Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What elegance and grace is contained here
The Academy of Ancient Music has done a wonderful job with this CD of the 4 Concertos written by Vivaldi in honor of the vist of Prince Frederick Christian, Prince of Poland, to Venice. The works were spread out over several evenings so that they could be enjoyed by the illustrious guests. The Academy of Ancient Music does a superb job with this collection of music that...
Published on October 11, 2005 by C. Collins

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Too bad, took a month waiting
Published 20 days ago by JOSE ANTONIO ROHAMAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What elegance and grace is contained here, October 11, 2005
By 
C. Collins (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
The Academy of Ancient Music has done a wonderful job with this CD of the 4 Concertos written by Vivaldi in honor of the vist of Prince Frederick Christian, Prince of Poland, to Venice. The works were spread out over several evenings so that they could be enjoyed by the illustrious guests. The Academy of Ancient Music does a superb job with this collection of music that required use of instruments rarely used today.

Sinfonia in G major dazzles us with joyful pomp. The third movement echoes the Autumn section of the Four Seasons by capturing the sound of the harvest folk dance.

Violin Concerto in E-flat major is incredibly well constructed, almost mathematical in composition, with passages building one upon the other. The first movement builds gradually but the third movement slips and slides like children in a playground.

Concerto in D minor has courtly beinnings. Like much of Vivaldi, the violins sometimes are allowed to take the foreground with a somewhat rustic power, yet they are usually balanced by the pure elegance of the other instruments and melodies that echo with intensity. The lute accompanies the violin and other string instruments with its Renaissance sound. Lute strings individually plucked slow the piece and increase the intensity of anticipation in the second movement.

In Concerto in A major, Vivaldi uses violins with three echo violins. In the CD program they explain that when this piece was played for the Polish Prince, the primary violinist was visible but that they echo violinists were hidden around the concert hall, which I can only guess was a delightful and playful game to play with the listening audience of the time. In this concerto, the violins sound so birdlike as they echo each other's songs back and forth. In the final movement, Allegro, the violins boldly and sweetly play their echo game, no longer playing birds but mellowing into instruments of joy.

In Violin Concerto in C Major we hear graceful refrains that build like the Spring section of the Four Seasons.

In the Concerto in C Major we hear the finest piece on the whole CD in terms of complexity and orchestration. The recorder is used along with instruments called chalumeaux and theorbos. The grand march sound of the Allegro molto subsides long enough to hear the wonderful wind instruments complimented by mandolins, giving a delightful break from the violins. I think this concerto is my favorite on the CD, with the warm sounds of rare instruments permeating the piece.Yet, how can one pick a favorite from this wonderful collection of music.

Vivaldi is so elegant, so graceful and balanced. I love his music because it puts demands only on my ear the way Matisse puts demands only on my eyes. He transports me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music as expected from Andrew Manze, June 22, 2003
By 
"scarlatti11" (Killeen, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
Andrew Manze and the Academy of Ancient Music
again in this recording doing a wonderful job
the performances are splendid, the acoustics
are also wonderful. The Academy of Ancient Music
plays with clarity. Indeed, with this recording
the music of Vivaldi reached perfection!
Highly recomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just sublime, November 4, 2004
By 
DeeCeeP (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
I bought this fantastic CD over a year ago and it became my most cherished 'Classics' possession. Then thieves broke in to my home and stole it along with many others. I've finally had it replaced by the insurance company, and am now revisting the beautiful sounds of this program. Superb playing, great collection of works, and the usual sublime recording quality from a HM production. This has to be one of the essential Vivaldi recordings, especially valued given the lower price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for a historical event, January 12, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
Most Vivaldi recordings contain programs selected either by the medium (all bassoon concertos, for example) or by the opus number (all the concertos from Opus 8). This one is utterly unique, and that fact--in addition to the splendid performances--makes it especially interesting. The CD contains music performed (and at least partly written for) a specific event in Venice--a visit by Prince Frederick Christian, the son of the King of Poland. He was known to be very interested in music, so 3 special concerts were offered during his visit. One of these, on March 21, 1740, was organized and directed by Vivaldi.

The evening's program included a vocal piece--a serenata called "The Chorus of Muses" by the great playwright Carlo Goldoni--with its sections introduced by four concertos composed by Vivaldi. (The music of the serenata is lost, and even the name of the composer is unknown.)

Vivaldi's contribution to the evening was commissioned by the Pietà, the orphanage whose all-female orchestra he had made famous earlier in his career. These concertos may very well be his last works, because soon after the festive performance, he moved to Vienna, where he died in poverty the following year.

So listening to this recording not only lets us hear fine performances of some late Vivaldi works (still amazing for the variety of scoring and compositional approaches after having composed so much music over so many years), but it also transports us, in a kind of musical time machine, to a period and lifestyle that has certainly disappeared in the last 250 years. We know from his diary that the Prince particularly enjoyed one "echo" concerto (in which several instruments were seated at a distance for special echo effects).

It is an unusual and delightful way to encounter Vivaldi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diversity is your best bet, September 3, 2005
By 
HB "HB" (Fort Mill, SC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
The final work on this superb CD is one of Vivaldi's true masterworks. Like his incredibly famous Four Seasons, this work has true inspiration and a sound that is second to none. This Concerto in C is written for an astonishing array of diverse instruments. My favorite is the one that sounds just like a clarinet, although the clarinet, as we know it today, was not invented until decades later. This is a work that musicians just seem to absolutely adore. This is my third recording of this piece and in each case the performance has had amazing enthusiasm. It is a work that should be in everybody's library. Unless you have a strong dislike for the baroque or Vivaldi, you should enjoy this music. The rest of the music here is standard Vivaldi. It is interesting and has wonderful sounds, but not really inspired. However, at the budget price, the CD is well worth the money for the one masterpiece it has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland, September 30, 2010
By 
Bjorn Viberg (European Union) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland is a recording under the direction Andrew Manze leading The Academy Of Ancient Music on this 2002 recording from Harmonia Mundi. Andrew Manze has written a very well-written short essay entitled "Concert for the Prince of Poland". A list of the performers and a short biography of the conductor. The cover is very beautiful and suits the music. Highly recommended. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Sound, June 2, 2012
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
I don't give alot of 5 star reccommendations, however, this cd is deserving in most every aspect!
The laudable sound is exquisite, full, and rich with a diversity of instruments overall.
The virtuosic artistry of the players is meritorious and commendable. All is played PERFECTLY !!!! IT'S UNBELIEVABLE !!!!
The tightness, energy, and ferver of this group is exemplary.

If you have much Vivaldi, you will find many of these pieces scattered throughout your collection.

This is by far one of the best aquisitions you can ever make buying used for less than $5.00 !! I almost want to buy many at this price and give to all my friends !!

Good Day Friends !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Marvelous Vivaldi, March 25, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
The master of "The Four Seasons" does it again! And nearly any recording by The Academy of Ancient Music is superb, I have found. The quality of the recordings is superb. You can hear the instruments as if you were sitting in the hall. If you like Vivaldi, you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny., November 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An outstanding, period authentic performance of some beautiful works by the great Antonio Vivaldi. I love the rich, full sound of this recording with its many "textures" of sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland (Audio CD)
There wasn't one piece or performance that didn't thrill me, but the last composition was particularly lovely. Valuable addition to any music lover's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland
Vivaldi: Concert for the Prince of Poland by Antonio Vivaldi (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.