Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incendiary Vivaldi
Another barn-burner performance from Musica Pacifica! I've given five-star reviews to three CDs from this California-based ensemble now, so I decided to listen to La Notte head-to-head with other recordings of the same concerti, particularly the fine CD by recorderist Dan Laurin with the Drottningholm Baroque Ensemble. Musica Pacifica comes out ahead in several ways. The...
Published on June 29, 2008 by Giordano Bruno

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars beware, there's a defective track. Amazon knows but continues selling it
in the Concerto in D major, RV 94, the 2nd track has a loud squeak noise at 0'08'' (in the mp3 - I don't know about the CD). I informed Amazon of this at the end of June 2011. They confirmed that the problem exists, but didn't fix it nor compensate me. Naturally, due to this problematic track I cannot enjoy listening the whole concerto.
be warned!
Published on August 7, 2011 by Eitan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incendiary Vivaldi, June 29, 2008
By 
Giordano Bruno (Here, There, and Everywhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vivaldi: La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi) (Audio CD)
Another barn-burner performance from Musica Pacifica! I've given five-star reviews to three CDs from this California-based ensemble now, so I decided to listen to La Notte head-to-head with other recordings of the same concerti, particularly the fine CD by recorderist Dan Laurin with the Drottningholm Baroque Ensemble. Musica Pacifica comes out ahead in several ways. The balance of the upper voices with the continuo forces is better. The continuo is more shapely in phrasing and more transparent. The recorder playing of Judith Linsenberg is more expressive in phrasing and more incendiary in the fastest passages. To be fair, Laurin is perfection itself in tuning, while Linsenberg occasionally 'colors' sustained notes a bit more than I prefer. The bottom line is that this is one of the most satisfying performances of Vivaldi's chamber concerti available.

"Continuo" refers to the continuous series of chordal notes in the bass parts of Baroque and Rococo music, upon which the melodic upper voices are composed. "Continuo" is also used to mean the instruments that play those fundamental notes. Musica Pacifica uses cello, archlute, and harpsichord, often all three together, for its tasty continuo. Sometimes Vivaldi builds his variations on an ostinato basso - ostinato being the Italian for "obstinate" - a continuously repeating musical phrase which may be as simple as six long notes in a zig-zag phrase. Another sort of continuo is a steady progression of notes to be "figured" or elaborated by the chordal instruments, rather like the 'walking bass' of traditional jazz. Vivaldi is very good at enlivening both sorts of continuo with surprises, as you'll hear on this CD.

Bassoonist Marilyn Boenau joins Musica Pacifica on five of the concerti recorded here, as does oboist Gonzalo Ruiz. The oboe's role in this performance is literally to play "second fiddle" to the recorder, which Ruiz does with aplomb. The bassoon, on the other hand, ranges through the music from sharing continuo chores with the cello to taking the melodic lead in tandem with the recorder or elaborating angular countermelodies to the suave cantabile passages of the recorder. Boenau handles her historical bassoon deftly and expressively.

It's amazing, for anyone who has ever played the little wooden flute called the recorder, to hear what character a virtuosic player can coax out of one. The recorder has a narrow range, limited dynamics, and very slight variation of tonal color; its virtues are its responsiveness to fast-flying fingers and its capacity for liquid phrasing. Linsenberg's phrasing, on the legato and largo movements of these pieces, are like wind-carved sculptures in a Baroque fountain, and her fast passages approach "warp speed" on the Starship Pacifica.

Violinist Elizabeth Blumenstock gets her chance to take front-stage on the gracious early Vivaldi Sonata in C Major, which she plays pensively and with charming restraint. Otherwise this CD belongs to the recorder and the bassoon, and since I'm a recorderist/bassoonist myself, I can't imagine a more proper state of affairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vivaldi:La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi), January 10, 2007
This review is from: Vivaldi: La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi) (Audio CD)
This CD was all that I expected. It offered at least the quality of performance and repoduction as any of my other 24 Vivaldi CDs. All but one of the pieces were new to my collection. I assume this is because these are infrequently performed. Nonetheless, these compositions were alltogether as interesting as Vivaldi's other works. Musica Pacifica,Judith Linsenberg,and Elizabeth Blumenstock remain true to the Baroque forms in style and interpretation. I have no regrets from this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Let The La Notte title fool you, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi) (Audio CD)
La Notte is the title of dozens of Vivaldi discs. These are all fine concertos, played well. Some are not so often recorded. Agree with all the reviews. I have some 50 Vivaldi discs, did not stop me from getting this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I use this CD to get in a great mood., December 14, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivaldi: La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi) (Audio CD)
The music on this CD always puts me in a great mood. Not only is the music wonderful, but Musica Pacifica's performance is excellent throughout. The ensemble plays very well together, with lovely tones throughout. Concerto in G minor, RV 107 is particularly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars beware, there's a defective track. Amazon knows but continues selling it, August 7, 2011
This review is from: Vivaldi: La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi) (Audio CD)
in the Concerto in D major, RV 94, the 2nd track has a loud squeak noise at 0'08'' (in the mp3 - I don't know about the CD). I informed Amazon of this at the end of June 2011. They confirmed that the problem exists, but didn't fix it nor compensate me. Naturally, due to this problematic track I cannot enjoy listening the whole concerto.
be warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vivaldi: La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi)
Vivaldi: La Notte (Concerti per strumenti diversi) by Antonio Vivaldi (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.