Prime Music
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Vivica Genaux: Arias for Farinelli
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Vivica Genaux: Arias for Farinelli Hybrid SACD - DSD, Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Hybrid SACD - DSD, Import, December 9, 2003
"Please retry"
$54.95 $37.63

Product Details

  • Performer: Vivica Genaux
  • Orchestra: Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin
  • Conductor: Rene Jacobs
  • Composer: Riccardo Broschi, Baldassare Galuppi, Geminiano Giacomelli, Johann Adolf Hasse, Nicola Porpora
  • Audio CD (December 9, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD - DSD, Import
  • Label: Harmonia Mundi France
  • ASIN: B0000D16BI
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #915,559 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Dall'amor più sventurato
2. Ombra fedele anch'io
3. Qual guerriero in campo armato
4. Mancare Dio mi sento
5. Grave
6. Allegro
7. Andante
8. Oh volesser gli Dei...Dolci freschi aurette
9. Or la nube procellosa
10. Per questo dolce amplesso
11. Quell'usignolo

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Giordano Bruno on January 10, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Only one thing precludes this CD of superb baroque arias by Porpora, Hasse, Galuppi, and others from being a five-star rave, but it's a irremediable: mezzo-soprano Vivica Genaux's almost constant old-fashioned vibrato. Genaux has a gorgeous voice; it's her training that went awry. She patently needs that vibrato to sing "in tune', or rather to deal with slightly inaccurate tuning. In the few phrases of the Porpora aria when she lets the vibrato go, she is often flat. If you want to hear why the vibrato is unacceptable, listen to Philippe Jaroussky's CD of Arias for Carestini, Farinelli's great rival, or to any of various recital CDs by Sandrine Piau or Gerard Lesne.

Otherwise, it's an excellent performance and interpretation of first-rate music. Rene Jacobs and his Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin plays flawlessly and energetically, but nothing they do can compensate for the vocal wobble. I've been satisfied with Vivica Genoux's contribution to ensemble recordings; a full solo CD, however, is a career mistake.
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in