Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decient
I would like a better quality telescope, but it was for a 12 year old and he loved it and got to see stars through it so it did the job!
Published 23 months ago by araethomas

versus
127 of 133 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this at all costs
I purchased one at Walgreen's for $12.75 on close out merely as a demonstration for others of what not to buy. Sure, it is much better than what Galileo made, himself, 400 years ago, but:
1) The product is advertised on the box by the magnification it yields. The manufacturer is betting that you do not know that "quality" is based on light gathering ability (the...
Published on April 6, 2009 by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 133 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this at all costs, April 6, 2009
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
I purchased one at Walgreen's for $12.75 on close out merely as a demonstration for others of what not to buy. Sure, it is much better than what Galileo made, himself, 400 years ago, but:
1) The product is advertised on the box by the magnification it yields. The manufacturer is betting that you do not know that "quality" is based on light gathering ability (the diameter of the front lens, for a refractor telescope, or the diameter of the rear mirror, in a Newtonian reflector) and NOT by the magnifications printed on the box.
2) The mount is totally flimsy. The constant wobbling prevents clear viewing. A good mount should be able to dampen the vibrations after focusing, for example, in about 2 seconds. This one took about 15 seconds or more. And never stopped even with a light breeze. A solid camera tripod would improve the setup 10-fold.
3) The lowest power eyepiece (12mm/50x) exceeds the performance ability of the telescope for nighttime viewing. A general rule is that the maximum useful magnification = 25 x the diameter (in inches) of the lens (or mirror). The 2" lens x 25 = 50.
4) The eyepieces are poor. Only the very center of them appears to come to focus, with the rest of the image being blurry. And that's with daytime viewing. I can only imaging the collimation flaws in the optics when looking at stars.
5) The eyepieces are inferior, obsolete 0.965" barrel diameter. Today's eyepieces are a universal 1.25" (and 2" diameter for highest quality ones).
6) The box shows color images of the Orion nebula and the Pleiades. Color can only be achieved through time-exposure photography with the telescope on an equatorial mount. With VERY few exceptions (such as a 12" Newtonian reflector), color will NEVER be visible through an eyepiece on any telescope. When color is perceived, it is only when viewing the brightest emission nebula, and then the effect is a slight green color effect.

If you are interested in a telescope, check out your local astronomy club for advice. Avoid any refractor less than 3" or any reflector less than 6 inches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chinese engineering marvel- like the Great Wall, May 24, 2009
By 
Robert Johnson (sANTA bARBARA ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
I purchased this knowing I wanted a bottom of the line disposable product and I was not dissappointed. It is OK for the price as long as you immediately pitch the tripod into the nearest handy active valcano. You are much better off using your hands and a nearby tree or other support. Everything else works just fine for watching wildlife, but I would not expect it to do well for stargazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad telescope, April 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
a pair of binoculars works better than this telescope. It's really hard to find the target and does not bring clearer picture than binoculars.

My 7 old son played with it two hours and has not touched for a few weeks. We'll see it can be used for birds watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, February 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
I bought this product for a friend as a beginner telescope because of their interest in Astronomy. We haven't been able to see anything except for light and everything is blurry. Manufacturing of product feels cheap, I suppose you get what you pay for and I would not recommend this telescope for anyone including beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent telescope for price, December 5, 2011
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
If you are considering a hobby in stargazing then this is a good introductory telescope. Keep in mind, cheap price = cheap quality. The tripod does feel flimsy. As with any telescope, it does take time and patience to make the proper adjustments for best viewing. I would recommend this if you are a beginner so you can practice. There is no reason to spend $100+ when you new to stargazing. Work your way up.

On a slightly foggy night, I was able to see the moon and some of its craters. It was absolutely breathtaking and it made me realize that I want to pursue this hobby further. I will be purchasing a better telescope in the future, but this will suffice until I am ready to take the next step.

If you're looking for an inexpensive, introduction to stargazing, this is a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Satisfied, January 25, 2009
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
Knowing that the tripod would not be too heavy for stable support, I decided to buy this for my grandson to view the moon and stars. The unit could not focus with any of the lenses and at it's best only able to see shadows of the moon when, after tedious attempts. Waiting on the time to contact the manufacturer to see if there is anything that can be done. I had to select 1 star complete this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over Charged, December 29, 2008
By 
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
Vivitar Telescope with Tripod
Ordered this item for my great grandson. This product is a toy!!
Not sure where the original price came from, but it is a joke. I found
the very same telescope, in a local store for $20.00, and $20.00 is the
orgianal store price not a sale price. My great grandson loves the telescope, however I paid twice what it was worth and to have it shipped. Also the way it was shipped was pretty bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A total piece of junk, January 31, 2009
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
please, please don't buy this piece of junk. Your naked eye can see better. It got a 1 star rating only because I was forced to give it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poster child of bad telescopes, November 5, 2011
By 
T. Rice (Cary, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
Many a well meaning parent/grandparent has bought this and telescopes like it for a bright child. It's a shame because this telescope is so poorly made and from such bad quality materials that it could turn a young person off from astronomy.

The optics are cheap and it's difficult to get a clear image of even the moon, much less planets or nebulae. The box is misleading as it pictures razor sharp images of the moon, an open star cluster and a nebula, none of which are within this telescopes capabilities. The worst feature is tripod included with the telescope. It's formed aluminum and very unstable. Frustrating to have the image bouncing around in the eyepiece because the tripod wont hold the telescope still.

I'd avoid any telescope made by Vivitar and stick with names known more for manufacturing telescopes, rather than a camera manufacturer trying their hand at cheap telescopes.

If you are looking for an inexpensive beginner telescope, try the FunScope 76mm Tabletop Reflector Telescope or Celestron 21024 FirstScope Telescope where your money goes to optics not rickety mounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "telescope?", July 13, 2009
This review is from: Vivitar Telescope with Tripod (Camera)
The telescope is very hard to work for children under 13. I was hoping to be able to set it up for my nephew, but it was hard for several grown people to try to focus the thing. My nephew said that the moon looked bigger if he just stared at it instead of looking inside of this thing. You know what they say, children always say the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Vivitar Telescope with Tripod
$79.99 $29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.