one of seven Krill Oil brands verified by CL.

4. Update 9-23-2013: The per-serving price of this product has increased since my original review. While I still regard this as a high quality product, I now use Nutrigold b/c of a better price per serving.

5. Update 12-13-2013: Nutrigold Krill made me sick presumably b/c of rank residue from leaky gel caps. I have switched back to Viva. I plan to stick with Viva for the foreseeable future. Viva's new capsules are very high quality and they don't leak (so far).

6. Update 1-25-2014: A word about Capliques:
At some point since my original review, Viva switched from gel caps to capliques. Viva suggests that their Krill Oil may (or may not) be refrigerated because the cold air does not affect their capliques. Gel cap Krill oils strongly recommend against refrigeration because the cold air breaks down the gelatin capsules.

Cool refrigerator temperatures break down the gelatin capsules which can allow the oil to leak and ooze and become rancid. On the other hand, cool refrigerator temperatures protect the oil from spoilage by markedly slowing down the oxidation process. So, refrigeration of gel cap krill oils is a bit of a catch-22: It breaks down the gel caps and causes them to leak, but it preserves the shelf life of the oil itself.

Viva's capliques can be refrigerated and they don't leak (so far).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


282 of 333 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Krill Oil you can buy!, September 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
Length:: 2:03 Mins

I did a lot of research into what good krill oil should comprise and compared different brands based on their nutritional content. What initially attracted me to Everest Nutrition krill oil was the dosages of pure omega-3s per serving. Some other manufacturers include omega-6s which are actually overabundant in our diets and must be balanced with extra omega-3 fats. Here are the important things one needs to look for when choosing a krill oil supplement:
Concentration of omega-3 fatty acids: Everest Nutrition compares favorably with 165mg of EPA and 95mg DHA. Some other brands I looked at were Mercola: 100mg EPA, 55mg DHA, NKO: 150mg EPA, 90mg DHA, and MegaRed: 45mg EPA, 27mg DHA
Phospholipids: These are absolutely crucial and a high quality krill oil supplement should contain 500mg. These are fats naturally found in our bodies, therefore absorption is more effective as the body does not need to put in the extra effort to take up and utilize the essential fatty acids. Thus, you get more benefit from what you take when there is an abundance of phospholipids. Everest Nutrition contains 500mg of phospholipids; Mercola has 400mg, NKO: 400mg, MegaRed does not list phospholipids on their label.
Astaxanthin content: This powerful antioxidant gives krill oil a real advantage over fish oils. It is also expensive so only the very best brands of krill oil will have decent astaxanthin content. Everest Nutrition krill oil has the highest astaxanthin content out of all the krill oil supplements that I researched. Here is how they compare: Everest Nutiriton: 1.6mg, Mercola: 1mg, NKO: 1.5mg, Megared: contains no astaxanthin.
Based on this information, I chose to purchase Everest Nutrition krill oil because of the higher ingredient content as compared to other brands, and I am so glad I did! The difference this krill oil made in my health, well-being, and quality of life is nothing like what I anticipated. It truly surpassed all my expectations and I can confidently recommend it as the best value for krill oil on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


270 of 323 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False advertising, paid reviews, and low value for money, January 2, 2013
By 
Alice Campbell "Alli" (Port St. Lucie, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
False advertising! It actually contains only 625 mg per capsule and is NOT "the highest in the industry" as it claims. This amount per pill is important information but is mentioned only in one obscure place where it can be easily overlooked. All other information in big bold descriptions implies that this is 1,250 mg per capsule (it is NOT) and that it contains 300 mg Omega-3 per capsule (it does NOT). It is 1,250 mg per serving of 2 capsules (that's 625 mg per capsule).

Here's what they SHOW everywhere:
Krill Oil - 1,250 mg
Omega-3s - 300 mg
EPA - 165 mg
DHA - 95 mg
Phospholipids - 500 mg
Astaxanthin - 1.6 mg

Here's what their krill oil ACTUALLY CONTAINS per pill:
Krill Oil - 625 mg
Omega-3s - 150 mg
EPA - 83 mg
DHA - 48 mg
Phospholipids - 250 mg
Astaxanthin - 0.8 mg

Neptune Krill oil 1,000 mg pills actually contain 300 mg Omega-3s per capsule (which is double what these contain at 150 mg per capsule). Neptune Krill oil is truly "the highest in the industry." I am a regular supplement buyer and am very particular about what I buy. I bought Everest thinking I found 1,250 mg pills of Krill Oil that I had never seen before and too complacent to look closely because of the false and misleading statement "highest in the industry." That's a blatant lie.

DISCLAIMER: I came to write this review because Everest offered to donate $10 to charity if I wrote them a positive review for this product. This is a new kind of product review scam! It doesn't pay you but pays somebody else - a charity (or at least that's what they "promise" to do). So, even if I wrote a positive review and feel good thinking I am helping contribute $10 to charity, I am fooling myself because these guys will never pay any charity anything and I would never know about it. I won't be able to prove that they didn't pay a charity either because its all based on their bogus "promise" with no proof of anything. I would have given them the benefit of doubt and written them a positive review if I had not realized I got duped by their clever marketing and ended up paying lot more for my Krill oil. At this ridiculous price of $25 per bottle for 60 pills of 625mg each, I would rather pay $18 to charity on my own for every bottle of Krill I buy and still come out on top.

THE MATH:
Spend $32 to buy 1 bottle of Neptune Krill oil 60 capsules of 1,000 mg each (price is about $32 per bottle)
Total Omega-3s you get is: 300 mg * 60 = 18,000 mg

To get the same amount of Omega-3s from Everest krill product, you have to:
Spend $50 to buy 2 bottles of Everest Krill Oil of 60 capsules each (price is $25 per bottle)
Total Omega-3s you get is: 150 mg * 120 pills = 18,000 mg

You can do the same calculations for Phospholipids and Astaxanthin and see that you get roughly DOUBLE the amount per pill when you buy Neptune Krill oil 1000 mg pills versus Everest Krill oil.

BOTTOM LINE:
I lost $18 per bottle by not buying Neptune Krill Oil - that's a lot! That is the $18 I can give to charity on my own for EVERY bottle I buy instead of Everest's "promise" of giving $10 to charity only ONE-TIME for giving them a positive review (the $10 that they probably won't donate anyway). Last, but not the least, this is extremely unethical way of marketing a product especially with all kinds of false claims.

QUALITY:
The Everest product comes in a regular capsule whereas NKO comes in softgel capsules. I found them both equally easy to swallow but the Everest krill oil is slightly wet on the outer surface of some capsules because of minor leaks and stinks very bad. Every brand of Krill oil stinks bad but what else can one expect from a seafood product. Neptune has been around lot longer and their product has several patents and has undergone rigorous testing whereas I never heard of Everest before and don't know what kind of testing they have conducted on their product. Regarding how effective Everest Krill oil was, I can't tell because I used only one bottle and its hard to tell from that. Generally, I can tell you that Krill oil works and I have been taking Krill oil for 4 years regularly. The one bottle of the unknown Everest brand I bought, I did finish the entire bottle but will never buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Must Be the Krill Oil?, January 7, 2014
By 
W.D. "Realist" (Gardendale, Alabama USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
I'm a soon to be a 62 year old man. I had been taking a Fish Oil supplement from a warehouse membership club for a few years just because I thought it would help my cholesterol levels. Did it? I don't know.

It was getting close to time that I would need to buy another huge jug of fish oil when I watched an online advertisement for another brand of Krill Oil. It was one of those ads that I hate which was for a miracle cure for everything. The ad seem to take about 10 minutes to tell all the benefits for the product without actually saying what the product was. The more miracles that the product claimed to cure and the more time I had invested in watching the ad, I was determined to find out what the product was. Well, I finally found out it was an ad for Krill Oil. I had heard of Krill oil, but never knew what it was or cared to investigate it. This company was offering some kind of Ponzi scheme of ordering their Krill Oil which could be bought only from them. No thanks!

But the ad did pique my curiosity and I started to do research on different brands of Krill Oil. After doing extensive research I decided that the brand I would try was the Viva Labs.

My first order was for 4 bottles, which would be enough for two months since I decided to do the aggressive therapy of 4 capsules a day, two with first meal and another two with my second meal. I've just received my second order of 4 bottles since I feel that it just might be responsible for a couple of miracles so far...

The first thing I noticed after about the first week was how often I was urinating. I can only assume the Viva Labs Krill Oil was acting as some kind of a diuretic. The swelling in my ankles, calves and fingers started to abate. Folks this is a nagging problem I've had for years. After about the first month my urination frequency returned to normal, but the swelling due to water retention has not returned. I do consider this a miracle!

The second thing I noticed was even more remarkable!

I haven't been able to go out in public for a few years now, if sitting was involved. Both my knees experienced excruciating pain when sitting down or getting up out of a chair. This pain was so severe that I could not get up or sit down without screaming out an involuntary loud cry of pain. [and I mean LOUD!] I had no problem in bearing the pain, but the screaming out in public was too embarrassing to endure. All the medications that would slightly ease the pain were for temporary use and ate my stomach up and no telling what they were doing to my liver. My knees did not hurt while sitting, while walking or laying down. My family begged me to see about getting knee replacements. What could this possibly have to do with Viva Labs Krill Oil?

After a couple of weeks of Viva Labs Krill Oil therapy I started to notice less pain in my knees when rising or sitting. And the loud screams were toning down to a loud grunt. After another couple of weeks the pain was barely there and I only let out a whimper. By the time I had almost finished the 2 month supply my knees were pain free and no sounds whatsoever when I sat or got up. I definitely consider this a miracle also!

I honestly cannot say that Viva Labs Krill Oil had anything to do with either of my miracles. I can say that the only thing that changed in my daily routine was adding the Viva Labs Krill Oil therapy! Anyway, I'm on my second order of 4 bottles now and somehow it just doesn't seem quite as expensive as the first order did! [same price for both orders] Also, I can't help to believe it may be doing a lot more behind the scenes that I don't know about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading!!!, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
I am sure this is an excellent product but I am very upset about the misleading advertising. It states that it is the "highest level of Omega 3's in the industry" but a serving is 2 capsules! So, great, you get 60 capsules, but that only lasts 30 days. I am very miffed about this. So it is not much more potent than other brands that make 500mg capsules but they do not try to pull a fast one on their advertising. I knew when I bought Schiff Mega Red extra strength exactly how long the bottle would last because a serving was ONE capsule. With this product, I mistaking thought it would last me 60 days but really it's only a 30 day supply. Live and learn, I guess. For this reason, I will NOT be purchasing this brand in the future. I am so sick of misleading labeling in food and supplements. They try to take consumers for fools. It makes me so mad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Krill Oil, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
I have used Krill Oil for years and love it. My regular form is so expensive, that I tried this one. It works fine, but it takes two capsules to be equal to the one I used to take. So, although it is less expensive, it equals out in the long run. Will return to my previous form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thin capsule, May 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
The capsules used to hold the krill oil are too thin. It dissolves quickly and just gets eaten up by the stomach acids. Rendering it completely useless for the medicinal purpose I originally bought them for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so sure about this product, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
Upon opening this product one or more capsules were broken and had oozed out onto the other capsules. I returned the product for that reason, however, I will not purchase this product ever again. The fish smell was so strong that it made me gag. I have taken Krill Oil under the advise of my doctor for a very long time and the 2 brands that my doctor recommends do not smell this bad. I ordered this product to save myself $8 and it was so not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Product, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques (Health and Beauty)
I purchased this krill oil for the strength and high astaxanthin content. I was told by my physician that my cholesterol levels are above normal and that I need to improve my diet. I heard a lot about krill oil in the media recently and decided to give it a try. I take two capsules each morning. I am very happy with the quality of this product. At my last appointment my LDL and triglyceride levels have decreased so I will be continuing taking this krill oil to maintain healthy levels. This product works for me and I have not had any side-effects from it. I feel much safer taking a natural health product rather than pharmaceutical drugs with a range of negative side-effects. My only concern with krill oil was the long-term impact of krill harvesting on the ecological balance as many ocean species depend on krill as their primary food source. However, I discovered that this does not appear to be an issue since krill has a biomass twice the size of humans, the largest biomass of any species on earth and commercial harvesting is controlled with restrictions. I would absolutely recommend Everest Nutrition krill oil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.